We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves all the rave reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Anita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Anita to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Anita
Viale Minerva 25, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Luis Obispo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deserves all the rave reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Two of us stayed here for 2 nights mid October 2013. We had a standard double room with a small balcony. It is an easy walk into town and the waterfront. The breakfast is beyond belief, everything imaginable, plus cappucino if you so desire. The owner is the most delightful woman. As we left our last day she was happily sweeping the front walkway. I commented on how happy she seemed and she replied "I love my work!" Everything about the hotel is just perfect, even the small therapy pool which is heated to about 85 degrees. Just below the hotel is an incredible restaurant, Il Faro. You have to walk by it to get to the waterfront. It is owned and run by a delightful couple and the food was outstanding at very reasonable prices. Be sure and eat there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    48
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
164
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I haven't stayed at this hotel but as I am doing the rounds of trip advisor reviews for this years holiday to Santa Margherita I thought I should review the Hotel Villa Anita as the hotel manager was very helpful when me and my Grandpa were lost on our first day in Santa Margherita and I was desperate to go to the toilet and no public conveniences seemed to be anywhere in sight.

The manager of this hotel so kindly allowed me to use one of his guest bathrooms so that I could go to the toilet - by this time I was pretty desperate. I would like to thank the hotel manager for being so kind and allowing me to use his facilities that day.

Your a star and you definitely saved my day! :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Daniella & Sandro are to be congratulated. I stayed 6 nights, room was great, breakfasts delightful, what a choice. They could not have been more helpful even providing train tickets & map for my trip to 5terre as well as arranging for Alessandro (TAXI) to pick me up at the station. Everything & everywhere spotless. All the staff welcoming & friendly, always a smile from the ladies that clean. Spent time relaxing around the little pool as well as out on the balcony. Ate in their restaurant on Sunday (lucky I decided that night as the thunderstorm rolled in, need to book in advance), it was just perfect. So many good restaurants close by & if it had been beach weather 5 minutes from them as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Daniella and her son could not have been more accommodating during our stay in Santa Margherita Ligure. Our rooms were super clean and well maintained. Clean spa pool and absolutely over the top breakfasts. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Santa Margherita is such a gorgeous place and staying here really topped it off for us. The owners are a Mother/Son team and they are the loveliest people! The room was small but clean and we enjoyed using the little pool on the deck. The walk to the bay is downhill with some stairs etc. so may be tricky for some but we accomplished it quite well (and with a stroller too). The trip by taxi from train station was about two minutes and cost about 15 euro! They served the best breakfasts we had in our whole five weeks in Europe and eating on the lovely verandah, surrounded by the garden, was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. Wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Due to our limited time in Santa Margherita, we chose a place on Trip Advisor recommendations and in general, it did not let us down.
The welcome from the family run establishment was delightful, the location a simple 5 minute stroll from the waterfront using the rear stairs, the breakfast included was probably the best we encountered in three weeks in Northern Italy and the advice received good!
We would say that our room was probably typical of an older establishment, with the bathroom and shower very small - but we accepted that and enjoyed our stay of 2 nights before moving to Tuscany.
Our short stay precluded us from walking the Cinque Terre 5 towns, but we were fortunate to do the day long ferry trip down there on a millpond sea with sunny blue sky for the day - long but rewarding! And we were able to swim in the Mediterranean a couple of times as well.
Memories for ever.

Don & Ann

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms were more easily accessible and courtyard/pool side may possibly have a better as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We could not fault this quaint family run hotel - the family are delightful and so helpful! We stayed in the top room ( a but small but had everything we needed to be comfy) and enjoyed our own private sun deck. An easy stroll down to the prominade and endless resturants ... The breakfast was excellent as was the dinner we had one evening! Will recommend this place to friends...

Room Tip: Room 340 at the top - only room on the floor and has a sun deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anita

Address: Viale Minerva 25, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Hotel" Is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Villa Anita is a refined, homely and tiny Art-Nouveau style boutique hotel, tree star, recently renovated and managed by Tarella family since 1957. Villa Anita Hotel is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Public areas are comfortable and provided with background music. Free broadband Wi-Fi connection system is available in the entire hotel.... Even outside of it. If you have not your notebook or Smartphone, an internet corner waits for you at the lounge bar. "R&S Area" (Relax & Sport) After a day spent visiting the surroundings or a walking tour on the "Monte di Portofino", enjoy the heated whirlpool bath (30°-32°), a perfect place to relax and drink a good glass of wine or a cool drink. The new Bio Sauna with aromatherapy is waiting for you....But if you prefer, the Finnish Sauna is available upon request. Our small fitness area with Technogym(R) equipment waits for those who still want to do physical activity. "Kid's Area" Children can enjoy themselves in the garden in a playing ground equipped with ping-pong, seesaw and slide ... "Bicycles" If you want to go biking to the town or to Portofino, 6 bikes are available for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Anita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.