We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a block from the sea, this is excellence without the seafront prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Margherita Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 9, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just a block from the sea, this is excellence without the seafront prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The Santa Margherita Palace has no sea views and it is competing with hotels on the seafront which have some of the most spectacular views you will ever see in your life. The problem with those hotels is that, probably with the exception of the Miramare, those sea front hotels suffer from extraordinarily high prices, or shoddy service and facilities, or in some cases - incredibly - both. That's what makes the Palace the smartest choice in a town with a highly competitive, pricey and complicated hotel scene.

The Palace is smack bang in the heart of town, a stone's throw from the sea in a quiet and pleasant road. It is modern and has been designed within an inch of its life. Every detail has been considered. We stayed in the cheapest room - the only one available due to a big wedding party. Two things to note about that fact:

1) The room was fabulous. It was large, beautifully appointed and featured an incredible bathroom with huge rain shower. The more expensive rooms must be terrific, and many have balconies. But it's also comforting to know if you go for the 'cheap' option, you are still in for a treat.
2) We heard no noise from the wedding. In fact, we heard no noise at all.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, though they do a fantastic breakfast buffet and will cook you fresh eggs too, if you ask. There is a brilliantly over the top bar with a simple bar menu during the day. Santa Margherita is a town blessed with culinary excellence, so you do not at all miss the fact there is no restaurant.

The service is friendly and efficient rather than formal or grand - suited us just fine.

This is a really delightful place to stay in a seaside town that is just second to none for beauty, food and location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    68
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
137
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location was primo! Train station very close as is anything else you would want/need. Rooms well appointed. We had a 1 bedroom suite with outdoor jacuzzi which was wonderful. Great breakfast, plentiful selection. The staff was very pleasant, attentive and helpful with whatever you needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend. Enjoy, this part of Italy is like heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Terrific location, just down the street from the train station and one block to the beach and shops and the center of town.

Pleasant staff, spacious, comfortable rooms (especially when they offer to upgrade the room). Clean, modern room designs with very nice bathrooms and a wonderful bath/shower.

Horrible Internet connection in the room. It was excellent in the lobby, but the connection was intermittent in the room.

The breakfast offerings were vast - fresh fruits, breads, Danishes, juices, meats cereals, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When we arrived at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, we met Vera. She is the employee of every manager's dreams. She showed us to our junior suite and apologised to us because the balcony with sea view for which we had paid our travel agent, was not possible. The Hotel is not on the seafront, nor does it have a sea view. What it does have is capable, friendly staff, comfortable, modern and attractive furnishings and an excellent atmosphere.

The breakfast each morning was delicious, but the Hotel does not have a restaurant. Vera organised our welcome dinner and recommended other restaurants in the area. She also helped us arrange our travel to the Cinque Terre via train, and to Portofino via ferry.

The evening promenade along the seafront was memorable. There are a number of restaurants and bars along the waterfront, but the highlight is mixing with the locals and their children and grandchildren as we all enjoy the evening weather.

Santa Margherita is a delightful place in a beautiful setting. The Hotel (and Vera) ensured that our few days were most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Although the junior suite had a balcony, we were not inclined to use it because of the unpleasant vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute. The hotel is chic and stylish and very comfortable. The staff were so helpful and tried to accommodate every wish - thank you! Breakfast was perfect - a wide choice of hot and cold dishes, freshly baked pastries and a wide selection of fresh fruit. I could go on and on but it has all been said before in the other reviews - just go!

Room Tip: If you can splash out, have a room with a balcony - the sun loungers are supremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

beautiful modern facility near Portfino and Cinque Terre. Loved everything about it and extended our stay. Great breakfast, location. Privat parking. Hotel staff was riendly and all recommendations were great. Breakfast included and boy was it great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the type of hotel all others should be judged against. The location of the hotel is central and only two streets back from the sea. There is hotel parking available for an additional daily cost of between 15 and 20 euros. The public areas of the hotel are extremely well furnished and immaculately clean. Depending on who you were dealing with the staff ranged from very friendly to more efficient than friendly. Don’t get me wrong no one was unfriendly in the slightest but some of the staff are warmer than others. We stayed for three nights in one of the loft rooms as this was all that was available, we booked last minute. The room was decorated beautifully and was very comfortably furnished. We had a shower over bath arraignment that required us to sit in the bath even to take a shower. I believe this was purely due to the layout of the room. The bathroom was in the sloped part of the roof. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked extremely well which made a welcome change. The staff made reservations for dinner at various restaurants we had selected each night. I loved this hotel, so much so that when I returned to Santa Margherita and was unable to stay here because it was full I almost moved on to another town. I had a wonderful time in this town and a big part of this was due to this hotel. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place and I will without a doubt be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Margherita Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Address: Via Roma 9, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Margherita Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Margherita Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.