We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Genova to your Saves list
Hotel Genova
Via Fratelli Rosselli 84, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Central and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed one night. The service when we arrived - on spec - was excellent. The hotel is a short walk from the train station for the Cinque Terre. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. We had secure hotel parking a short walk away for both our cars. The rooms are modern, immaculate and quiet. Breakfast is served in very pleasant surroundings and was of a high standard. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    27
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
36
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have spent 4 nights in this hotel. It has a very good location (not far from train station) and La Spezia is a good base for visiting Southern Liguria. The room was spacious (there are also smaller rooms) and had air conditioning. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They have a nearby parking garage for which you pay 10€/night. The breakfast is served inside or on the terrace, but the choice is rather limited. The hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent one night in the NH (previously Jolly Hotel) but found the Genova to be a better value (for a family of 4) and better located. A short walk from the station, and in la Spezia you are surrounded by real Italians, instead of the thousands of tourists in CT. They had free nearby parking garage for our car which was great too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Hotel Genova was a good place to stay while walking on the Cinque Terra. We could have spent a few more days exploring this area, and this would have been a good base for this. The rooms were reasonable (although we had no air conditioning at the time we were there) and we ended up with a room backing onto a square which was a little noisy at night. However the breakfast was lovely, and the staff were extremely helpful. The little eating area was gorgeous, and the staff were very good about letting us eat (and drink) during the evening in the outdoor area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel is in a very central location close to shops and restaurants and about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The room was quite small and furnishings a bit dated, it was located on the side of the building so it was quiet. The breakfast is served in a nice bright room with an adjoining courtyard - good coffee, fairly small food selection. There were no towels in our room when we arrived but this was promptly rectified when we informed reception. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the property open onto the street and are brighter but noisier - the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The breakfast is very bad, and almost an insult to any normal tourist. Sometimes there is no cheese at all. The first day they had English breakfast tea, but the second they they ran out of English breakfast tea. They only had "Orange & Cinnamon", "Camomile", "Green tea" and "Indian chai". You could see at the quantity left of these tea bags that no one likes these tastes. They just don't have normal flavour anymore like English breakfast tea of Earl grey. Sometimes they have fruit like peach or plums. But after two days only the bad rotten fruit stays and they don't buy new ones. Not even on the third day. The coffee tastes very bad. You get your own coffee from a small coffee and tea machine. They do have a professional coffee machine, but they don't use it. It stays turned off 24/7. They only have plain yoghurt. They only have white bread. It's whiter than white and tasteless.
The safety in the hotel is terrible. When the maid cleans the room, they open about 8 rooms at the same time and leave them open till they're ready. There was a guest which had a room above us. He thought he was at his floor and by accident opend our room with his key! The only positive thing about the hotel is the room (very nice and clean) and location. The location is quit, but very close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I selected this hotel because I couldn't get a room in Cinque Terre. But I am glad it turned out that way. I actually liked being in La Spezia since it was full of Italians and few other tourists, so it had a certain authenticity.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station, a 5 minute walk to a large supermarket and under 10 minute walk to a laundromat. It is also situated just off of the main traffic free walk zone/street.

They provided me with a room that did not face the street, and was non smoking, both as requested. I was able to use the internet for free (if under 15 minutes, which was fine). The breakfast was in a nice room and had breads, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, yogurt to choose from. There is also an outdoor patio to eat on if the weather permits. The washroom was a good size and functioned well. The bed was firm (as i like it).

The only issues were that the room is slightly outdated and could be better lit. Also the sound from other rooms travels, as there were a couple of younger individuals across the hall who were talking loudly and that I could hear, however, once I got to sleep I was fine. Although not an issue for me, some may find the elevator to be small (only room for 1 and tight squeeze with a suitcase)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 84, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Genova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.