We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars on the sea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Miramare

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Miramare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Cody, Wyoming
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Five stars on the sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel and what a find. Beautiful rooms, truly 5 star service and amenities, and then there is the view. Whether you overlook the sea or the gardens, it is beautiful. We were there in the early fall so it was quiet and the price was slightly reduced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We wish to thank you for your descriptive and flattering narrative of your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    111
    24
    12
    1
See reviews for
77
217
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

extremely helpful, courteous and knowledgeable staff throughout. Excellent rooms and food with a wonderful park setting and overlooking the sea. There is nothing the staff won't do to make your stay as comnfortable and memorable as possible. Not cheap, but well worth every penny

Room Tip: my personal preference would be to overlook the garden but the sea view is wonderful too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are very pleased you had the opportunity to appreciate our rooms and services.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thanking you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fantastic friendly staff.
Upon arrival the manager personally took us to our rooms to ensure our comfort and then showed us other rooms and gave a free upgrade!!.I realize it was a quiet time of year ,however it was a lovely gesture and we were extremely happy with this offer!This was typical of the staffs wonderul attention and willingness to help.
The breakfast was good.
Hotel was clean.
The dinner excellent with both waiters being fastidiously attentive and wonderful to deal with.
Hotel is in great location with panoramic views.
If you are driving,there is a little carpark the hotel owns directly across the road on the water side which makes it easy and convenient to unload in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you for your nice words addressed to our staff and services. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations. Your positive review however, is the best reward to our staff, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
27statestreet
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed a few days at the Grand Hotel Miramare. What a wonderful time we had. The accommodations were exceptionaland the service was excellent. I want to personally thank Riccardo, Franciso and Mares. They really made us feel at home. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are very pleased you had the opportunity to appreciate our rooms and services.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for the nice personal words addressed to some of our staff.
We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is magnificent! It is excruciatingly beautiful.....the hotel itself....the views of the Meditteranean....the balconies....the food....the service.....the comfort of the beds...and pillows...the breezes......the blue sea.....birds chirping outside the window....
I have stayed here twice.....
and the good looking Italian men at the front desk...they are very very efficient, kind and helpful....I would stay here again and again.....not one thing wrong at all....
and....I got a special deal....three nights for the price of two...a balcony room....

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room on the seaside......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We wish to thank you for your descriptive and flattering narrative of your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare.
We appreciate your nice words addressed to our staff and services. Your positive review is the best reward to our staff, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four days at the Miramare during a conference in Sta. Margherita. While the description provided by the organizers mentioned that it was a four-star hotel, in fact we were confronted with a fantastic five star hotel on an ideal location, facing the sea, and not far from Sta. Margherita's downtown district. The staff was extraordinarily helpful; our room (although not facing the sea but the gardens on the hotel's back) was full of light and was extremely confortable. The bathroom was large and well furnished. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and served on a wonderful terrace overlooking the sea. The hotel's period furniture in the common areas was beautiful and classy. We loved to cross the street and enjoy the hotel's beach facilities. Ocassionally we had lunch at a small restaurant on the beach (unrelated to the hotel) where we found very good food. We truly enjoyed our stay, and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: While rooms facing the sea may have a better view, rooms facing the gardens are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We do appreciate your accurate description of our property and services and wish to thank you . The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations. Your positive review however, is the best reward to our staff, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Delightful hotel. The staff was excellent and always helpful. Location is right on the sea. We ate breakfast on our balcony which faced the sea. It was so relaxing. We also left our balcony door open (there is a locking shutter for safety) and went to sleep with the sound of the waves. It is now their slow season and an entire floor of the hotel is being renovated. It is obvious they put a lot of effort in keeping the hotel nice. We were here only one night but would love to have stayed longer. Portofino is a nice 45 minute walk along a nice walkway by the coast or a shirt drive. Worth seeing.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a sea view. It comes with a balcony that is so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you for your nice words addressed to our staff and services. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations. Your positive review however, is the best reward to our staff, which I am certain, will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pier Paolo Panzeri
Sales & Marketing Manager
GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE
paolopanzeri@grandhotelmiramare.it
+39 0185 287013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Miramare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.