We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good centre for Cinque Terra and Portofino visits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza IV Novembre, 2, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Rapallo
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good centre for Cinque Terra and Portofino visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel Riviera has a good location in a lively town.
Family run and all the staff were very helpful, including the one from near Bologna!

We received good advice on travelling around.
Boat trip and train travel.

Good quality restaurant.

Compact rooms but all the facilities were good.
Good market on Thursdays.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for the sea view rooms. We were on the top floor and had a small balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    59
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
67
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The location is fantastic, the room was very comfortable, with a brilliant view of the marina and the bay, and the price very reasonable compared with other accomodation in the area. We really liked Rapallo as a town, with plenty to see and do, shops to explore and restaurants to try, and in fact would suggest this as a town in which to stay in preference to Portofino (which is lovely, but overrated in my opinion) or the towns of The Cinque Terre, which may be a little too quiet for most once the day trippers leave. There were two big drawbacks with this hotel. One was the dismissive way with which any of our requests for assistance, services, information or advice were dealt with by it's principal, Claudio. The other was the lack of amenities in the hotel (although I suppose that's what you get if you only pay for three star). Wi-fi was only free for one device, and only for six consecutive hours. After that, or for any additional device, you pay 5€ per each subsequent six hour session (a WIND prepaid sim card is much better value, and there are two WIND shops in Rapallo that I easily found). There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, no iron or ironing facilities available at all in the hotel, not even a box of tissues in the room. I feel sorry for the guy working in the restaurant, who at breakfast we found to be absolutely delightful, attentive, friendly and professional. His restaurant is mostly deserted at night, probably because the prices are just not competitive with the abundant choices of restaurants located just around the corner along the promenade, and also that the location is just corner too far from the lively restaurant strip on the waterfront. They might do better if they got rid of the hedge that forms a barrier from the street, and offered a competitive apperitivo at the outdoor bar area, with complementary snacks from about 5pm, as do so many bars just around the corner. I would happily go back to Rapallo, but would think twice before staying at this hotel again. If I did, it would only be after considerably lowering my expectations.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

On our trip to Sardina, we´ve stopped first in Genua and then decided to follow the coast and look for a nice place to stay.
We ended up in Rapallo and decided to stay at this hotel.

Positiv:
- We were travelling with two bikes on our car and the guys from the hotel adivsed us to leave them in the hotel. So they put them into the lobby to ensure that nothings happens - thank you!
- Breakfast is quite good - of course, it´s not a huge hotel but for a good start into the day sufficient.
- Internet is for free and quite fast.
- Central and close to the beach, you will find also something to eat within minutes.

Negativ:
- Parking is quite difficult but we had some luck and found one directly in front of the hotel
- Sea View (sidewards) means that you have to open the window and lean yourself out of it to see the sea :)))

All in all, we very satisfied about our stay and would come back in case that we would end up in Rapallo again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for four nights in October 2012. The location of the hotel was excellent. It was very well kept and very clean.
The staff was friendly especially Lorenzo. (Claudio was lazy).
We paid for the upgraded room, but were under the impression that it was a standard room. The room was ocean front, but was very noisy late at night, since it was facing a busy squire with a lot of motorcyclists speeding through. Maybe a standard, not facing the ocean is a better option and a better value.

Room Tip: We paid for the upgraded room, but were under the impression that it was a standard room. The room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You cannot go wrong with this hotel (the good reviews/ ratings are accurate, anything else is not). Absolutely great location (walking distance to everything), outstanding views, nice breakfast, exceptional service, very reasonable price, etc. etc. What more can you ask for in a hotel?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Right on the water front and within easy walking distance of the railway station the Hotel Riviera was a great find! The owner and staff were incrediblly friendly and helpful the bonus being their English was pretty good (certainly much better than our Italian). The breakfasts were excellent and the added bonus being the two superb dinners we had in their restaurant - their gnocchi filled with pesto was unbelievable!! Our room was clean and had a view of the water. As there were three of us sharing (couple and a single) we were in a suite with two rooms - bonus!!

Room Tip: As a couple and single travelling together we were given a suite with two rooms which was an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Claudio Gambero (Owner) is the type of Italian business person that you were warned about that will lie and cheat to make more money. This included (at the very 1st) trying to give you a lower quality room that is not what you reserved, not providing Air Conditioning (because it is cold at night or broken or, or, or) and turning off the Hot Water Heater to save money. It does not do any good to go down after your cold shower to hear him say it will be hot in 10 Minutes. He also lied about the parking rate in his lot that he quoted 5 Euros per day and charged us 12 Euros per day. You will note that he speaks excellent English until you complain about something and then he says “I do not understand what you are saying….” The location is on a very noisy street so leaving a window open at night is not an option as he decides you should do. The breakfast served will be a minimalist service and does not even include eggs – It was the worst of all “included” breakfast meals we had in Europe.

Be very cautious and understand fully that he will lie to you about whatever suits him especially if he can save Money. Also note that in the picture of the Riviera, the twin building to the left is not part of Riviera Hotel. His attitude and service spoiled our experience in Rapallo and we would suggest other Hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Piazza IV Novembre, 2, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Hotel Riviera you can enjoy a wonderful view of the Tigullio Gulf. The hotel offers 20 rooms equipped with all comforts. We take care of small details to make your stay as pleasant as possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Rapallo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.