We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sognando Villa Edera

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapallo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sognando Villa Edera
Save
You added Sognando Villa Edera to your Saves list
Salita S. Giovanni 3, 16035 Rapallo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Genova
1 review
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Coming after a long winter in Brussels, we hoped for the generous italian sun. For sure we got loads of it, this July was like a furnace in Genova area. In these circumstances we appreciated even more the clean, big enough swimming pool, with the stunning view on the gulf of Rapallo. That scored no 1 on our accomodation appreciation list (for sure on my daughter's), no 2 being the air conditioning, of good quality- like all the ammenities, making the heat bearable. The evenings in Rapallo are smooth and enjoyable but be careful where you park! The trip advice given by Sara were valuable, Camogli scored better for us than the famous Portofino. The peaceful atmosphere pays back for the excitement of the steep road - you get used to it.
For the rest, the smile of the host is always there, people are nice so we plan to come back.
Prefferably in autumn when the temperatures are more acceptable for trekking and the hoards of tourists are diminishing in Cinque Terre.

Adriana C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Positive things about Villa Edera: 1) spotlessly clean apartments 2) stunning views 3) lovely pool Things we were disappointed by: 1) our apartment was tiny, with no room for easy chairs inside 2) very poorly equipped: only a 2 ring hob, no oven, no kettle, no toaster, not even a wooden spoon! 3) the drive into Rapallo wasn't long but was hairy (narrow bendy road) which put us off going out for dinner in the evenings 4) it was very expensive for what you got - we now wish we'd gone for a B&B

Room Tip: Make sure you get an apartment with a view over Rapallo -- check on website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrenberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Villa Edera can be found in the hills of Rapalla and give a phantastic view to the seaside. The entire place, the garden, the appartments, the pool area - all is done with lovely care by Sara and her parents.
When we arrived we were immediately taken care of and Sara showed us the appartment, the garden and pool area; as well she told us best places to go (and how best to reach them i.e. Portofino with boat from Rapallo), the supermarket etc. We directly felt like home, no even better - like in heaven. Especially if you take a look from the pool or garden down to the sea and Rapallo. It's a peaceful place where you can spend relaxing days.
The appartment (Kiwi) was newly renovated with stone arc, bad & kitchen full equipped with towels :) The pictures on the website tell the full reality and beauty of the Villa Edera - it's as beautiful as seen!
We will come again as we had fantastic days!
Thanks a ton to Sara and her parents! Cheers, Christine & Gerd from Germany

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family and I (4 adults, 3 children 13 years,9 years and 5 months) were attending a wedding in Zoagli and this accommodation was chosen mainly because of the good reviews and the fact that there was a 'pool. My daughter was the person that booked with Sara and she remarked that the booking process was made very easy. Sara replied to emails quickly and was most helpful with all the arrangements.
We hired two cars and left Genoa airport for Rapallo. We made the mistake of not going through the correct toll and failed to collect a ticket. Exiting the toll at Genoa, we were ‘presented’ with a surcharge ticket and it was for 69 Euros instead of the normal price of 2.70 Euros! We found the road to Sognando Villa Edera and it was worse than I had feared! To be fair, I hate driving abroad and I am a big girls blouse on small roads. My little 985cc Lancia, loaded with suitcases, stalled many times trying to cope with the journey up the hill. On arrival, Sara was there to warmly greet us and show us to our apts. I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice they were! Everything was spotlessly clean, had everything we needed for a weeks stay. There are 5 apts’ and 4 of those were occupied by people going to the same wedding in Zoagli, this was nice as we were able to sit outside during the day and evening and join in with the others.
We went into Rapallo 3 evenings to eat and it was lovely to stroll along the promenade and then visit one of the restaurants for a meal, followed by the obligatory Gelati. ( I found the most superb Fig ice cream!).

