We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket feel but fails to excell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gambero

Il Gambero
Via Gramsci 2, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
018565668
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 146 Restaurants in Rapallo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant has an excellent cuisine with local specialities. Our Guests are particulary appreciative of our good selection of wines and our meticulous service. During summertime service in the terrace with nice sea-view.
Paris
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Upmarket feel but fails to excell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Il Gambero is definitely not your average Italian restaurant. It offers an original menu which does not disappoint with decent service. However, it fails to give you an unforgettable meal. The experience is also spoilt by ridiculous portions (4 big raviolis as a primo) and prices that you will nevetheless remember (100€ for two, with one glass of wine each). Surely, if you want to try something new, go for it but don't expect too much. Italy has better restaurants to offer

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have traveled to Italy on numerous occasions and have had plenty of amazing meals, but allowing the owner of Hotel Riviera to choose our meal provided us with our best meal yet. Every single item was so fresh and cooked perfectly. We even went to the store they recommended to buy one of the condiments they served with prosciutto. The fish was cooked and presented like none other that I have ever eaten. Be sure to ask the recommendations of the waiter (Massimo), owner or chef. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ligurian Cuisine in just one night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We did the tasting of typical Ligurian cuisine, together with typical Ligurian wines. The owner, Claudio, was very attentive and friendly, explaining every detail. My wife ate the best gnocchi of her life.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We ate in quite a few restaurants during our stay in the area and "Il Gambero" was the best. Extremely fresh produce, fantastic flavours and dishes that have a touch of "savoir faire" compared to many other restaurants. The menu also changes from day to day depending on what the market place has to offer. Freshness, flavour and FABULOUS! Not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best of the 4 we visited during our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

nice place, perfect service and good food, too bad the street is so near, the smell of the passing mopeds is not really compatible with the excellent food served -> take a table inside...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gambero also viewed

 
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Il Gambero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Gambero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.