We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Convento

Il Convento
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Convento to your Saves list
Il Convento
Via Paolo Zunino 15-17, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Rapallo
Tamworth NSW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Il Convento had been recommended by other family members and they were right. It was inexpensive and perfect, as is Rapallo itself. The views were fabulous and the proximity to the waterside was footsteps away!
When leaving, I inadvertently left my iphone under my pillow. From Rapallo I travelled to France and Spain.
Manuela remained in constant contact until I was able to successfully organise a FedEx pickup in Barcelona! She went WAAAAAY beyond what I would expect.
If we return (one day, hopefully) my husband and I wouldn't hesitate to choose Il Convento again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view towards the water. Some rooms have sofabeds - choose one with a bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melb
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a previous trip to Rapallo, we had stayed on the other side of the harbour corso/promenade.
This time we elected to try the castle fortrezza and old convent end, thus Il convento.
We had pre-booked a self contained room with kitchenette and view.
On arrival we were ushered into a one window apartment with a sidelong glimpse of the harbour.
However, upon asking for another room with a better view, we were immediately accommodated with an upgrade to a much larger suite with excellent window views. Although the trade-off was loss of the kitchenette, there was a small fridge and within no time, a microwave appeared plus additional kitchenware. When we found the pillows turned into hard slabs halfway through the night (as is the way in most of Italy!!), two softer, spongier ones were found for us.
The staff were at all times courteous and helpful. The hotel was generally quiet but movements on the floor above us were sometimes loud and annoying. What the hotel cannot control are the two round metal manhole covers in the road outside which seem to match certain car dimensions and provide a thump thump that continues erratically through the night. So, if you are a light sleeper be warned and be prepared to trade the waterfront for a quieter room at the back.
All in all, Il Convento was central to everything, 5 mins from stazione and bus terminal,value for money and money well spent.

Room Tip: Provided in review
See more room tips
Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My mum and I stayed at Il Convento in June 2012 during a train-trip around Europe. Rapallo was our only stop in Italy and my mother's first time in Europe. We had an absolutely fantastic time and felt so comfortable and relaxed in the well-located and spacious apartment. The staff were so helpful and friendly. We would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Definitely try and choose a room with a window facing the ocean - what a way to wake up! Otherwise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Il Convento on our way to Rome and would whole-heartedly recommend it as a place to stay in Rapallo. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is ideal - close enough to walk to to the town centre and many restaurants. Travelling by car, the parking can be a bit tricky, but they have permits which allow you to park nearby. The room was very clean and the kitchenette well supplied. With a view of the sea, we loved hearing the sound of the waves at night (though we found the pillows a bit hard). Lovely!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent two weeks at Il Convento, and it was a wonderful time for us. The location so close to the town centre, the railway for our day excursions, and the corso for promenading, was perfect. Our appartment was always spotlessly clean, and the staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. It was our best holiday ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just a short walk from the station and with fantastic views of the waterfront, this was a great place to base our few days on the Ligurian coast. We enjoyed the independence of having our own small kitchen and used this as an opportunity to try some of the delicious local products. The ferry to Portofino was less than five minutes walk away and we were spoilt for choice when it came to local bars and restaurants. With friendly and helpful hosts, il Convento was an excellent choice for us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel. Clean and friendly. The owner personally parked my car in a special space. Short walk to everything the town has to offer. Cute spots overlooking water for coffee. Really enjoyed the stay .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Convento

Address: Via Paolo Zunino 15-17, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapallo
#9 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Rapallo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.