We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right and lots more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Miramare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Miramare to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Miramare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just right and lots more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had an excellent 6 day stay during which the staff could not do enough for us. The hotel is located on the edge of town, which is a perfect location as the traffic and footfall is light but you remain within a hop skip and a jump from the many restaurants and bars of the town centre and the walk into town if a level one! You are also on the local bus route to Portofino et al - it stops almost right outside.

The hotel is indeed grande with a long history. Its major claim to fame is that the first microwave transmissions were actually sent from its front terrace, but has also hosted film stars and other famous people in its time.

Our superior room with a sea view and balcony was definitely the one to have. It appeared to have just been tastefully redecorated and was very well appointed with an enormous bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was also very nicely appointed and the room was kept immaculate and turned down for us every night - with a chocolate on the pillow - silly really, but a nice touch all the same.

The hotel really oozes old world charm from the moment you enter with an elegant reception, grand great rooms and two lovely bars. The pool is large, immaculately presented and absolutely fantastic, but when we stayed the water temperature was rather cold and the pool really ,needs to be heated. I guess in high summer the sun does that job at no cost but heating for the out of season travellers would make it perfect. The wooden decking that surrounds the pool was a nice design feature, which enabled you to dip your toes in the water as you drank your generous gin and tonics that were ably served by white suited waiters while you overlooked the beautiful coastline from a slightly elevated position. The grounds that surround the hotel were very well appointed and presented and a tribute to the groundsmen.

The dinners were first class and exceptionally well served again by white suited waiters (such a nice touch) and the Head Waiter really looked after us at breakfasts and dinners.The concierge was very helpful in providing suggestions and booking taxis and check in and out was very professional. We especially appreciated the patrons kind gift to my wife of a silk scarf and a promise to take personal responsibility for our next stay - which will not be long in coming.

Room Tip: You have to stay in a room with a sea view and balcony - not to is just to waste the panoramic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    116
    26
    11
    1
See reviews for
79
249
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I have lived in London and traveled all over Italy and France for many years and have to say the Grande Hotel Miramare was wonderful. Terrific location, very clean and large rooms, Frettte linens on very comfortable beds, a superb breakfast in a beautiful setting all along with a very professional staff. The General Manager personally greeted us with a genuine warm welcome. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Miramare is a a beautfiul classy hotel in the heart of Santa Margherita Ligure. 5 minute walking distance from the center where all the restaurants and shops are. This hotel defiantly blew all my expectations away...My husband and I absolutely loved our stay there. The yummy breakfast, the clean fresh room, the outstanding service, the location, the pool, the beach...everything was just wow. We could have not picked a better hotel to stay at during our visit in the Italian Riviera. The hotel has a beach area right in front of it; however, the pool on property is sea salt water which is great, because the pool area is a little more private than the beach. Stay here, you will not regret it!!

Room Tip: Sea view room is highly recommended...amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester Essex UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I wish there were more hotels like this, classic in appearance but modern with high levels of service.Great position overlooking the sea 5 minutes walk from the centre of Santa Margherita which is a pretty town with nice quayside area , restaurants and bars. Portofino is a very pleasant one hours walk along the coast and there are other walking trails in the area We had a large and well equipped garden view room on the fourth floor which was nice and quiet with a super sized bathroom, the beds were ok just a bit on the firm side.Very good breakfast buffet and the restaurant for dinner was also a goo standard. Undercover car park next door to the hotel was handy but charged at 20 euros/day.Highly recommended

Room Tip: Garden room views are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of a vacation that included a week of cycling in Tuscany, so we were ready for some down time in a restful setting. We arrived by taxi from the train stain and were greeted immediately by the bellman who took our bags and directed us to check in. Check in was smooth and quick. We went to our room (109) and were completely thrilled to fund it was in the center of the hotel with a large balcony overlooking the sea. The view was amazing. The bed was comfortable with great Frette linens. The bathroom was spacious - double sinks and plenty of room for toiletries. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. I was very happy to find that they provided washcloths, something that the other hotels we stayed in did NOT have! The second night, we returned from our afternoon in Portofino to find a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, which we enjoyed on the balcony. Breakfast is wonderful, the usual European selection of items plus scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, Prosecco for making mimosas, and fresh fruit and pastries. The concierge was very helpful in helping us figure out the best way to get to and from Portofino and Cinque Terre. The pool is beautiful. The service at this hotel is impeccable. Anything we needed was provided quickly and with a smile. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend the Grand Hotel Miramare!

