We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An aptly named hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Splendido

Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Splendido to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off standard rates
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Portofino
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An aptly named hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Splendido for three nights when we had intended to stay for only one, on our way from Lake Como to Tuscany. The setting and the hotel are magnificent. Evening dinners served on the terrace restaurant are an experience. The rooms are small but the warmth and hospitality of the staff more than makes up for that. As I said we extended our stay and would have stayed longer if we could.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    54
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
53
257
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Returning for a fourth visit, is probably sufficient testament to an extraordinary experience.

Sitting majestically above the bay of Portofino, enveloped by lush vegetation and discretely exclusive, the Splendido retains its extraordinary style. It does this of course, at an extraordinary price to its guests, but with almost unrivalled service, ambience and sheer luxury.

The traditions are everywhere, photographs of distinguished past guests, an understated elegance, and a level of service, too infrequently found in Europe. Italy may be decaying, but the Splendido remains an example of one the country's many treasures. This is magnificence without ostentation.

In particular the high level of service is achieved in a subtle and delightfully old fashioned manner. If you want to play tennis with one of the finest pros I have ever found at any hotel in the world, you find it with Flavio Marzano - good manners and charm and tennis expertise are rarely found all wrapped up in one individual.

Antonio - the maître d’hôtel/bar has seen it all before, but even if he has never seen you, will make you feel important and unusually welcome. And if you want a pianist/entertainer with art and fair, you have it with Vladi, he ensures your evening is a little richer when you retire to your room.

To be very critical – I noted that a guest who had stayed there over 5 times before was asked on departing if he had stayed before. Equally on arrival, I was not greeted with “welcome back….”..these are small details, but details that matter when the price is so high, and technology enables, especially at the reception desk! This was not found elsewhere in the hotel, where staff were sharper.

Simon

Overall- Majestic, magnificent and memorable. The management must just remember that just as Italy has slipped economically over time , so the hotel must strive to be the very best and take nothing for granted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Another grand stay at the lovely Splendido Mare. After having visited every year since they opened this property, it feels like a second home to my wife and myself. Best staff , location, food and accommodations in the world. Every evening a special event at Chuflay Bar restaurant. Like staying with good friends at their villa. Can' wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea, with balcony, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff in both hotels was excellent and very accomodating.
The rooms at the Mare was small but very nice.
The food at the Mare was Spectacular.
Staff was over the top and made the stay extra special.

Room Tip: rooms facing the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having stayed at many of the great hotels I have high expectations. Splendido did not let me down. The hotel is gorgeous and the General Manager and staff have a wonderful "can-do" attitude. We were upgraded to a lovely suite with a super view and tiny balcony. The bed was very comfortable and they provided the blanket which I had requested. I loved sitting by the excellent saltwater pool, swimming some laps and watching the boats come and go in the harbour. The food was very good the first night at the restaurant and we had a magical table overlooking the view. Other times the food was good, not great. A little more creativity in the menu would add a lot, especially the restaurant Mare in the village.
What really topped it off was the wonderful personality and performance of piano bar man Vladimir! His interaction with guests was outstanding and he loved getting everyone involved. I am a professional soprano and loved performing with him during my stay. It was a real highlight!
This is one special occasion hotel. I left feeling relaxed, happy and pampered. A hard experience to beat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a junior suite with sea view. The original room was closer to the tennis court side of the hotel, with a sea view possible only if you stretched your head around the corner. Thankfully the hotel had a sudden cancellation and we were moved. Be sure you reserve a room closer to the pool side of the hotel - that is where the views are.

Service was adequate but not of the caliber one would expect of a hotel in this league and price. A major overhaul in service is required. Interestingly, sometimes we would get service from someone who was obviously an experienced employee - and it would be exceptional. More often we would get (or not get) service from a newer employee. The hotel is just not at the top of its game.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Let me tell at once how sorry I am to hear that not everything went as you expected during your stay. Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the Splendido and, more generally speaking, of all our Hotels world -wide. I have therefore taken very seriously every point of your note and it is certainly thanks to the comments and suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve our service and facilities.

In going into the matter as you know the Splendido rooms are all different in terms of size, décor and typology: this is the main peculiarity of the house. Moreover the building is East - West oriented and therefore quite all rooms are facing the sea, but from different perspectives.

The first room showed you upon arrival was, I suppose, located in the Western side of the Hotel, this means near the Tennis court, anyway from its balcony you can enjoy the view over the sea.

Of course the Management is always at disposal to handle immediately, if at all possible, Clients' preferences and requests, their satisfaction is our first pride.
I hope this few lines will help to better understand the situation and of course we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Hotel Splendido& Splendido Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The best part of this Orient Express hotel is its location and the Gardens and terrace all of which are 5 star. The swimming pool is a good size and heated - just a pity that the reclining chairs we were shown too had a pile of spare chairs piled up next to them, I would have thought that a 5 star hotel could have found a space elsewhere to store them.
I took my wife for a 4 night special birthday treat in June and when I booked it some three months before specifically asked for a dinner reservation on the Saturday evening with a table on the edge of the terrace with a view across the bay. We decided to have a drink from the bar before our meal so I went to the Maître D to ask them to hold our table while we finished our drink. When we went some ten minutes later we were conducted to a table in the second row and not on the edge as I had requested. Matters got worse - the amuse-bouche we were served was the same as the night before and looked tired. When I commented on this I was told that as it had proved so popular the kitchen had decided to serve it again on Saturday! A little later I noticed that they were serving a different amuse-bouche to guests who arrived after us. The waiter said that this was a special. However this was patently untrue as the guests were residents on the same plan as us. My wife is gluten intolerant and she had been served gluten free bread the night before and at breakfast - we were told that all the gluten free bread had been sent to a wedding which was being held downstairs - I never thought that the so many Russians were gluten intolerant!
The next day we visited the sister hotel - Splendido Mare in the Port were we had a very good lunch and superb service. We went back to the Mare for dinner the next night and had the 5 star dinner and service which we had expected in the main hotel on the Saturday.
We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the view which, while adequate, was small and tired. The Hotel is really in need of a makeover and would be better if it was with only suites and refurbished as Orient Express have done with their Sicilian Hotel.
We enjoyed our stay - in spite of the disappointing Saturday evening.

Room Tip: Get a suite or a balcony room on a higher floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The view from the Hotel Splendido is absolutely breathtaking: you are surrounded by beautiful gardens and can gaze down upon the charming little harbour of Portofino. The hotel has just the right blend of beauty, style, comfort and service. Swim and sunbathe by the beautiful swimming-pool, pamper yourself at the Spa or treat yourself to gourmet meals at La Terrazza restaurant. If you look for unique experiences, enjoy a romantic sunset cruise with champagne on the hotel's private boat or try the olive oil tasting classes on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orient Express, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Splendido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.