The day of the wedding, Wed’, the weather was just right. Sunny but not as hot as it had been for the past 3 days, up in the mid 30s. 104 people went to the wedding from the UK and it was just wonderful.
We spent the next 3 days just relaxing by the ‘pool. We felt very much at home at Sognando Villa Edera. I enjoyed the sitting outside at the tables and having our lunches and afternoon snacks. Outside our apt’ were two areas with a bench table and seating for at least 6 people. One in the sun and the other under cover, which was lovely for the baby to sit with us. My two older grandchildren just loved the ‘pool and the freedom to wander in the gardens. My daughter had the apt’ next to a small road but there was very little traffic to worry about re noise. Security was very good, with high gates that were controlled by remotes.
All the members of the family made an effort to make us welcome. Sitting by the ‘pool, Sara’s father, Mario, made a big effort to try to engage in conversation with us. With his limited English and my very limited Italian, we managed to chat most days about something or another. I found Sara to be most pleasant and willing to help, which she did. Going back to the problem at the Autostrada toll, we explained to Sara what had happened and she very kindly wrote a letter explaining what we had done was a mistake. My son in law then took this to the toll booth in Rapallo and we were charged 2.70 Euros instead of 69!
A really enjoyable holiday at the most lovely Sognando Villa Edera. Thank you to Sara and her family for making us so welcome!

My rating for location is based on the fact that I disliked the road but for peace and quiet, the location was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hello all, in order to give a wider message I will write in english although being lithuanian I can express my best feelings about Villa Edera and all the famiglia italian way :)
I am second time there and I will choose this destination whenever I will wish to visit that part of Italy. Difficult to imagine better simple nice family atmosphere , surouded by mature garden, with exclelent pool with amasing views of Tigulian bay, golf course, Rapallo in some distance, surounding Ligurian hills with hidden villages and churches ... After Sara and Rosana refurbished their rooms installing kitchen stoves, there is nothing more pleasant than buy some fresh food, especially fish , wich is in abundant in Rapallo and cook it at home , and enjoy dinner with the view , hardly comparable! The house is on the hill, but walking to the town is an easy exercise , to return back - bus is regular there.
And the last thing - try the olive oil Mario is producing... Believe me , it is the exelent example of rare posibility to try Ligurian oil, with the fascinating smell of sea wind and freshness, it is not a shop or supermarket story , something more .....
Cordiali saluti per tutti!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauwe, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Appartments are spacy, comfortable and clean. They offer enough privacy regarding the other appartments. Swimming pool is great, with warm and cold shower right next to it (very handy!) and enough chairs to sit and read afterwards. Location of SVE is very quiet and the view is amazing. The road from Rapallo to SVE is adventurous, but not most practical one and not feasible by bike (you need at least motorbike). Is somehow cumbersome in the morning to get fresh bread for breakfast (tip for Sara: Maybe offer to bring bread from Rapallo in the morning, to order the evening before). Self made marmalade and fresh eggs are a hit! Sara speaks very good English. Another small tip: Offer some maps to visitors (map with Portofino and Camogli was utmost interesting), as well as possible excursions to Cinque Terre etc.
We never go to the same place again - the world is too big for that - but if we would, SVE would definitly be a place we would go back to. Regards, Bart & Connie + kids

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We are a Danish family with 2 boys of 8 and 12 years who stayed at Sognando Villa Edera for the first time this summer 2012. Sognando Villa Edera is lying up in the hills. The apartment are very nice and all is very clean. The appartments are surrounded by a nice garden where it is possible to sit outside eating or just look at the beautiful view of Rappallo city in front of you or to the other side the green mountains......it is really nice and relaxing:-) There is also a really nice pool - from here you also have a great view of the nature. The owners house is just beside the pool which means you get a close insight in the Italian family style. They are very very kind, warm and helpful with all kind of information you need for the area - and it is possible to have fresh eggs, olive oil and vegetables from the mother who cultivate it all. We can not recommend this place enough!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sognando Villa Edera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sognando Villa Edera

Address: Salita S. Giovanni 3, 16035 Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Rapallo
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal choice for a break to regain your inner harmony and be at peace with nature, Agriturismo Sognando Villa Edera has the warm,discrete glamour of one of the most welcoming country villas. Each guest will be amazed by the beauty of the landscape and by the warm hospitality of the owners. Situated just 4Km from the sea,with 5 fully equipped apartments that have been completely restored ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sognando Villa Edera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.