We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Friendly hosts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della vittoria 18/a, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location. Friendly hosts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Big and comfortable sleeping rooms. Good breakfasts. Friendly hosts. Great outdoor sitting areas. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the Mediterranean. Reception area was nice but crowded. Too many dolls in another sitting area. Nice place overall.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you're looking for the offbeat or iconic, this is your place. A fantastic old villa filled with all kinds of stuff from all over the place. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast quite good (perfectly executed cappuccinos) and the location superb. Not high-end, and funky enough to make you smile. Our stay was brief but we enjoyed the hotel and its ambience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Mediterraneo for 5 nights in October 2013.The fact that it was our second visit in two years ,something we have never done before ,probably says a lot. It won't be for everyone but if you want a hotel with character ,centrally located but quiet ,friendly and helpful staff and a relaxed atmosphere ,the Mediterraneo is an excellent choice. We went for a superior room with balcony ,depending on the weather you can breakfast inside or out.

AC , Edinburgh

Room Tip: recommend superior room with balcony ,most if not all rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djibouti, Djibouti
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Perfect location in the center of town. Beautiful vintage architecture. Lovely grounds and garden. 1st class service overseen by the owners. Excellent breakfast, capuchino, espresso, coffee etc. Well stocked bar with a selection of fine local wines. Well secured by masonry walls and heavy iron gates. Will be returning as often as possible.

Room Tip: The owners will kindly answer all inquiries
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here because of a recommendation of the dive operator we used to dive the Portofino Marine Park (which is beautiful by the way) It is a family owned and operated hotel that stole our hearts. In a time of corporate institutions this is a real breath of fresh air and reminiscence of the good 'ol days. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and apart from the diving this 'home away from home' made all the difference. Grazie mille!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed two nights and we cannot say enough about how sweet the place is-friendly staff always ready to make your fresh cappuccinos to have with your lovely breakfast,(meat and cheese slices, many fruits, flans, pastries, cereal, juice..you name it!). Everything you read about the proximity to the beach,(barely a couple blocks), and about being older but retro, clean, tidy, and charmingly homey-all true! Our room was very spacious with great-sized balcony looking out over the parkland and hill behind the hotel. You could enjoy a whole day of just lounging in the comfortable lobby area inside or out. It was so lovely, I would stay again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. Erik and his team made us feel very welcome and nothing was a problem. The hotel is a short stroll to the beach and many, many restaurants and cafes. The breakfast at the hotel is quite nice and the coffee terrific as well.

The hotel is very clean and tidy. It is very obvious that Erik and his team take great pride in this retro hotel.

As one of the staff member's said, "...the bar is always open!" which was great, as my wife and I shared a nice bottle of chianti in the garden after settling the kids.

We used the train from France to Santa Margherita. The train station is a short, downhill stroll to the hotel, or you can easily catch a cab.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone wanting a true Italian seaside vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via della vittoria 18/a, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.