We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Margherita Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 9, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Modern, stylish and beautifully furnished in mostly black and chrome. One block away from the front so no sea views but that didn't bother us. Easy walk to the front ( less than 2 minutes). Staff very friendly with excellent English and high levels of customer service. Breakfast was included in our rate. It wasn't outstanding but perfectly fine for 2 adults and 2 teenagers all with different requirements. We had a twin room and a suite and both were good. Like most Italian rooms, the twin room wasn't big but the suite was spacious. All in all we would recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    79
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
160
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely hotel. Seemed brand new with very modern furnishings and decor. Great location if you plan to use the train to go to cinque terre or other towns on the coast. We intended to spend most of our time out of the room touring the cinque terre and other towns so the lack of view didn't bother us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbanks, alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Modern and clean hotel near shopping, cafes and train station. No seaviews. The extensive use of the color black in the interior was depressing. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included and adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The Santa Margherita Palace has no sea views and it is competing with hotels on the seafront which have some of the most spectacular views you will ever see in your life. The problem with those hotels is that, probably with the exception of the Miramare, those sea front hotels suffer from extraordinarily high prices, or shoddy service and facilities, or in some cases - incredibly - both. That's what makes the Palace the smartest choice in a town with a highly competitive, pricey and complicated hotel scene.

The Palace is smack bang in the heart of town, a stone's throw from the sea in a quiet and pleasant road. It is modern and has been designed within an inch of its life. Every detail has been considered. We stayed in the cheapest room - the only one available due to a big wedding party. Two things to note about that fact:

1) The room was fabulous. It was large, beautifully appointed and featured an incredible bathroom with huge rain shower. The more expensive rooms must be terrific, and many have balconies. But it's also comforting to know if you go for the 'cheap' option, you are still in for a treat.
2) We heard no noise from the wedding. In fact, we heard no noise at all.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, though they do a fantastic breakfast buffet and will cook you fresh eggs too, if you ask. There is a brilliantly over the top bar with a simple bar menu during the day. Santa Margherita is a town blessed with culinary excellence, so you do not at all miss the fact there is no restaurant.

The service is friendly and efficient rather than formal or grand - suited us just fine.

This is a really delightful place to stay in a seaside town that is just second to none for beauty, food and location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location was primo! Train station very close as is anything else you would want/need. Rooms well appointed. We had a 1 bedroom suite with outdoor jacuzzi which was wonderful. Great breakfast, plentiful selection. The staff was very pleasant, attentive and helpful with whatever you needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend. Enjoy, this part of Italy is like heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Terrific location, just down the street from the train station and one block to the beach and shops and the center of town.

Pleasant staff, spacious, comfortable rooms (especially when they offer to upgrade the room). Clean, modern room designs with very nice bathrooms and a wonderful bath/shower.

Horrible Internet connection in the room. It was excellent in the lobby, but the connection was intermittent in the room.

The breakfast offerings were vast - fresh fruits, breads, Danishes, juices, meats cereals, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When we arrived at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, we met Vera. She is the employee of every manager's dreams. She showed us to our junior suite and apologised to us because the balcony with sea view for which we had paid our travel agent, was not possible. The Hotel is not on the seafront, nor does it have a sea view. What it does have is capable, friendly staff, comfortable, modern and attractive furnishings and an excellent atmosphere.

The breakfast each morning was delicious, but the Hotel does not have a restaurant. Vera organised our welcome dinner and recommended other restaurants in the area. She also helped us arrange our travel to the Cinque Terre via train, and to Portofino via ferry.

The evening promenade along the seafront was memorable. There are a number of restaurants and bars along the waterfront, but the highlight is mixing with the locals and their children and grandchildren as we all enjoy the evening weather.

Santa Margherita is a delightful place in a beautiful setting. The Hotel (and Vera) ensured that our few days were most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Although the junior suite had a balcony, we were not inclined to use it because of the unpleasant vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Margherita Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Address: Via Roma 9, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Margherita Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Margherita Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.