We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not quite convenient to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Rapallo
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not quite convenient to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was lovely. The rooms were nice, and clean, although some needed a little TLC (wrought iron balcony and shutters needed work). The staff was very accommodating. The downside is that this hotel is not close to the town center. I wouldn't walk because of the winding road and shallow walks and it is at least 15 minutes to walk to town. I wouldn't want to do it at night. Unfortunately, there really is no place to eat other than at the hotel. One night, the restaurant was booked and there was no where else to go to eat. The chef made us some sandwiches in the bar. There was no where else to go unless we wanted to call a cab to take us into town to a restaurant. The restaurant, Le Cupole, was wonderful. Service and food were excellent and it has a great view. It's actually the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    136
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
53
218
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

this grand hotel offers an INCREDIBLE view and lots of space. me and my family enjoy a lot to stay there for the friendly staff and clean and large rooms. the swimming poll is really nice. The thing I liked most was the restaurant which has an amazing view on the sea and we ate delicious meals. i will coming back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This grand old hotel offer space and incredible views. We had two large suites for our family of five and loved the size of the rooms. The walk in robes were the size of my kitchen! Yes it is an old hotel but also quite majestic. The views were just incredible and we quite enjoyed the stroll into town -good way to burn off the gelato! The buffet breakfast was great and the kids loved the pool. Great gym too. Staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at GH Bristol for a wedding, great place and atmosphere.
Rooms are big, classic and not modern at all but are functional and clean.
Service, breakfast, food, ..., everything is perfect, also the huge pool. Little downside maybe is that the hotel is not very close to the city center (about 15mins walking)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is located outside the city center, the rooms and bath are large, others have said that it needs an update, and that is probably just the carpeting, the rest of the hotel was great. The front desk staff has helpful especially Raffaella who helped me with several small matters. I will say that the free wifi included in our rate was spotty at best--kept getting bounced off---for a four star, they should have internet that works all the time . We ate dinner in the restaurant several times, and the food, service were stellar---our maitre d' and waitress were always there, and not hovering---we will return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay, it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 9 days and were impressed.
We were warmly welcomed by a smart young man at reception, who was helpful and recommended that we eat in the hotel's rooftop restaurant. We were not disappointed; the view was beautiful.
It was a very relaxing place to stay, the rooms are very well soundproofed. However, my mattress was slightly uncomfortable, the springs stuck out which is not what you expect of a deluxe room in a 4 star superior hotel. The decor is tired and the hotel would benefit from some refurbishment. These were minor issues considering how pleasant our stay was overall.
Definitely book a sea view room and make sure that you eat in both of the hotel's restaurants, the food is delicious.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We moved to this hotel for 2 nights after 6 nights at the Italia E Lido right on the front. The Hotel is about 20 minutes walk up a winding road above Rapallo and the views across the bay of Portofino are amazing. We booked a sea view room - it was in good condition but we felt that housekeeping could have been better. For example, 2 lightbulbs were out and the shutters were very difficult to shut and the paint was pealing. I would also have expected to have a small table and chairs on the balcony - we improvised with chairs from the room! But the the room was very large with a good sized bathroom. We ate at the roof top restaurant on both nights and on the outside terrace on the second night which was truly amazing.as the sun went down. However, despite lots of waiters in attendance, on the first night it took them an hour to bring the starters.... However, the food was gorgeous and we were happy to give them another chance - and happily the service was a lot slicker. The hotel has a lovely ambience and a great swimming pool - a really good length rare in hotel pools. It is a bit of a walk into Rapallo but we cut off the main road and found a quicker way down to the front. It is then another 10 minute walk to the train and bus station so if you are travelling around be prepared! For us staying at 2 different hotels was a good choice and I would recommend it if you are in Rapallo for a few days. We would happily return to Rapallo and this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room - the view is what this hotel is all about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#9 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.