We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Rapallo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza IV Novembre 3, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Rapallo
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Stay in Rapallo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I went into the BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal in Rapallo looking for a hotel for the night and was greeted by a beautiful lady who insisted that I look at their rooms. Next day we decided to stay for another day as we were very happy with the hotel and the staff. The breakfast buffet was the best on we have had in Italy.

The location is right across the beach though it was too cold to jump in the Mediterranean when we were there. We asked the lady at the from where to go for dinner and were told that there were a little family run restaurant (Trattoria Genovese) about 3 streets away. The waiter spoke little english and we could not read the menu so we managed to communicate for him to pick a couple of dishes. The food was incredible.

Our stay in Rapallo was fantastic which is often the case if you have no prior knowledge and expectations of a place.

Did I say they have the best candies at the front counter?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Thomas ,
We are delighted to read thay you spent a great stay in our Hotel .
It's always so important to see that our work , our staff , our services have been so appreciated by our Guests and this gives us new energy to continue to improve ourselves .We are very happy to know that you discovered our beautiful area , unsurpassed for the climate and for offering nature trails!
We thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have soon pleasure of welcoming you back .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    180
    28
    15
    2
See reviews for
114
292
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location, staff are wonderful realy, ,dining room manger extremely nice to everyone! Dining room very nice and the food is good. The room we got was great with wonderful sea view. Wi fi is free and strong.parking cost but it's easy.
The hotel is 5 minutes walking from the train station.
Prices to our opinion are very high for this level.
If the prices were fair I would give it all excellent!
Any way it's still highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest ,
We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your stay at Best Western Tigullio Royal .We have appreciated your comment about our hotel : it is really a pleasure to find the confirmation of the quality of our services in your words .
The hotel has really a very good location on the seafront and close to the shopping street ,easy parking just in front and train station reachable in few minutes . Best Western Tigullio Royal offers a large variety of rooms, all very comfortable but with different characteristics and with a wide range of prices ( see web page ) -
We thank you for definitely recommending our hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel and have enjoyed a lot. Staff composed by very nice people, at the reception, in the restaurant, everywhere. The breakfast buffet was excellent, presenting different food and bites each day. As it was Easter, a delicious Italian "Colomba Pascal" was served every morning. It is very well located, close to the train station, the Old Town and the promenade. My apartment had a balcon with a beautiful sea view. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Amalia , we are delighted to hear thay you spent a great Easter holyday with us an that you enjoyed our hotel and services and particularly appreciating our Buffet Breakfast .
The products for our breakfast are chosen for freshness, quality and following the seasonal rhythm and of course in accordance with the traditions of Italian pastry : these are the secrets of our succesful buffet !
A special thanks from the Staff , who really enjoyed your judgment-
Hoping to welcoming you soon again , best regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went for a 3 day break here on the Italian Riviera. We flew into Genoa and caught the train down the coast. Brilliant place for a break. I'll talk about the hotel in a while but also the place in general. I'm not sure how this got to be the number 1 hotel in Rapallo though. I'll come back to that. First if you are flying in to Genoa. Catch the train from the 'Sestri' Train station. Get a shuttle bus or a taxi though as it's too far to walk realistically. The train will go all the way to Rapallo.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the station. Less than 500 yards. If you take a taxi he will charge you about 15 Euros!! which is ridiculous. Highway robbery.

There are a great selection of bars and restaurants in the town. Loads of places to eat and drink and the shopping isn't bad either. The Hotel has no bar to speak of. Just a couple of stools at a bench. There is also no restaurant.

We booked a superior room with a Balcony. It was very nice, a good size but no drawers in the room to put anything in. Just a wardrobe. The Bathroom was fine but the bath very small and the hot water was a bit intermittent. The usual stuff in a hotel bathroom was available. There was also a Bidet.

The Hotel is conveniently located on the waterfront at one end of the shopping and bars district of the town. The town is only very small so it's in a good position. We ate at the Hostaria Vecchia which is just around the corner and excellent value and quality. We also at at the Sole Bar at the far end of the town beyond the Fort which we felt offered very poor value for what we had.

A great day trip from here is Portofino. There is a bus from near the station to the next town along the coast called Santa Margherita Ligure. You change here for the Portofino Beach bus. However you might like to walk one or both ways if you are reasonably fit. The Walk from Rapallo to Portofino is about 10km's of stunning coastline. We caught the bus and walked back to Rapallo from Santa Margherita Ligure which was brilliant. We had lunch at Ristorante Darsena which was fantastic

So in summary. The Hotel is fine. I'm not sure it warrants number one spot in Rapallo but you'll most likely be happy enough with it.

Room Tip: Get a superior room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,
we are delighted to read your comments about your stay at Best Western Tigullio Royal .
We are pleased that you ejoyed your holidays appreciating the property with its position and view . Your so detailed description of Rapallo and surrondings will be really useful for any Guest
visiting our area .
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon , our best regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome, close to main train station and coastal ferries to Portofino. We stayed in a room with a sea view. The room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Especially the staff at the breakfast were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night and would return again! Elisabeth at the front desk was absolutely amazing. This was a really nice hotel with absolutely excellent service! The hotel is right on the beach and there were some really nice restaurants that Elisabeth recommended to us. The Ligurian coast was simply amazing!

Room Tip: You can ask to see the rooms and they are more than accomodating. Very nice, big rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_TigullioRoyal, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest ,
we have really appreciated your beautiful words written about our house .
We are so happy that you could enjoy your stay in our hotel and in our beautiful land .
A special thank from Elisabeth and greetings from all the staff .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is easy to find and virtually on the waterfront with great views from many rooms. Parking is above ground in a public carpark across the road.
Service, room and breakfast were all very good and we were given good advice about where to dine.
Make sure you use the coastal ferries, eg to visit Portofino. Tickets are available from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room with harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal

Also Known As:
Best Western Tigullio Royal Hotel Rapallo
Best Western Tigullio Royal Hotel
Tigullio Royal Rapallo
Tigullio Royal Hotel Rapallo
Address: Piazza IV Novembre 3, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rapallo is rightly considered the pearl of the Gulf of Tigullio, the Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal is its shining star in the hotel sector.A refined and elegant 4-star hotel, it stands on Rapallo's seafront, at the heart of the magnificent Italian Riviera. Santa Margherita, Portofino, Camogli and Sestri Levante can easily be reached by train or boat. The Tigullio Royal Hotel stands in Piazza IV Novembre, in the centre of Rapallo, very close to places of historic and cultural interest in the city. For business guests there is a Conventioned Meeting Centre, up to 50, next to Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal; Coffee Break and Lunch services available on reques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.