We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Genova to your Saves list
Hotel Genova
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fratelli Rosselli 84, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Ok hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a half-good location. It is about a ten minute walk from the train station, and is just off of the main pedestrian street in La Spezia. Most people come here, and stay in La Spezia while visiting Cinque Terre, but La Spezia isn't much of a town. This hotel needs updated and the rooms are not very cozy. I also found stray hairs in my bathroom. The breakfast may be the most disappointing thing about the hotel. It is stingy, even by Italian standards. The front desk staff are very pleasant and helpful, even through they don't speak English well. Also wifi is €3,00 per hour.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    28
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
38
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights while visiting the Cinque Terre region and very glad we did. Hotel Genova is centrally located for shops, restaurants and the train station. It was the low season and not very busy, perhaps that's why we were given a triple room which meant more space. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room and public areas spotlessly clean and breakfast, while simple, was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was in a good location. Not far from the train station. We came back from Cinque Terre at night everyday and were not fearful walking through La Spezia at night. The pedestrian area is right next to the hotel with stores and restaurants. The thing I liked best was that they had a parking garage down the street that was closed and locked, only for Hotel Genova guests. It was 10 euro a night, but worth it for peace of mind. They gave you a garage key so you could come and go as you please. Keep in mind this hotel was no frills. Room was fine, nothing fancy. Bathroom was good, again, nothing fancy. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. The place was clean and staff friendly. For the price, a great stay. BTW, October is a great time to see Cinque Terre. Not hot and less people.

Room Tip: Reserve a parking spot before you come. They are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed one night. The service when we arrived - on spec - was excellent. The hotel is a short walk from the train station for the Cinque Terre. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. We had secure hotel parking a short walk away for both our cars. The rooms are modern, immaculate and quiet. Breakfast is served in very pleasant surroundings and was of a high standard. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have spent 4 nights in this hotel. It has a very good location (not far from train station) and La Spezia is a good base for visiting Southern Liguria. The room was spacious (there are also smaller rooms) and had air conditioning. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They have a nearby parking garage for which you pay 10€/night. The breakfast is served inside or on the terrace, but the choice is rather limited. The hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent one night in the NH (previously Jolly Hotel) but found the Genova to be a better value (for a family of 4) and better located. A short walk from the station, and in la Spezia you are surrounded by real Italians, instead of the thousands of tourists in CT. They had free nearby parking garage for our car which was great too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Hotel Genova was a good place to stay while walking on the Cinque Terra. We could have spent a few more days exploring this area, and this would have been a good base for this. The rooms were reasonable (although we had no air conditioning at the time we were there) and we ended up with a room backing onto a square which was a little noisy at night. However the breakfast was lovely, and the staff were extremely helpful. The little eating area was gorgeous, and the staff were very good about letting us eat (and drink) during the evening in the outdoor area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 84, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genova 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Genova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.