We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Miramare to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Miramare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham
1 review
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A delightful, elegant hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff are friendly and very efficient,the rooms are beautiful and spacious with all requirements met for a perfect stay. Breakfast on the terrace with stunning views and a wide range of choices to suit the most fussy guest. Dinner in an attractive restaurant with good food and wine.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a sea view, the rear rooms have terraces/balconies facing a beautiful garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Janice K,

Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Miramare and for your positive comments.

I was delighted to read that our friendly and efficient staff together with your beautiful room made your stay perfect. It is a true pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our buffet Breakfast with a lot of tasty choices which aim to satisfy our guests' preferences.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any future booking or assistance, I sincerely hope to have the chance to personally meet you during your next time with us.

Warm Regards,

Barbara Maida
Guest Relations
email: guestrelations@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    122
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
87
270
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Elegant, old world charm, professional staff, and a great location all describe this lovely hotel in Santa Margherita. From the minute you enter the lobby to check in you are treated as though the staff had been waiting just for you. From that moment on you will be greeted by name every time you pass the front desk. The hotel is located on a busy street, but the views from the terrace and rooms on the front of the hotel are worth a little traffic, and honestly, we never heard any noise loud enough to disturb our sleep. The front water views are lovely although you may want to request a room overlooking the garden on the back of the hotel, if you are concerned.

We used Santa Margherita as a base while touring the Cinque Terre, about an hour train ride away. The hotel had all the information we needed for our visit making it so easy to make the correct train connections. The station was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. We also enjoyed visiting Portofino which is about a 45 minute walk from Santa Margherita along the coast. I would say this walk is a must for anyone visiting the area.

The concierge always had wonderful recommendations for dinner all within walking distance from the hotel. In addition to great restaurants, Santa Margherita also has great shopping opportunities which we took advantage of.

The rooms are not enormous, but certainly generous by European standards. The bathrooms are updated, the furnishings lovely, and everything sparkling fresh. The breakfasts are a feast, served by a very efficient staff, all well trained to be helpful without hovering. I mention this because it was amazing that the minute you finished a plate, for instance, it disappeared without you ever realizing it. Clearly the staff anticipated our needs, but you were never aware of them hanging around your table. More restaurants need staffs this well trained. No, "Hi guys, what can I get for you?" service at this hotel!

Anyone traveling in this part of Italy would be pleased to have chosen this hotel for their visit. In fact, after we left Italy we made our way to Greece where I had a conversation there with a couple who asked where we had stayed in Santa Margherita. When I told them the Grand Hotel Miramare they both sighed and said, "Isn't that a lovely hotel...."

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guests,

I am extremely pleased that you had such a great time with us and that you found the time to write this beautiful review. We love to hear from our guests about their stays with us as only in this way we can monitor our performance. Therefore I couldn't be happier to learn that we succeeded in making you feel special, welcomed and well looked after.

It is a delight to hear that the elegance and the charm of the Grand Hotel Miramare, together with our professional and well trained staff, and the convenient location, allowed you to enjoy completely your stay in Santa Margherita and to explore the surrounding towns.

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Miramare and for recommending us to the other travellers.For any assistance or future booking, please do not hesitate to contact me, we would like very much to have you with us again.

Warm Regards,

Barbara Maida
Guest Relations
email: guestrelations@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed her last week for three nights as part of a group. This hotel is superb. It is spotlessly clean, has excellent facilities and a great location. It truly deserves its 4 stars. The decor, inside and out shows that the hotel is scrupulously maintained. The quality and helpfulness of the staff are what you would expect in a top quality hotel and the food and service is excellent. Our room was very large, very well decorated with crystal chandelier, two large wardrobes and plenty of coat hangers! Large bathroom with all the usual extras. Cannot fault this hotel in any way.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view but overlook the road (not all with balconies). Rear rooms have no sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the other travellers your experience at the Grand Hotel Miramare.

