We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in Portofino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dritto, 18, 16034 Portofino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Value for money in Portofino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived in Portofino without any reservation. Luckily we got a room in this nice hotel in the middle of everything. You can really stay 3-4 nights on the price of one night in neighboring hotels. 100 meters to the harbour and plenty of choices to park your car.

We did very nice walking tours around hills and forests. I doubt if You can more beautiful routes anywhere in southern Europe. Even if the hotels in Portofino are very expensive, food in the restaurants isnt that costly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
000
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you are looking for an affordable hotel (in terms of Portofino) in a great location,Eden Hotel has no rivals. It's situated 1 min from the bus stop and less than 1 min from the port, and it's very easy to find. The owner is very nice (he helped us plan the next stop in our trip), and breakfast was satisfactory. We got a room in the ground floor - It was a nice,basic room (the bathroom somewhat small), but there was a strong smell of dampness that possibly originated in the floor-to-floor rug .We both noticed the smell whenever we entered the room, but after a few minutes we got used to it and it didn't bother us. We both felt that the room was not clean enough, which was the biggest minus in the room in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel having arrived at Portofino at sunset tired and wanting a drink ... But with no booking.

Even at 7pm on a Sunday night in late September three hotels wanted 800+ euro a night to stay in Portofino and so we were surprised that a hotel one street back from the harbour with a beautiful garden was 140 to 180 euros a night (with breakfast "of course!").

Anywhere in the world this would be a 3 star hotel and the rooms are small, particularly the bathrooms: we were given the option of a 140 euro room or a more spacious one at 180 euros - we took the "more spacious one" so I cannot imagine how small the other one was: our bathroom was so small you were banging your elbows when brushing your teeth!

It is also quite quirky: the owner spoke perfect English when we were checking-in but by breakfast and check-out he didn't appear to speak a word. Also, despite the free Wifi, he appeared to take exception to me using my laptop in the garden during breakfast to check my email!

Overall, great value (for Portofino) anywhere else not so much but .... Fantastic location and a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location was great - in the middle of Portofino and an easy walk from the bus stop/taxi - though I'd recommend getting the bus in from S.Margherita, as taxis can gouge you Euro 40 for a 7-minute trip! (compared with an Euro 1.50 bus ride)
The room was nice and clean, the hosts were very hospitable, and I had free, good quality wi-fi (in other hotels in Italy I had to pay Euro 5 an hour to use wifi). I had to leave early to get the first bus out of town at 6am, and the hosts even left a generous breakfast out for me, knowing that I would leave before breakfast was served. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a wonderful room, very clean but basic. Try and book the one with the terrace if you can though! Fantastic location. Delightful owners and good service despite the language barrier. Great value for money for such an expensive area. An interesting experience as its very old fashioned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We got to Portofino on a whim and didn't have anything booked. To be perfectly honest it was the first hotel I saw and it had a room with two beds, lil un one for my 5 year old. I must have been charged the last minute cost which was high at 240 euros but I was asking for a room at 2pm in July in Portofino so ho hum.

Room was clean and the owner and his wife (?) we're very nice and even specially made a hot choc for my boy over breakfast. TV, decent shower, and my room had a really nice garden view too. Hotel is 15 yards away from main square and port and is secluded enough to be very quiet.

Breakfast is a good continental and is in a lovely covered garden patio with a modern feel.

Beach is 25 min walk (but a really nice walk)

In London or Paris this would be a 80 euro a night B&B but honestly context is important in these reviews and this is neither London nor Paris its one of the most expensive rocks in Europe so 4 outta 5 is fair.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

A privately owned hotel with very few rooms and a restaurant. Breakfast is included and prepared by the owner himself - very delicious with some fruits and a number of pastries (which is a traditional Italian breakfast). Room is quite small, however, there is all you need - safe box, hair dryer, aircon. Everything was clean and tidy. Good memories for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Domina Home Piccolo
Domina Home Piccolo
#3 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 22 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 22 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#3 of 22 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Via Dritto, 18, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Portofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.