We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in Santa Margherita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lido Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lido Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via A. Doria 3, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in Santa Margherita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed here multiple times, and love it! They have nice large rooms with small terraces which open up onto the gorgeous ocean front. The rooms are split level with a living area and kinf sized bedroom. The daily breakfast is delicious and always fresh, and don't miss the cappuccinos! My favorite thing? The wall safe behind a large picture in every room - so cool!

Room Tip: Spring for one of the suites, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbaratt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per aver soggiornato presso la nostra struttura e per aver lasciata la recensione su Tripadvisor. Per noi i giudizi dei ns. Clienti, sono estremamente importanti. Conoscere la vostra opinione ed i Vostri suggerimenti ci consente di poter andare incontro alle Vostre esigenze e ci aiuta a migliorarci. E' con piacere che Le comunico che staà continuando il processo di ammodernamento della struttura e che già dalla prossima riapertura al pubblico, prevista per il giorno 28 Marzo 2013, ci saranno novità sia concernenti le camere che gli spazi comuni.
Restiamo a Sua gentile disposizione ed in attesa di poterla nuovamente accogliere quale gradito Cliente al Lido Palace Hotel porgiamo,
Cordiali saluti
Giovanni Barattini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    65
    20
    17
    9
See reviews for
35
96
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albi, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From the exterior, this looks like one of the Grand Old Dame hotels of another era with a great central location just on the beach at Santa Margherita. The inside has been redone in what I'd call Scandinavian businessman: modern, rectilinear, hard surfaces. However the staff are friendly. For a start, they have a bell hop to help with luggage--which I haven’t seen in years!

We were in Room 208, a junior suite, split level, which looks out over the palm trees, beach and the lovely harbor. It has a small “Juliet” balcony, but some rooms have bigger balconies where you could sit out and enjoy the view.
Furnishing are sober and functional—no nod to romantic Italian Riviera holidays.

Double glazed windows ensure that the street noise isn’t disturbing. There is a small refrigerator and the free wifi worked well. Like other reviewers have noted, the heating system seemed fiddly, our bedroom was a bit stuffy and the bathroom is cramped. The hotel has a strange interior layout with terrazzo steps leading up or down into every room—so perhaps unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems.

They have a deal where you leave your car at a locked garage nearby which--in our case, off season--was included in the room rate. As the marathon had just been canceled due to poor weather, we were lucky to get a room for about 94 euros including breakfast. The room rate can go up to 420 euros!

Breakfast was a big buffet—including good fresh fruit and excellent cappuccino.

Didn’t enjoy the décor, but the location, the price and the friendly staff made for a good stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony you can sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbaratt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per aver soggiornato presso la nostra struttura e per aver lasciata la recensione su Tripadvisor. Per noi i giudizi dei ns. Clienti, sono estremamente importanti. Conoscere la vostra opinione ed i Vostri suggerimenti ci consente di poter andare incontro alle Vostre esigenze e ci aiuta a migliorarci. E' con piacere che Le comunico che staà continuando il processo di ammodernamento della struttura e che già dalla prossima riapertura al pubblico, prevista per il giorno 28 Marzo 2013, ci saranno novità sia concernenti le camere che gli spazi comuni.
Restiamo a Sua gentile disposizione ed in attesa di poterla nuovamente accogliere quale gradito Cliente al Lido Palace Hotel porgiamo,
Cordiali saluti
Giovanni Barattini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in August 2012. Couple with 18 month old baby.
Probably the best placed hotel in the stunning town of Santa Margherita, right opposite the beach.
We had a Junior Suite on the 1st floor with a balcony and sea view. Superb views, great place to sit and watch the bustling Italian evening entertainment ! The room was clean and comfortable with a great seating area and large bed. Bathroom rather small and I have to say it was a little tired and old fashioned. However, given the place it gave it a nice shabby chic feel. the mini bar could have been better stocked.
The hotel itself is a gem. you can just imagine the early 20th century stars staying there, really has a charm about it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, from teh Manager to the cleaners, everyone had a smile and welcome to give. The chap who makes the coffee in the breakfast room was a real diamond !
Yes, it is a little over priced and perhaps could do with the rooms being refreshed, but given where it is, the view and the staff I did feel it was worth it.
Portofino a short ferry ride away where we were suprised to find Andrea Bochelli performing that night ! A-listers everywhere and yachts that were worth more than a Euromillions rollover jackpot !! However, we were kicked out of the town before he sang as we were . . . erm . . not invited ! Ha ! Watched from a Church yard on the hill instead. Superb.
One point to remember, the hotel is located right in the centre of a busy Italian town. It is noisy but the windows did a decent job af hushing it up a bit.

