We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rapallo
Isle of Wight England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel exceded all expectations... Marvellous. Entering by car our first impressions were Wow, are we really staying here. The staff were extremely helpfull, the language barrier non-exsistant and although the hotel was 5 star it did not have that "stuffy" feel to it, everything was relaxed.
Yes, the rooms are on the small side and the bathroom deserved a proper shower cubicle rather than a shower curtain but one doesn't stay to spend all their time in the shower !
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and the terrace........ bliss
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive comments written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last September.

We are pleased to read that our hotel exceded your expectations, appreciating the hotel as well as our services like Buffet Breakfast with its terrace sea view.

We also thank you for your comments regarding our Staff, well appreciated. We greatly delighted your image published on the occasion of your meal at the Eden Roc Restaurant on the terrace facing the Portofino Coast.

Hoping to welcoming you again very soon at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.


Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    189
    53
    29
    9
See reviews for
90
323
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had booked for three nights in September 2012 but checked out early. Prior to arriving at this hotel we had stayed at Hotel Luna in Capri, Ill Pellicano in Tuscany and Hotel Lungarno in Florence. The wi fi costs in at Hotel Luna in Capri were only a few dollars a day and the other two hotels were free. We were shocked to find Hotel Excelsior charged us 22 euros, per device, per day! Thank goodness we did not have our teenage children with us. Overall the hotel was fine, the breakfast was ok. It's a good base to see the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are awfully sorry to read your disappointment regarding the Wifi payable at our hotel.

We wish to inform you that our contract with the current provider company will expire at the beginning of next year, so we officially inform all our Guests that the Wifi at the Excelsior will be completely free of charge starting from 2013.

Finally, we wish to let you know that we are surprised that overall you given us a so negative opinion for a specific service which, not only at the Excelsior, but also in other properties, by now is payable.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our kind regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel fulfilled all of my expectaions. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms very quiet and comfortable, and the location perfect.The breakfast was very good, but i don't think they should charge 6 euros for a fried egg (scrambled was on offer free of charge) A lovely stroll into Rapallo, through the park and along the promenade. The bus stop is just a few yards away, and buses are very frequent. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: High room was very quiet and had a wonderul view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your stay last July.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday in Rapallo appreciating your room as well as the Buffet Breakfast at our Lord Byron Restaurant and also the courtesy of our Staff.

Thanking you for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you back at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Excelsior Palace is probably in the best possible position in this part of the coast, slightly up the hill, out of the plebeian crowds of Rapallo, with a breathtaking view towards Portofino. It is an ancient building composed of several parts, probably often refurbished through the ages, but still keeping the sophisticated look of a belle-epoque-grand-hotel of the Mediterranean Riviera. Nowadays, the hotel has almost everything you could expect from a 5 stars establishment in Italy, the lounges, restaurant, bar and terraces are beautifully furnished, probably the average rooms could be considered rather small, due to the age of the structure, but the view from windows and balconies forgives everything. The lack of a proper beach (common to most of this part of the coast) is obviated equipping the underlying cliff with some facilities such as a scenic suspended swimming pool, platforms and stairs for easy access to the sea. The “beach club”, with its bar and restaurant is reached directly from the hotel through some corridors and elevators.
The “Byron” main restaurant serves a good choice of mainly local cuisine, the quality is as expected for a good hotel restaurant, the service is quick and careful.
The personnel are overall friendly and accustomed to deal with foreigners, who are by far the majority of the patrons.
In my opinion, there are however some little notes deserving attention:
1) The seaside facilities open at 9 am, that is rather late for early morning sea lovers;
2) The small rooms without balcony should probably have a much interesting price;
3) Obviously, this is not a cheap Hotel, there are plenty of less expensive accommodations around. This is not the place to discuss about cost to benefit ratio, but charging € 3.50 for a small bottle of still mineral water seems to be a slight lack of panache.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your positive remarks written after your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating the position and the view from our hotel as well as from your room with balcony.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Beach Club as well as your meal at the Byron Restaurant.

Furthermore, regarding your remarks on the Beach Club opening time, we inform you that we are thinking about to anticipate it at 8.30 a.m. and regarding the price of our standard rooms, we inform you that, accordingly to the availability and the period, we decide to propose lower rates, maybe from the second half of October you will find more competitive rates regarding our property.

We would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We thank you again for your attention and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior.

Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A three night stay at this brilliant resort is heavenly. Magnificent old worlde charm with modern facilities. Fantastic pool/beach club over the ocean with bar and snacks, superb dining room with views over the bay while eating an abundant breakfast and in the evening lovely setting for a fine dinner. Offers wellness, spa, sauna and gym. The views from the rooms is peaceful and calming by day and the night sparkles with the lights of Rapallo. The ferry service is nearby for travel to Portofino and Saint Margeruite . Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive comments written on the occasion of your 3 night stays at the Excelsior.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday with us appreciating above all our Beach Club with infinity pool as well as the Health & Fitness Centre, our Sporting Bar open for snacks, our Lord Byron Restaurant with its terrace open for the Buffet Breakfast and for dinner.

