We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience at Hotel Mediterraneo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della vittoria 18/a, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent experience at Hotel Mediterraneo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We highly recommend Hotel Mediterrano. The hotel was charming, and we were treated as family members by the proprietors. Our room, including the bathroom, was much larger than we expected, the bed was comfortable, everything was clean, and the location was terrific. Not only was the breakfast pleasant, but we thoroughly enjoyed dinners in the restaurant. Again, we felt as if we were very welcome family members. After staying in a number of different hotels during our three-week vacation, this hotel was one of our most favorites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I guess my expectations were high after viewing pictures on their website, but the place seemed run down. Our bedroom (top floor; room 33) was very large with a nice balcony overlooking the back of the hotel. The bathroom was in pretty bad shape. Typical European shower/phone booth, no soap dish in the shower, paint chipping, the door didn't shut, etc.

I can't imagine this place in the summer without AC. Fortunately it was cooler at night (mid Sept) so it was bearable with the windows open. However, there was an outdoor event at Villa Durazzo one night that was quite loud past midnight. Not sure how common this is or isn't. Also out back are community recycling bins that the restaurants use. Throughout the night (or maybe it was early morning) we'd hear lots of noise from the glass being dumped into the bins. There are also multiple church bells that start pretty early in the morning. Hardly any car/Vespa noise.

Couldn't ask for a better location. The main streets are close enough but not too close. The path to San Fruttuoso is quite close. That was a great hike!

There were two guys that worked the front desk the entire time we were there. Not sure if they ever slept. Nice enough, but not overly friendly.

Breakfast was pretty lame.

Overall, our stay wasn't great but it wasn't horrible. I guess for 115 Euro I shouldn't have expected too much. Not sure how that rate compares to other places in SML.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We have been visiting this Hotel since 1992 and the good things to be said about the experience have not changed. Even just on the basis of value for money it ticks every single box:
It is set in the most beautiful part of Liguria with access to trains and buses as required. This family run concern will do everything to ensure your stay is comfortable and in addition supply a more than ample breakfast to suit all tastes. Half Board is the best option otherwise you will miss the 5 course evening meal and experience the exquisite Ligurian cuisine.
Portofino, Camogli, Rapallo and Genoa are nearby and recommended or stay within Santa Margherita and if it is the beach you want it is 5 minutes from the hotel or there is always Villa Durazzo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We received exceptional customer service from this family owned hotel. Its very clean and centrally located. They also offered(optional) nightly home cooked meals for their guests that were great and very reasonable. The owner Mrs. Pia Pauli was an excellent hostess during our stay, during breakfast or dinner. She made us feel at home and like Kings always willing to assist. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels in the last 30 years and this one was the most memorable. .YES!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Mediterraneo for three nights in mid July. It is very well located, close to the station but also in the centre of Santa Margherita and over looking Villa Ducazzo on the back side. I found the owners to be very friendly, jolly and helpful. Initially they put me in a spacious room overlooking the front but it was very noisy and a few things in the room were broken or didnt work. However, after mentioning this to the reception, they quickly agreed to move me to a new room without any hassles and I got to choose out of two. The hotel also has free bikes which is convenient and the breakfast is a large spread. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would probably come back. I think it was a little expensive for what I got (no aircon as well) but it is peak holiday season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We chose the Mediterraneo because of its location, the reviews and the price. It's not cheap but you do get a big room and comfortable, if not luxurious, accommodation. One plus is the free parking, which is unusual in Liguria, unfortunately this is mostly in the garden, which is a pity as otherwise it's very pretty.
The location is excellent, very close to the sea with no steps which is great if you have a pushchair. There are lots of cafes and restaurants close by and the station is only 10 mins walk. The staff we very friendly.
The hotel is quite old and the bathrooms have been added to the original rooms which is a bit old fashioned but not unpleasant in a quirky way. It was hot when we were there so, unusually for us, we missed air conditioning, but there are big windows with Italian blinds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Our stay in hotel Mediterraneo was a perfect starting point for various excursions in the area. The hotel has a very service minded and helpful owner who gave us a lot of god advice and tips on what we should see. The hotel has a special charm and can be described as a home on the journey. Food, service and location gave as full value for the stay. We can really recommend this hotel as good place to stay while visiting St.Margherita Ligure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via della vittoria 18/a, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.