Room Tip: Pick a suite as they run the width of the hotel and you get a balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbaratt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per aver soggiornato presso la nostra struttura e per aver lasciata la recensione su Tripadvisor. Per noi i giudizi dei ns. Clienti, sono estremamente importanti. Conoscere la vostra opinione ed i Vostri suggerimenti ci consente di poter andare incontro alle Vostre esigenze e ci aiuta a migliorarci. E' con piacere che Le comunico che staà continuando il processo di ammodernamento della struttura e che già dalla prossima riapertura al pubblico, prevista per il giorno 28 Marzo 2013, ci saranno novità sia concernenti le camere che gli spazi comuni.
Restiamo a Sua gentile disposizione ed in attesa di poterla nuovamente accogliere quale gradito Cliente al Lido Palace Hotel porgiamo,
Cordiali saluti
Giovanni Barattini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Lido Palace and it is in a perfect location. We treated ourselves this time and had booked a junior suite, so the bedroom was at the back of the unit. The views from our window across the Ligurian Sea were stunning and it is such a central position, so you can walk everywhere. The staff were extremely friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the traffic noise, book a Junior Suite for a little bit extra as the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbaratt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per aver soggiornato presso la nostra struttura e per aver lasciata la recensione su Tripadvisor. Per noi i giudizi dei ns. Clienti, sono estremamente importanti. Conoscere la vostra opinione ed i Vostri suggerimenti ci consente di poter andare incontro alle Vostre esigenze e ci aiuta a migliorarci. E' con piacere che Le comunico che staà continuando il processo di ammodernamento della struttura e che già dalla prossima riapertura al pubblico, prevista per il giorno 28 Marzo 2013, ci saranno novità sia concernenti le camere che gli spazi comuni.
Restiamo a Sua gentile disposizione ed in attesa di poterla nuovamente accogliere quale gradito Cliente al Lido Palace Hotel porgiamo,
Cordiali saluti
Giovanni Barattini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fantastic location with superb views over the beach to the ocean -very noisy at night though as the town is "party central" to wealthy Italians and is very busy. A nightmare to park a car and the hotel has only limited parking and although we had a park booked at the hotel there was not one available when we arrived!!! Paid huge amount to park in a nearby private parking garage as it was all that was available. But it is a beautiful area so well worth visiting. Room was old and cramped with small bathroom and weird stairs down to the room entry. Staff were OK as was the breakfast although selection was very limited. Wouldn't recommend the drive out to Portofino-very short but very narrow one lane road with blind corners and the public buses travel along it-makes for some hair raising encounters as you are confronted by a bus on a one lane road on a blind corner ( or even worse a wealthy Italian in a huge suv driving at a crazy speed)!!!! The walk out there is beautiful and much safer!!

