We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canali to your Saves list
Hotel Canali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via E. Pietrafraccia, 15, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Rapallo
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were v. happy with the hotel. Easy to find and park. Clean, bright room, quiet location. A quick less than 10 minute downhill walk into town. The staff were very helpful with some good restaurant suggestions. We had a cheaper room (no balcony) but enjoyed the very comfortable outdoor (and indoor) seating areas. There are a few sun loungers (which we didn't use). Breakfast buffet was great. No complaints at all! It's a beautiful building and was a real pleasure to return to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
99
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel is very nice: old-fashion decoration, nice breakfast area with balconies and lounge. Location is a little far from the promenade and center, which is really a pity, because one does think twice whether to go for a walk, esp. when weather is hot.
We had rooms 5 and 6 which are connecting, they were beautifully decorated, but on the -1 floor . In the mornings I woke up from the noise of steps, apparently people walking in the reception area.
To sum up - a beautiful hotel with very small drawbacks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Graceful 1920s period hotel tastefully updated. Views across the bay from the front. Comfortable. Atmospheric outdoor seating area on shaded terrace. Good breakfast including scrambled egg and bacon. Friendly staff. Our room on the third floor was comfortable and furnished in period style.

Room Tip: Ask for one that gives a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I was looking for a hotel near the promenade of Rapallo but finally i have chosen Canali hotel although is about 15 minutes walking distance from the sea. That was a really good choice. We were given a suite since we were 5 persons, 2 adults and 3 young children. Nice room, a big bathroom, 3 small windows, no balcony(which for me was a minus). Nice breakfast, with a very nice terrace outside where you can have your breakfast or an aperitivo in the afternoon. It has a free parking for your car, a big plus for Rapallo, but if you have young children,it's quite difficult to walk the way back to the hotel late in the night,especially if they are sleepy. The staff was very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay there. I recommend it definetely, especially for couples.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed 5 nights and had a small balcony, it was beautiful to have the ocean view a bit away and local houses and greens around. As other have mentioned it is not central located in Rapallo.

Takes about 10 min walk through a nice safe park area to get to the center of the town. It was a bit challenging to park a couple of times but we managed in our small rental car. Breakfast was very good and great choices.

We paid around 32 euro for chairs and umbrella - overall it is pricy in Italy at these "vacation places" but that is not the hotels responsibility and they have a deal with one of the smaller places in a little bay which we did not try.

The people in the reception gave excellent service and help us with booking a table at restaurant "Le 2 Quercs" (the 2 oxe's) highly receommend this place (it is mostly fish despite the name...) it located up on the mountain side and you have the most outstanding view of the city and water from above!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here on our way to our house further south in Italy. The reception was very friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere and a beautiful boutique type hotel. large family room was spacious and air conditioned and the large walk in shower room a treat. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We booked here and told the hotel in advance that we would need good car parking as we were travelling in 2 exotic cars which are very difficult to manoeuvre and park. We were assured this was not a problem, but when we arrived we found the car park full, extremely narrow and on a steep slope. We could just about park one car but the i had to reverse hard against a wall and climb out through the passenger door. The car was very vulnerable and other guests said they were sure it would get hit by a car going in or out of the gates. We met with the owner who suggested we street park - the road was very narrow and we complained that this was not good enough. We said we were very sorry but there was no way we could stay at the hotel. The owner then said that we would have to forfeit our deposit. We thought this unfair as we had raised the parking issue when we booked. When my husband said he didn't see why we should have to pay, the owner started saying that we were con artists and that he would call the police - all in front of our little 5 year old son. I eventually negotiated to pay half the deposit - I really didn't want any trouble and we don't speak Italian and having driven all day we were all hot and tired. I can't say what the rooms are like - I never got far enough to see them, but I think the owner's behaviour was pretty despicable - he told us that no hotels had parking in Rapallo - a load of rubbish - we went on to find accommodation with secure underground parking and space. All in all, a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canali

Address: Via E. Pietrafraccia, 15, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canali 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATIONThe Canali Hotel is located in a quiet residential area close to the city center: In a few minutes walk through the relaxing green park of Rapallo our guests may reach the center of the village, shops, the promenade and its beaches and all local services. It is also possible to have a sightseeing boat tour of the area and to visit Portofino and the "Cinque Terre". It is advisable and more comfortable to reach these locations both by train or bus, leaving the car in our private free parking.WI - FI connection indoor and in the garden, internet point, SKY/ Pay per View. Fitness area with Gym (Technogym), relaxing room, and Turkish Bath (Hammam). Relaxing area in the garden equipped with heated Jacuzzi (5pax), tables and sunbeds. ROOMS21 double rooms, furnished in their original old "belle Epoque" style, enriched in high- tech to satisfy all modern needs.Air conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, hairdryer.JUNIOR SUITES6 modern junior suites built in 2007 with materials, furniture and light colours that help guests in relaxing themselves.26 inch LCD TV, king size safe, minibar, hairdryer and air conditioning. One of them has also a private Jacuzzi for 2 persons.the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Canali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canali Hotel Rapallo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.