We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eight Hotel Portofino

Save Saved
You added Eight Hotel Portofino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eight Hotel Portofino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Portofino
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is really nice and the staff was really helpful and friendly. The rooms are quite expensive but you are in Portofino and there are only 2 hotels walking distance from the harbour so I guess you have to pay for it ! But you also pay 14 euros for a beer so.....:) The room was made twice a day and was a good size though not as big as I was expecting.
All in all if a nice place to stay if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a Eight Hotel next to Portofino called the Eight Hotel Paraggi and sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    28
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
69
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The only good feature about this hotel is that it in situated in Portofino. We had been booked into a room with a small terrace or balcony but while our room was nIce it did not have a balcony. This was written clearly on our printed itinerary by our travel agent and advertised on this hotels website. However I could not get anywhere with Reception and we realized that we just had to put up with this for the 3 nights we stayed. It was particularly annoying when I realised that the room next door was similar to ours but it had a balcony and there were one night stays in it while we were there. I cannot understand why we did not get this one.
The hotel website needs to be more accurate and informative and the staff more obliging! There is no view from the hotel and it is up the hill from this charming seaside village. The reception staff were not helpful and one member in particular had a very superior manner. There was no information in our room about hotel facilities or the points of interest in the area.
We were told when we arrived that breakfast was served in the rooftop garden everyday unless the weather was not fine. We had perfect weather each of our 3 mornings but not once during our stay was it there. Breakfast was indoors on the second floor with no explanation. It was basic in comparison to the other five hotels that we stayed in, in our 3 weeks in Italy.
I took photos of what was supposed to be the outdoor breakfast area ... It looked like it hadn't been used for a long time if ever! I wondered how 7 tables would be enough for 18 rooms. There is no bar or restaurant at the hotel.
We only had one pillow each and had to ask for another one as there were no extras in our room. During our stay we had to ask for soap and another towel because when our room was serviced they weren't replaced.
We paid 408 Euro ($570 AU) per night which was cheaper than most hotels in Portofino but still substantial and expected that our booking would have been honoured and for more genuine hospitality from Reception. It would have been better to stay in one on the nearby towns such as Santa Margarita where there are many more hotels and the private beaches are much more reasonably priced that the arrangement Eight Hotel had for its guests at 40 Euros ($56 AU) per person per day. There is an excellent ferry service hourly linking the 4 nearby towns of Rapello, Santa Margarita, Portofino and San Fruituoso. Don't bother to stay at Eight Hotel.

Room Tip: make sure before you arrive that you will get the room you actually booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We regret that the staff at the Reception did not indicate to you that there was a Guest Directory in your room, providing information on hotel amenities and facilities as well as a list of excursions and activities in the area. Our comprehensive Guest Directory also states that if you need extra pillows, toiletries or have special requests, you are encouraged to contact the Concierge directly. One of the standards of Eight Hotel Portofino is to have a turndown service where used towels are replaced daily, however, as we also strive to be more environmentally conscious, only the towels on the floor are refreshed. During the spring and summer months we arrange outdoor breakfast service in our garden, however, we apologize that during your stay we underwent some maintenance issues which have been thankfully resolved. We regret that we were unable to make your stay in Portofino as enjoyable as possible and we would like to assure you that we have duly taken note of all the issues you mentioned and are presently working on improving the information on our website. At Eight Hotels we take great interest in your feedback and strive to continuously improve our services and ensure 120% customer satisfaction. Thank you and best regards from Portofino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Spent one night in Portofino, out of a 10 day break in Lombardy. We were really looking forward to it as the hotel photos looked great and the reviews looks good. It is labelled as 'small luxury hotel of the world'. I paid the going rate( a very high rate!) for a standard room ..thinking that it was going to be special hotel with a great room and great location. We were looking for something special to finish off our vacation. It was definitely not. We were really disappointed. It is small hotel and must be the most expensive hotel in Portofino or possibly in the area!. A nice entrance and initially good feeling...But..the classic room was nothing special...clean, reasonably funished but still a very small room and bath,room with only a shower. The window overlooked a side street. The hotel has no facilities, no bar, a small jacussi and area on a terrace on the roof area, but which received little sun anyway. Did have free parking. Breakfast was included and was a small continental. The hotel has access to a beach at its sister hotel in Picaggi and has a shuttle car but will charge you 40euro per person to use, which I thought was ridiculous. This should be provided to all guests. The website is not obvious on this. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, just 100m walk from the harbour area. You are really only paying for the location (portofino) and the proximity to the harbour..but seriously , do not waste your money. We were going to stay 2 nights but the manager kindly and thankfully allowed us to leave the next day at no extra night cost..for which I am grateful. The staff is very nice. We were quite disappointed with Portofino in general. It is definitely a nice harbour and seafront as is that entire coastline..definitely worth seeing. But Portofino is very expensive, oversold and full of people either having or pretending to have too much money. The shops and restaurant really do charge high prices for everything. It has a small harbour with some large moored yachts which clearly helps attracts visitors. Make a day visit, have an evening meal..it is lovely in the evening ...but definitely stay elsewhere. The Piccolo hotel just outside portofino looks nice, is much better value and has room patios and access to the local (public) beach and is within 10min walk to Portofino. Beaches are definitely at a premium along the coastline. I would even avoid Santa Margarita nearby although it is pretty enough for a day visit as well. This coastline is spectacular and worth spending some time visiting.