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible on the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbaratt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per aver soggiornato presso la nostra struttura e per aver lasciata la recensione su Tripadvisor. Per noi i giudizi dei ns. Clienti, sono estremamente importanti. Conoscere la Vostra opinione ed i Vostri suggerimenti ci consente di poter andare incontro alle Vostre esigenze e ci aiuta a migliorarci. E' con piacere che Le comunico che stà continuando il processo di ammodernamento della struttura e che già dalla prossima riapertura al pubblico, prevista per il giorno 28 Marzo 2013, ci saranno novità sia concernenti gli arredi delle camere che gli spazi comuni. per quanto concerne il ns. garage a 100 metri dalla struttura, possiamo dire che è custodito di giorno e chiuso di notte ( previa comunicazione il Cliente puo' ritirare la vettura anche al di fuori degli orari di servizio ) ha tariffe che variano a seconda del periodo stagionale. Il servizio è su richiesta compatibilmente con la disponibilità posti auto. Qualora fossimo al completo facciamo sempre il possibile per aiutare il Cliente a trovare posto presso altri garages, facendo solamente da tramite ( telefoniamo, chiediamo la disponibilità ed il prezzo e riferiamo al Cliente ). Consigliamo, specie d'estate, di non utilizzare la macchina ma di servirsi dei mezzi pubblici ( bus, battelli, taxi ) in quanto nella nostra zona le strade sono strette e trafficate ed una volta giunti a destinazione non è detto si riesca facilmente a trovare parcheggio.
Restiamo a Sua gentile disposizione ed in attesa di poterla nuovamente accogliere quale gradito Cliente al Lido Palace Hotel porgiamo,
Cordiali saluti
Giovanni Barattini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Location is perfect with an amazing view and walking distance from all the things to see and places to go (restaurants, shopping, etc) and close to the jetty to go to Portofino.
Rooms are very average with old furniture and carpets and would definitely need some refurbishment to be nicer and cleaner.
Staff is not useful though friendly. Most of the rooms look like apartments and you feel more that you are in a vacation rental than in a hotel.
Lots of tourist traps restaurants around the hotel, have a look in a guide before you choose one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the Palace in the middle of our holiday in Tuscany, leaving our young son with my parents for the day. We couldn't have asked for more in terms of location, we were in Junior Suite 208 with a simply sensational view across the bay from our Juliet balcony. Yes, it was noisy with the road right below, but it was a pleasant hustle and bustle in a vibrant town - we loved it! And as soon as you closed the doors, the sounds was gone.

The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and courteous, and had been very helpful beforehand as we exchanged emails before leaving for Italy. Breakfast was typical Italian fare, cold meats and cheeses which always works for me.

Santa Margherita itself is a sensational place, and reminded me very much of Malcesine on Lake Garda - it had the same buzz and a host of delightful restaurants to choose from. Everywhere you look the views are stunning, and the beaches, both public and private, are great. My only regret is that we only stayed for a night...well, that and the fact that I can't afford one of the multi-million pound super yachts dotted around the bay towards Portofino!

Definitely a place to revisit for a longer spell of time next time we are in Italy.

Room Tip: Make sure you have at least a Juliet balcony, it was lovely to open the full length doors and admire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbaratt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per aver soggiornato presso la nostra struttura e per aver lasciata la recensione su Tripadvisor. Per noi i giudizi dei ns. Clienti, sono estremamente importanti. Conoscere la Vostra opinione ed i Vostri suggerimenti ci consente di poter andare incontro alle Vostre esigenze e ci aiuta a migliorarci. E' con piacere che Le comunico che stà continuando il processo di ammodernamento della struttura e che già dalla prossima riapertura al pubblico, prevista per il giorno 28 Marzo 2013, ci saranno novità sia concernenti gli arredi delle camere che gli spazi comuni. per quanto concerne il ns. garage a 100 metri dalla struttura, possiamo dire che è custodito di giorno e chiuso di notte ( previa comunicazione il Cliente puo' ritirare la vettura anche al di fuori degli orari di servizio ) ha tariffe che variano a seconda del periodo stagionale. Il servizio è su richiesta compatibilmente con la disponibilità posti auto. Qualora fossimo al completo facciamo sempre il possibile per aiutare il Cliente a trovare posto presso altri garages, facendo solamente da tramite ( telefoniamo, chiediamo la disponibilità ed il prezzo e riferiamo al Cliente ). Consigliamo, specie d'estate, di non utilizzare la macchina ma di servirsi dei mezzi pubblici ( bus, battelli, taxi ) in quanto nella nostra zona le strade sono strette e trafficate ed una volta giunti a destinazione non è detto si riesca facilmente a trovare parcheggio.
Restiamo a Sua gentile disposizione ed in attesa di poterla nuovamente accogliere quale gradito Cliente al Lido Palace Hotel porgiamo,
Cordiali saluti
Giovanni Barattini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Address: Via A. Doria 3, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.