Furthermore, we thank you also for your suggestion regarding the visit to Santa Margherita Liure and the well known Portofino.

Thanking you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you sooner again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from a sunny Rapallo.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Top notch in all aspects. Easily one of the best hotels I have visited. Too bad it was only for one night. Very nice seaside beach club with attentive staff eager to help out. Absolutely outstanding views! The hardest thing to do was the drive to Portofino. My French Peugeot was too big for these Italian roads I guess. I will know better next time and rent a smaller car....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your short holiday and we hope you could come back sooner for a longer stay in order to take advantage of all our services.

Thanking you again for your attention, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite slight rain, sitting facing an unobstructed view of the bay of Rapallo, sipping a glass of prosecco I feel like Lord Byron who stayed here and gave his name to the elegant restaurant on the ground floor.
Our expectations are somewhat special: we live on the French Riviera and go into hiding each summer during the tourist season. The beaches are swamped with people, the roads clogged, the weather too hot for comfort. So the expectations of spending a week away, only 2,5 hours drive from home, are mainly to take advantage of the sea, early September weather and be pampered. We have been twice in this area and have seen Portofino and Cinque Terre which are the main tourist attractions and rightly so. The hotel is therefore of utmost importance as we intend to spend most of our time in and around it.
The hotel is classified as 5* L and it delivers most of it. The view from our deluxe seaview room is unique and overlooks the Beach Club on the other side of the coast road. The access is via the -1 floor of the elevator and a closed walk way bridge over the busy road. No, no noise in the room which has modern 2 or 3 leaf glass windows. There are no « nice » beaches in this
area where the mountain drops into the sea. There are some pebble beaches, beaches with jetties built on the water AND the Excelsior Beach. The hotel apparently owns the land dropping from the road into the sea where they built a number of terraces. There is a small infinity pool and sun chairs, numerous sun chairs, mostly one row deep and the Beach restaurant. A number of stairs will lead you past the Eden Roc restaurant down to the concrete jetties. There is a metal ladder to let yourself into the sea of perfect temperature unless of course you just want to dive in and swim out to one of the 2 floating platforms. Ok, definitely 5 star. The deluxe room, 35 sq meters (350 sqf) with a comfortable size marble bathroom, large closets in the entrance and the view described above also qualify for a 5 star rating. Service, not to be forgotten, is of same standard and that encompasses reception, bagage and car parking (by the same), Lord Byron dinners where each guest is delivered his main course by a separate waiter. That is the Luxury in the classification.
The food, not of a starred restaurant, is excellent and contrary to what I have read is priced correctly for the food quality, presentation and service. Wine list is not too short and a decent Italian Rosato wine can be ordered starting at 25 Euros.
There are a few negatives which could be explained by tradition (or slow modernism): no free Wifi but a daily 22 € charge from the Swisscom access provider, not a single free satellite English movie channel but a Pay-per-view at 10 – 12 € and most significant no guest satisfaction survey.
Don't let this put you off. No one is perfect and even a 5 * L can improve.
We will definitively come back – not to check-up on progress – but to enjoy again the Excelsior Palace !

Room Tip: the deluxe sea view rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of alla let us thank you for your precious comments written on the occasion of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you fully appreciated our property and its position as well as your deluxe room with balcony and view on the Portofino Coast.

Furthermore, we thank you for your positive remarks about our Beach Club and we appreciated your sentence which detailed the access to the Beach from the hotel.
We are also pleased to read that your found up to your expectations the service as well as your dinners at the Lord Byron Restaurant in terms of quality of food, service and prices.

Finally, regarding your remarks about the wifi payable, we inform you that we are seriously working on cooperating with a new provider in order to give sooner to our Clients a service free of charge.

Otherwise, concerning the English channels, as you noted, we have by now 3 english TV channel like CNN, BBC and CNBC.

We would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel has been a favourite with an elite, international clientèle since the early 20th century. Experience a personalised service, elegant surroundings and beautiful sea views.The Excelsior, open all year around, has 130 rooms, two Restaurants (Lord Byron, open all year around and Eden Roc open during the summer season), two Bar (Yachting Bar open all year around, Sporting Bar open during the summer season also for snacks and salades), a Conference Centre of 650 mq with 9 conference rooms which can accomodate up to 450 delegates, an Health & Fitness Center with 5 treatment roomss, sauna, Turkish bath, inside heated swimming pool seaview with whirpool, Gym seaview, private Beach Club with panoramic swimming pool and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.