We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Magazin

O Magazin
34 Calata Marconi, 16034 Portofino, Italy
39 0185 269 178
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Portofino
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Juan Les pIns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place was suggested by the concierge of the Splendido. What a fortune. We would have not tried it instead. We got a table on the dock and Portofino is magic at night, when tourists have left...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    60
    30
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“lovely food :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

WWe went to Portofino as part of a cruise along the Italian and French Riviera . It really is a very pretty place! Despite the obvious obscene wealth everywhere you look, it remains a delightful little gem worth a stroll around. We were quite hungry and so stopped at this restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the bill although it could be easy to seriously overspend! We had authentic and fresh pizza which was delicious. When we sat down the waiter put a bowl of crisp and olives on our table before we ordered which was wonderful because we seriously needed something to keep us going whilst deciding what to choose from the varied menu. we can recommend it wholeheartedly and ye service was relaxed but attentive without being in your face or feeling rushed. give it a go! :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Our Favorite in Portofino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Right on the water, a view to die for, food beyond divine. This restaurant was or is on the list of the Accademia della Cucina Italiana. Mario used to be an "Academico", which was fun while we lived in NYC. My sister and brother in law were on a cruise, so we met in Portofino. I made our reservation ages ago, enough so that they laughed at me. Then I confirmed recently. It is always worth it to go to this small, superb little restaurant, not the big ones! In my opinion!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth walking past the rest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Firstly, no where in Portofino will be cheap....when you have £100 million super yachts moored some where it tends to lead to a degree of inflation. O Magazin is located on the left ( if you are standing in the square looking out to sea) side of the harbour. If you aren't looking for it you would probably miss it, which would be a shame. We had a simple dish of pasta with a pesto sauce but it tasted fantastic and the location was wonderful. I would like to return in the evening for a full meal and try more on the menu. Excellent coffee as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We had the best pasta ever here, the Portifino. Very relaxing by the water. Service was excellent. Would highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Magazin also viewed

Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 

Been to O Magazin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Magazin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.