We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning views, beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Rapallo
Warwickshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stunning views, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

A most beautiful place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, the views from our sea view junior suite were stunning. The standard of cleanliness was excellent both in the reception rooms and our suite, this included a turn down service in the evening.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant manager organised us a reservation for a special meal in Portofino on the night of our anniversary. The bar staff in the Chamberlain bar were excellent especially Carlos.However the drinks were very overpriced.The rooftop restaurant had amazing views , good food and service. Lovely pool ,terrace setting for breakfast was stunning but limited menu as was the poolside bar menu.However if you wish to order something different they will oblige.A car is essential if you have mobility problems as it is rather a long walk into Rapallo and not an easy one back ! However we liked the seclusion of the hotel as Rapallo is very busy.The area is so beautiful, there are so many interesting places to visit especially Portofino and The Cinque Terre villages and the staff are very helpful in recommending the best places to visit and giving directions. We stayed for ten days and had a wonderful time, our junior suite was elegant and spacious as was the rest of the hotel.We did not use the spa as it was incredibly expensive.This is a wonderful hotel for a romantic break .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dearest Guests, thak You for taking time to write about Your experience. Grand Hotel Bristol cnd the Staff are thankful to read such a beautiful review.
We look forward to welcoming You for the following perpetual anniversaries; in the meantime thanks to Your comments we are already starting to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    137
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
53
219
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This hotel is a bit of a hike uphill from downtown Rapallo and the train station, but it's worth it. The view from the hotel rooms is awesome of the Mediterranean! Every time you leave your room someone comes in to clean up after you which is really nice. We had a massage in the hotel which was just okay...not very romantic. Buffet breakfast takes place out on the patio with a great view. This was one of my favorite places in the world!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dearest Guests, we are very proud to be "one of Your favourite place in the world" , and above all that You have ejoyed your stay with us. This is one of the best part of our job: let the people feel like Home, and give Our Customers several reasons to remember the place they have lived. Thank you to advantage our Grand Hotel Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

My wife and I spent 4 glorious nights here, very relaxing and great service and help from staff.
Will be sure to return again.
Location is superb, with great views over the marina and along the coast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmgr, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2010
Dearest Guests, we are very glad Your stay has been so pleasent. At Your disposal, we look forward to welcoming You again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We spent 3 wonderful nights and this hotel. The staff at the time were fantastic as we were travelling with a small child. However be aware of there customer service levels as i had left some shirts in the room and when ringing the hotel to request them was told that they were not there and they hadnt seen them.

Be very wary of the way they are, very disappointing and have ruined our experience. They are really lacking customer service. Also be careful of the advertising of the gym as there is an extra surcharge which is not in the fine print.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We loved our stay at the Grand Hotel Bristol. The view of the bay was amazing, and the hotel itself was very charming. The rooms are not huge, but they are very nice and clean. The pool is fantastic also with a great view. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in the Bristol hotel as a wedding party of 8 people. We found that the hotel was in a beautiful location overlooking the small town of Portofino. The views from the rooms and the pool area were stunning. It was lovely to be able to eat our breakfast and have evening drinks on the terrace with these views in the background.

The pool was of a good size with clean pool towels every day. The pool area was quiet and very relaxing.

This hotel has been recently renovated and is of an excellent standard, with plenty of space and fresh, modern decor. Hotel cleanliness was 5 star. The rooms were cleaned twice a day with plenty of clean towels.
Hotel staff were extremely friendly, very efficient and helpful and they made us feel totally welcome.

The hotel is a short walk down to the town of Rapallo (about 15 minutes). My 82 year old gran was able to walk this every evening so you do not necessarily need transport to get around!
The day after our wedding we took a ferry ride over to Portofino (this is highly recommended). We would have done the same to travel to Santa Margarita but unfortunately we run out of time!!

We had our evening wedding meal at the very top of the hotel. Again the views were amazing and the food was excellent and plentiful. We couldn’t have picked a better hotel or location during our wedding in Italy.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel (we had the time of our lives!); we will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Kind Guest, we thank You very much for taking time to write Your feedback. We feel to be the lucky ones, as we have been choosed for such an important life stage as Your Wedding. With all the best for Your life together from all the Grand Hotel Bristol Staff, which is looking forward welcoming You back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed there last year with my wife and two year old and found it really good. The walk into town was very nice along the promenade. The staff were extremely helpful and assisted us with our son.

We also went to the Cinque Terre from there by train and its not too far. We had a sea view and the views over the bay were good.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2009
Kind Guest, thanks for Your comments, and above all to remember us after long time. We hope You have had a great year, and we will be delighted to welcoming You back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#9 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.