We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ristorante skipper

ristorante skipper
Calata del Porto, 6, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
+39 0185 289950
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This restaurant is right on the marina, a little walk towards the Portofino end (where the massive yachts are). I don’t think you can beat the location of this restaurant in Santa Margherita. There is a floating pontoon section as well which looked lovely. The food and wine were very good indeed. My only slight criticism would be that the staff could have been a little more friendly. Overall a great restaurant, great food and a fantastic location. I would, and have, recommend this place to others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    14
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Based upon all the positive reviews here we decided to try it out, but the food was a huge disappointment. We both took the grilled tuna with grilled vegetables and potatoes. The fish was so dry and tasteless I wonder if its been deep frozen before. For this and a bottle of wine we payed 92 euros.

Location and atmosphere is fantastic though, but you can eat much better food for a third of the price elsewhere in Santa Margherita.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was disappointed with the Skipper. The pontoon looked a little gimmicky but I was persuaded to eat there based on the reviews on here. We both ordered the mixed grilled seafood which was ok but vastly over priced for what you had, I object to paying 5 euros per prawn. Perhaps we made a poor choice as some other people's meals did look good. If you have children they will love throwing the bread in for the fish ( if it's anything like the bread we were given I suggest you let them throw in the entire basket) The location is good and I have to admit to enjoying being on the pontoon but our food was over priced. A case of style over substance I think.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Belissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant, fresh, well prepared dishes, great attention to the customer,and food to die for. We have eaten elsewhere in the area and Skippers came out on top, the food is excellent and this is the reason we go out to eat, This is what we remember long after the experience, its not expensive for this quality,expensive is when the food is not the best, whatever the price may be, but judge for yourselves,treat yourselves to something truly wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Floating Fabulousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Having not made a reservation in the height of season we were sceptical of our choices for dining on the wharf. What a delightful bunch of welcoming staff at Ristorante Skipper. They seated us on the bobbing pier and continued to impress us with the choice of the most incredible seafood delights presented by the loveliest waitress. Dont miss the squid salad, or the platters of various delicacies. The bread on the tables isnt only for feeding the fish. The wine selection is decent, and a lemoncello at the end of the meal signalled the end of a perfect nights dining.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ristorante skipper also viewed

Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 

Been to ristorante skipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ristorante skipper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.