We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but very expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Splendido

Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Splendido to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Guildford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice but very expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had dinner on the terrace there and it cost over €350 for two of us which only included two glasses of wine. It also Nuvo Cuisine dining, so you don'y get much for your money, but the view is worth it. Wayne Rooney had his wedding reception here, so that should give you an idea of it's exclusivity.

Room Tip: Ask for a tablr near the side of the terrace overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    57
    24
    16
    15
See reviews for
63
279
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was at The Splendido on a fluke and I could not leave. At the time May off season they offered te American Plan wic included breakfast and another meal. I chose dinner. This is the best place to stay off season. The weather is great in May and it is totally worth the extravagance. I was alone which made it more special ina way. no one bothered me. I was attended to like a queen.

Room Tip: The rooms are all gorgeous, I did visit a few of neighbors. The photos opn the web site do not do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our four nights here. Portofino is a unique little place. The property, complimented by superb, food, ambiance, a stunning wine list and gorgeous pool area. Our only small gripe was the lunchtime clamor for premium tables (at the edge of the terrace). This was played up by the restaurant manager who seemed to revel in the allocation of the 'primo' spots.

Otherwise, the Splendido is a great choice, if money is not a concern.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel Splendido is a really wonderful hotel with so many brilliant attributes. I keep on coming back year after year and from the moment we arrive, we are always looked after and made to feel at home. It is a great hotel for couples as its so romantic but equally great for families - we have taken our Daughter there over the years and she loves it. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful and the food is delicious with so much choice. The chef is also accommodating if there is something not strictly on the menu too.

The rooms are well appointed as you would expect from this level of hotel and the pool is simply stunning. You can't beat the views from the restaurant, the terrazza, the infinity pool and the front facing bedrooms.

The bar and terrazza serves great bellini's when white peaches are in season and the waiting staff couldn't do more for you.

The courtesy bus is easy and convenient into Portofino. It would be great if they added a courtesy bus to Santa Margarita too as this is a lovely town to visit too.

One comment for the hotel - it is a matter of opinion and I understand Valdi has quite a following but I don't really enjoy the whole quiz thing and when staying for a week or more, it gets a little repetitive. It would be really lovely to have a pianist and singer every other night to delight your guests perhaps.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony facing the front of the hotel and enjoy a couple of Bellini's snuggl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a beautiful place. The Spendido is located on the side of a mountain, so everywhere you were there was an amazing view. The food was great, the service wonderful, pool awesome. We actually had such a great time at the hotel that we never actually went into Portofino as we had planned! Literally my only complaint was the ride up to the hotel.... a car service picked us up from the train station and took us up the very tiny and windey roads.....a little scary and nauseating.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms have a terrace (ours did), but make sure you get one so you can sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I love Portofino! If I ever win the lottery, I would buy a home there! In the meantime, I was lucky enough to eat at the Splendido Mare...My food was so good, I took a picture of it! The location was 10 star, not 5 star. The service was lovely, immpeccable and so friendly!

There are no words to describe the hotel. You almost feel like royalty when you are there. If it sounds too good to be true, you just have to try and go...it's like being in a movie!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My companion and I had such a lovely stay at this hotel it's just a shame we only managed to visit towards the end of the summer and therefore the weather was a little hit & miss, but chilling by the pool on those glorious days was awesome. You can’t fault the location, it is amazingly positioned on a beautiful hilltop with breathtaking views. However a word of warning, avoid taking taxis to & from the hotel if possible, they are ridiculously overpriced.

The hotel room (we stayed in a Junior Suite) was lovely although the décor was slightly old fashioned, for the price we paid per night we expected something a little more special and modern, we felt it was missing the wow factor, not to be said however of the view that we had from our room, that was amazing.

The front desk staff were all very friendly and the young lady that escorted us to our room was very helpful. On a more personal note however,(probably because I work in fashion) I just wondered how such an exclusive property which prides itself on elegance, attention to detail & making an impression would choose to economize and allow their female staff to wear such awful & outdated dark turquoise uniforms with no style and in contrast have the male staff look far more elegant and in line with the exclusiveness of the hotel. It’s about time these uniforms were modernised.

The restaurant atmosphere was lovely and the staff were mostly pleasant, although the service was a little slow at times, the food was delicious but a little overpriced.

If you are able to venture out to this part of the world, overall, you won’t be too disappointed. Portofino town is very picturesque but everything is expensive. When it comes to dining and shopping do also visit Santa Margherita, it’s a lovely little town and more reasonable priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The view from the Hotel Splendido is absolutely breathtaking: you are surrounded by beautiful gardens and can gaze down upon the charming little harbour of Portofino. The hotel has just the right blend of beauty, style, comfort and service. Swim and sunbathe by the beautiful swimming-pool, pamper yourself at the Spa or treat yourself to gourmet meals at La Terrazza restaurant. If you look for unique experiences, enjoy a romantic sunset cruise with champagne on the hotel's private boat or try the olive oil tasting classes on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Splendido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.