Room Tip: Room 109 has a large balcony and faces the sea. Road noise is a problem at peak times only when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We've just got back from 3 nights celebrating our wedding anniversary here. We spent hours trying to decide where to stay (blow the budget and go to the splendido or try somewhere out of town for less?)
We eventually booked a junior suite and had room 418. It's on the front corner of the building with a double aspect bedroom - balcony over looking the pool and a window over looking the sea. There was a small sitting area separate from the bedroom and the bathroom was perfectly ample. It was a nice room. Nothing amazing but clean and worked fine for us.

The staff were friendly and helpful without exception.

A lot of people commented on the road noise in other reviews but with the shutters down and the double glazed windows shut we couldn't hear a thing.

The breakfast buffet was good...and lunch on the terrace was ok. The food was mediocre - nothing amazing. We chose to eat out after our first meal.

One thing to note though is the exorbitant price of taxis to and from portofino...Be prepared! 45Euros one way or 35Euros one way if you booked a car through the hotel. There was a ferry that ran from the port 10minute walk away but the last one back is at 5.30 so if you want dinner the only way back is a taxi. For a 5km trip it hurt to pay that much.

Also, if you go with the family we noticed that the corridor door could be closed off making this room and the room next door a big two bedroom suite. That would have worked well for us if we'd taken our kids.

We spent a lovely day relaxing by the pool in the sunshine and having massages in the small spa.

But then at the end of day 1....they started setting up for a trade show...lots of building of booths, banging and drilling for the rest of our stay. The piano bar (which looked lovely) was taken over by admin people and we didn't fancy drinking in the other bar as it was brightly lit and had no atmosphere...Most of the tables outside that you see in the images disappeared or were commandeered by admin staff and replaced by booths. Hmmmm.
So, with nowhere nice to sit, we headed out and stayed away and only slept at the hotel. Shame. And our bill was still 2000Euros. All that included was a light lunch, two breakfasts and a couple of bottles of prosecco.
For the money you don't expect to be woken up by drills, hammering and banging....We think they should have mentioned it when we booked and although we've had a nice time away it spoilt it for us. We will be writing to complain.

Overall, for £600 a night...it was just 'ok'. It was good not exceptional...and without the trade show interference we would have given it 3.5....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We always find it helpful to get clients feedback in order to work on improving our services.

We are sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations to the full extent. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for your discomfort during your recent stay at The Grand Hotel Miramare.

In regards to the event that so damaged your experience, please note that normally the online bookings are closed for those specific days as it is an annual event that has been occurring in the hotel for over 30 years. It is usually our intention to close our dates also for the days prior to the event taking into consideration the set-up of the event. Only direct correspondence and direct calls are taken into account together with repeat guests bookings who are already aware of the event.

Unfortunately, this year the oversight of closing the online booking on those dates did occur, permitting the receipt of direct bookings, and thus your finding availability online. In fact, we have already closed the 2015 dates involved in order to avoid such another blunder.

The above obviously neither excuses us nor waives our responsibility for not having notified you as we should have, so our excuses are extended again.

We trust you have received the e-mail on behalf of the owner of the hotel addressing your complaint letter.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Overlooking the Ligurean Sea this hotel has it all. Our room (314) had a balcony overlooking the pool and a view of the sea. Comfortable bed and beautiful furnishings. The breakfast offers some of the best bacon we had in Northern Italy. If weather permits be sure to dine on the terrace with fantastic views. Staff was extremely friendly. In fact, the General Manager was out to walk his Jack Russell dog one morning in front of the hotel when he stopped and asked if he could take our picture. Grand Hotel, but not stuffy...very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaFustinoni, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Tabù (my Jack Russell) and I, we would like to thank you for your beautiful review, hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Miramare.

Andrea Fustinoni
Owner's Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Miramare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.