We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Italian Riviera” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Margherita Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 9, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location in the Italian Riviera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel was in a perfect location close to food, nightlife, beach and the rooms were spacious and very clean. Staff was very helpful and happy.
Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice . We drove here from Milano and the valet parking cost 20 euro which kind of is standard price for this part of Italy. Portofino is very close and you can even take a bus or walk there if you prefer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Marco R, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful review. The whole staff of Santa Margherita Palace is gratified when we read such reviews, as giving the service we can get to our Guests and, turn their holiday into an experience to remember is our of our main aims.
That’s why reading reviews like your makes us feel like working even better to improve our services day by day.
We hope you’ll have the chance to come back to Santa Margherita Ligure, maybe during the summer season, so that you’ll be able to fully enjoy the nightlife, the sea and all the extra service that people can get in summer in the Ligurian Riviera. And, of course, if you’ll ever come back we hope that you’ll give us the pleasure to welcome you once again at Santa Margherita Palace.

Sincerely.

Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    90
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
202
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is the newest, cleanest hotel, best located in SM with good prices.

Likes
1. New, clean, modern chich decor hotel
2. Located in a quiet lane near the train station 100m away, 100m away from the sea & 30m from the central square with shops
3. Great price with a good breakfast
Plus: Has an amazing sauna with stars on the ceiling

Dislikes
Not much to dislike. It doesnt have a view but if it was beside the sea this would be triple the price.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Marco R, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time you spent writing us this wonderful review. It’s definitely a boost to do better and working hard to improve our services starting from the first days of 2014.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the modern décor, as the Hotel was designed precisely to be a small and modern boutique Hotel, so we’re very pleased whenever our Guests perceive and enjoy its style.
We really do hope that we’ll have the pleasure to welcome you as our Guest again, sometimes in the future.

Thank you from the whole Staff of Santa Margherita Palace.

Sincerely

Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Staff super efficient & friendly, modern gorgeous furnishings, unexpectedly huge comfortable balcony & the shower was fantastic. Everything was absolutely spotless & flawless, & breakfast was delicious. overall, 9.9 out of 10... Only reason I didn't give 10 was bc the bed was on the hard side & €20 a night for parking was quite a lot. Highly recommended though. Great place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gian Marco R, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this beautiful review of our Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the staff service, the facilities and the breakfast, as, in our opinion, those are the key points of a good stay, and, as a consequence, the points that we aim to improve every day with our work. That’s why reading such reviews gratify us and make us feel as if we’re aiming in the right direction.
As per your discomfort with the bed, we are really sorry about that. If we had known it earlier we could have done something, changing it with a softer mattress. This is something that we do whenever a Guest finds the mattress too hard.
We hope that, if you’ll return in this area in the future, you’ll decide to stay with us again, so that we’ll be able to make you experience our improved services.

Sincerely.

Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so close to train station, you can walk in a few minutes.
Welcoming staff! Very nice room, and bathroom beautiful. Actual location is peaceful! Breakfast was good. Great coffee! Probably should mention that Found the blue lights leading up the walkway to the hotel at night a hazard. Couldn't see path well. Basic tea and coffee facilities in the room would be a great idea. But overall, I rate this place highly, and would stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianMarcoRusso77, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very nice review. We’re glad that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel (a little hidden, but peaceful and away from the chaos of the sea-side), and your room. Also, a good breakfast is the best way to start your day, so we’re glad that you enjoyed it too! We would also like to let you know that we appreciated your suggestions about the blue lights and the coffee and tea facilities.
One of our main aims, in fact, is to keeping on improving our service, so that our Guests can feel as comfortable here as they would feel at home.

We really hope that, if you ever come back in the area, you’ll decide to stay once again at Santa Margherita Palace, so that you can experience our improved service.

Sincerely
Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's clean, stylish and very comfortable. We were very happy with the two rooms we booked for our family of three. It is really well located - close to the beach, restaurants and shops, but by far the stand-out feature was the attentiveness and friendliness of staff. We found them exceptionally helpful and polite. They turned a nice hotel into a great experience and if we are lucky enough to visit this beautiful coast again I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Palace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianMarcoRusso77, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We’re very glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

The whole Staff of the Hotel always gives its best in order to take care of our Guests during their whole stay with us and try to help them with their all needs and requests. So reading a review like this pleases us and spurs us on working harder to keep on improving our service.

Hoping to have the chance to welcome you and your family again any time in the future

Sincerely
Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Beautiful, upscale Hotel Santa Margherita Palace is found just steps away from the seaside and several affordable restaurants. In October the town was a little sleepy and ready to rest from all tourists. But, we enjoyed the fantastic pasta and the seafood dishes throughout this little town. Vicente, Hotel Santa Margherita Palace's front desk/concierge person, is really a gem. He is knowledgeable about the entire Cinque Terre and Portofino areas and was able to tell us exactly how to catch the train (just three blocks away) and enjoy those areas. It's always good to absorb first-hand travel hints from the local staff! The entire hotel is decorated in black and silver with mood lighting; simply wonderful. Our room was comfortable, exceptionally clean and quiet. The breakfast is yummy and dining area is convenient and quiet. Coffee was made to order!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianMarcoRusso77, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review. It’s true, October is already low season here in Liguria, but many people enjoy the quiet, the coziness and the mesmerizing atmosphere that the sea in winter can create, rather than the rush of the peak season.

Our whole staff is always glad and willing to help our Guests get the better out of their stay, both trying to fulfill all their requests during their stay in the Hotel, and giving them useful tips on the best places to visit and the best restaurants to eat at in the area; as we know that being in an unknown area might be a little puzzling, and finding out the best thing to do might be a little hard.
The Staff and me thank you also on behalf of the Architect.

Hoping to have the chance to welcome again in our Hotel for a future stay, we wish you all the best and the warmest regards

Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything you need - Comfortable room with balcony, quiet location, efficient wifi, sky tv and breakfast was included in the price. At €70 for a double with bathroom, we thought this was a great deal. The hotel management are charming and efficient. We were able to park our motorbike round the back of the hotel where it was locked in, for no extra charge. Probably the best overall value for money, considering where we were, on our 2 month trip so far.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianMarcoRusso77, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for this beautiful review you wrote. A comfortable, quiet, clean bedroom and a good breakfast are the two points that can make the difference between a nice or a bad stay.

We are very glad that you enjoyed them and our staff, as our main aim is to make our Guests feel at home and we work hard every day to improve our service.

We had the pleasure to give you the special rate of Euro 70 per person given the fact that you were a walking client.
We really hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our Hotel, so that you can experience an improved stay with us

Sincerely

Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Margherita Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Address: Via Roma 9, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Margherita Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Hotel.de, Escapio, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Margherita Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.