It is a great honour to read your comments and I am truly pleased that you had such a perfect time with us. I was delighted to learn that you received an excellent service, the staff work with passion to guarantee that all of our guests are comfortable and they wish to provide everything needed for a memorable visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance or future booking, we would love to have you with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Barbara Maida
Guest Relations
email: guestrealtions@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel for 4 nights - wish we had stayed longer!!
The location in Santa Margherita is just perfect - on the edge of town looking over the Mediterranean, a short walk to shops, restaurants and the marina, and sitting in its own private oasis of beautiful gardens, terraces and pool area. Portofino is a short bus or boat ride away, but walking there is even better with amazing views along the way, and a cute little bay called Paraggio where you can stop and have a drink or lunch in much more peaceful surroundings than busy Portofino.
The staff are amazing, the service is impeccable, the rooms are fitted out beautifully with so much attention to detail by housekeeping staff, there are stunning views and the restaurant has good quality food with great views.
We paid the extra for a sea view room with balcony, and so glad we did.
Yes - it is that good, and we would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony - stunning views. Noise from the road was not an issue for us at all
See more room tips
Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guests,

Wow, amazing review! I am very happy that you had such a perfect time with us, many thanks for letting us know about your great experience.

All of our team members strive to deliver a high level of customer service and it is extremely rewarding reading that you found an impeccable service in each department. I am thrilled to read that you had the possibility to stay in one of our comfortable double sea view room with balcony and that you liked its classic and fresh style.
Thank you for highlighting our perfect position in Santa Margherita, not only walking distance from shops and restaurants, but also allows you to easily reach Portofino by car, by ferry, by bus or with a pleasant stroll.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you again with us, perhaps for a longer time.

Warm Regards,

Barbara Maida
Guest Relations
email: guestrelations@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel's only downside is that the view over the water comes with noose from the water below. All hotels here will have that. But the views are the best. The meals were all very good, the front porch is outstanding, and our room was spacious and comfortable. The concierge service was one of the best we have experienced. From directions to dinner suggestions, they couldn't have been more correct. We loved this hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and for choosing the Grand Hotel Miramare.

It is great to learn how much you liked your spacious and comfortable room and how much you enjoyed the stunning views from your room, the hotel’s terrace and the front porch.
I was very delighted to read that our Concierge was able to suggest you very good Restaurants and that his service was excellent. I will share your comments with him who I am sure will be extremely pleased.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Miramare.

Warm Regards,

Barbara Maida
Guest Relations
email: guestrelations@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely hotel with attentive staff perfect for a weekend stay in Santa Margherita with easy access to Portofino by boat or bus.

Breakfast staff are especially good giving you fresh orange juice or tea and coffee with morning newspapers. You can have breakfast on the terrace when the weather is good.

Will definitely return.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing your positive experience.

It was a pleasure to read that you found the Grand Hotel Miramare the perfect Hotel for your weekend in Santa Margherita. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and the attentive service provided by our staff.
Thank you for highlighting our proximity to Portofino and our nice location. The Grand Hotel Miramare is the ideal base from which to explore the coast and hinterland of the Tigullio area, which includes enchanting Portofino and the natural treasures of the Nature Park and Protected Marine Area, the fascinating coastal towns on the Golfo Paradiso and the Cinque Terre.

I hope to have the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay. Please contact me directly for any assistance or future booking.

Warm Regards,

Barbara Maida
Guest Relations
email: guestrealtions@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Like something from a past era of Gentility and Charm. Opulent Furnishings, Beautiful Location and - the gilt on the gingerbread - Excellent Staff and Quality Service. Like the best hotels used to be.

Breakfast on the terrace? - absolutely the best way to start the day!!

Room Tip: the gardens are lovely but go for a seaview room - and watch the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time of writing your feedback.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the traditional charming style of the Grand Hotel Miramare and the excellent service received by our staff. All of our team aim to serve in the best possible way our guests, by trying to satisfying their needs, making them feel special and well looked after. I am therefore extremely delighted to read that this was the case during your time with us.

I hope you will have the chance of staying with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Barbara Maida
Guest Relations
email: guestrelations@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LHW, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Miramare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.