Room Tip: No advice..not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Portofino, once a small fisherman’s village, has become world renowned for its charm and exclusivity. We therefore apologize if the Concierge did not go over all the exciting activities and excursions the town had to offer. We hope that you will come back to visit us and have an unforgettable experience.
Our boutique hotel has various facilities: a beautiful outdoor garden where may relish a delectable breakfast, or enjoy a steam bath in our Jacuzzi, or sip a refreshing drink at the Eight Bar. Moreover, we also offer a complimentary shuttle service to our sister hotel “Eight Hotel Paraggi” where you can enjoy a day at the beach at the exquisite Paraggi bay.
Best regards from Portofino!

Serafina Leozappa
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Perfectly appointed small hotel, in a quiet corner right off the little strip in lovely Portofino. Freshly decorated room of adequate size, minimal staff, esp. housekeeping, helpful receptionist, basic breakfast included in the garden (best croissants and pastries, but fe even a slice of cheese of meat was extra). Would definitely stay there again, esp. compared to the loud location of the Splendido Mare. (high speed internet included, but works only on the lower floors of the hotel) Only wish that the lovely little garden would remain open a bit past 7PM, as it is an ideal place to soak in the hot tub and have a quiet drink.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our property.We have taken note of your remarks regarding opening hours of the garden and will extend the garden hours for next season. Hoping to welcome you again in Portofino, we send you our best regards!

Serafina Leozappa
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed at Eight Hotel (previously called San Giorgio Hotel) for two nights in August 2010. It was our first time in Portofino and we loved both the place and the hotel.

Our room was small with no drawers and very few hangers so it was difficult to unpack and we had to pile our cases up in the room to have enough space to move around. However, despite that the room was lovely - very modern and chic, just like the rest of the hotel, which has wooden floors throughout - and we had a tiny balcony which was nice to sit out on. The price of the room was expensive but actually very reasonable in comparison to the rest of the hotels in Portofino.

The communal areas in the hotel were nice and we had breakfast upstairs on the roof terrace each morning, which had a very relaxed atmosphere.

The bathroom was great, with very generous toiletries and a great shower. I particularly liked the "His" and "Hers" boxes of toiletries which they provided with different contents of sachets inside.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the harbour in Portofino, which is one of the most picturesque places I've ever seen. In Portofino itself be prepared to spend a lot for food, drinks etc. Also be aware of the "minimum taxi charge" of €25 which applies no matter how far you travel! The hotel staff were really helpful to us in recommending places to eat and we had one of the most enjoyable meals ever at a restaurant called Strainer on the harbour front, which was one of the recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and appreciate your comments. We strive to continuously make improvements to our hotel and are pleased to receive your feedback. We hope to welcome you again at the Eight Hotel Portofino!

Serafina Leozappa
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Was supposed to stay at sister hotel located on the water just outside of Portofino; however, eventhough, we had confirmed reservations the sister hotel decided to close early for the season and we were redirected to the San Giorgio (Hotel 8) for our two night stay. Although they apparently notified us by email we did not receive the email and was unaware of the change until we arrived at the sister hotel.

The San Giorgio is chic and trendy and located up the hill from the Portofino shopping area. It has no views and construction going on around it.

Overall the hotel is okay, but I do not believe it is worth the expense of 400 plus Euro per night. As another review said, if you want to see Portofino you could easily do it from Santa Margherita Ligure and stay at one of the grander and less expensive hotels there. We have done this before and had a far better experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

it seems this hotel is still called san giorgio eventhough it is now called hotel 8 ,
even my car's gps new it since it could not recognize the old name. i requested a triple room and a few days before i was informed they would give me two adjacent double rooms and honor the price of the triple since it would not be available during my dates. breakfast was very decent with great cappucinos and croissants. there was no internet signal in both of my rooms and the only place wifi was available was inthe lobby therefore they agreed not to charge the 10euros daily. overall it seems with the new name there is a new inexperienced management and personell. the hotel was totally understaffed just making every request very hard to get. great location walking distance to the port. parking was available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eight Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Portofino

Address: Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Hotel Portofino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, liguria architecture and elegance are the key features of Eight Hotel Portofino, a wonderful example of the perfect combination of ancient tradition, modern technology and quality of service offered to our guests. Located just a few steps away from the world-wide famous “piazzetta”, the hotel offer its guests 18 uncommonly elegant and refined rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Splendia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Eight Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Portofino
San Giorgio Portofino
Hotel San Giorgio
San Giorgio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eight Hotel Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.