We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended but on off seasons because of the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raananaa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommended but on off seasons because of the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It is very expensive but we had the chance to stay there since it was off season and there was enough free rooms.
Breakfast is excellent! Like real 5 starts hotel.
Service is amazing except one man which we didn’t like at all.
Rooms are very nice and the location is 5 min by walk and if you have a car you can drive 10 min to Santa Margarita and Portofino.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property and particularly appreciating our Buffet Breakfast as well as the service and the room.
We thank you also for your comments regarding the position of the hotel, very closed to the town center ad to Santa Margherita and Portofino.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    227
    63
    31
    11
See reviews for
106
407
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not a 5* at all, maybe 4. Room quality terrible, linen (.......) bathrom clean. Food quality average. Building old style and needs restiling. SPA terrible. It s kind of flashback reality in the 80s.... No beach, just solarium area....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior Palace Hotel, we are awfully sorry to read that you don’t consider the Excelsior a 5 star lucury hotel.
We inform you that we obtained this classification reflecting the high standard of quality required for a 5 star luxury hotel regarding the service, the position, the quality of rooms as well as quality and choice of Restaurants and Bars in addition to the Health & Fitness Club and the Beach Club.
We also inform you that during this last year we are continuously doing works of renovation to make our property more and more luxurious. Last year we renovated our Lunetta, situated at the end of the lobby area, we enriched our lobby with ancient pictures and new sofas.
We also furnished all our Junior Suite and Suite with ancient furniture and we created the last floor of the hotel, the seventh floor, as an ALL FLOOR SUITE with a Presidential Suite with 2 bathrooms which can be converted in a Penthouse Suite with 3 bedrooms and a new Relax Suite with private Sauna and Jacuzzi on the terrace.
Finally, also the Beach Club will be involved with renovation works, the Eden Roc Restaurant with its beautiful terrace on the sea will be open this summer from noon to midnight for lunch, aperitifs, dinner and after dinner with live music.

Furthermore, the hotel will refurbish the jetty at the Beach Club in order to propose both to our Guests excursions by boat to Portofino, S. Fruttuoso, the Cinque Terre and to our Clients with private boat to dock directly our hotel and to use our services such as the Restaurants, the Beach Club and the Spa. Secondly, a brand new floating pool (25 sqm) will be available.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is well situated right before Portofino, great view, excellent service, with very short drive to Portofino through pictures sites, villages, cafe's and bars. The staff was extremely kind and helpful

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last year.
We are delighted to read that you keep a good memory of your holiday appreciating the great view on the Portofino Coast from the hotel as well as our service and the staff.

We hope we will have the honour of welcoming you again this year at the Excelsior and we take the occasion to send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful weekend at this gorgeous hotel. The service was immaculate from the time we checked in through to when we left. I could not fault one member of staff - everyone went out of their way to be helpful and attentive. The girl who checked us in, was one of the most helpful people I have ever encountered at a hotel check in.

The view from our room was spectacular even though the weather was not brilliant. The advantage to travelling in winter was that we had Rapallo, Santa Margerita and the stunning Portofino all to ourselves.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a base to explore this wonderful area. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time you dedicated in writing your review about the Excelsior Palace.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your weekend at the Excelsior appreciating above all the service, the check-in procedures as well as the stunning view from your room.

As you wrote, even if the weather conditions were not so brilliant, you had the advantage to discover Rapallo, Santa Margherita and Portofino in peace and quite.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner also during next spring or summer in order to take advantage of our Beach Club open from June to September with outdoor infinity pool and terraces to suntan, but also tasting our Sporting Bar and summer Eden Roc Restaurant.

Thanking you again for your attention and preference, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been at Excelsior several times. The last was when we got married in July 2012. We booked a Junior Suite for two nights. Service has been impeccable, the Junior Suite was a dream....with a wonderful, large bow window on the Tigullio Gulf. The staff has been very supportive and kind during the tense days before the wedding. The breakfast on the outside terrace has been wonderful: good quality food, staff smiling, quick service, sun. Beautiful.

A plus is the access to a private rocky beach.

In my little experience, this is the best luxury hotel you can get on the cost in general and mostly for its value-for-money, in an area of Italy where many structures are old, expensive without offering the promised quality, and small.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with view of the Gulf: big, fantastic value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your last stay at the Excelsior last July during your wedding celebration.
We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay in Junior Suite with the bow window overlooking the Portofino Coast appreciating also our service, the Staff as well as the quality of our cuisine and our Beach Club area.

We thank you again for your precious comments and, looking forward to welcoming you sooner at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The staff was very friendly and efficient. We were a family of three adults, and the extra bed was comfortable – something that is often hard to obtain even in good hotels. We had a memorable dinner at the hotel's seaside restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last August.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated above all the accomodation and the dinner at our seaside summer Eden Roc Restaurant with sea view on the Portofino Coast.

Thanking you again for your attention and hoping to welcoming you again, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been through alot of hotels and this one has made it to the top of our list. We have been all over Italy and Greece and we absolutely love what this hotel has to offer. Everything you would want for a romantic time you will find here at the palace. It is a must see.

Room Tip: Got to have the one with a great view, 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments about the Excelsior written on the occasion of your romantic stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you absolutely loved the property and that you consider the Excelsior to the top of your list.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In una posizione unica, con vista ad est della baia di Rapallo e, ad ovest, del promontorio di Portofino, L'Hotel Excelsior e stato riportato agli antichi fasti di inizio '900, quando rappresentava tappa obbligata per il bel mondo di allora. Tutte le camere offrono indimenticabili viste sul panorama che ha ispirato grandi scrittori. L'hotel, aperto tutto l'anno, dispone di 127 camere, due ristoranti aperti anche alla clientela esterna (Lord Byron, aperto tutto l'anno e Eden Roc, una splendida terrazza sul mare, aperto durante la stagione estiva), due bar aperti anche alla clientela esterna (Yachting Bar aperto tutto l'anno e Sporting Bar aperto durante la stagione estiva anche per snack ed insalate), un centro congressi di 650 mq con 9 sale riunioni che accoglie sino a 450 delegati, un Health & Fitness Center con 5 cabine massaggio, sauna, bagno turco, piscina interna riscaldata vista mare con idromassaggio, palestra vista mare, Beach Club privato con piscina esterna panoramica e terrazze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.