We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earplugs Won't Help” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Tramonti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Locanda Tramonti to your Saves list
Locanda Tramonti
della Chiesa 56 | Campiglia, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Earplugs Won't Help”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked this place for 3 nights as a part of a three week holiday in Italy based on TripAdvisor reviews. We have stayed at dozens of B&B's in Europe and have never had to deal with such terrible noise at night- even in large cities. First of all, it is very difficult to get to the Cinque Terre from this hotel- we hiked 3 hours to Riomaggiore. Once you are in the Cinque Terre, you must take a train back to Le Spezia and take a 25 min bus to Campiglia ( this bus does not run very often)- don't stay here unless you have a car.

Upon arrival, no one met us at the door. We called a number on the door and a man showed up 20 minutes later- no English, no assistance- he was not the owner. We had no idea if the bar fridge was complimentary? No English maps or info (bus schedule) were provided.

The breakfast is really terrible- mostly plastic pre-wrapped crackers and bread. At least there was yogurt and an espresso machine. It is DIY style.

We stayed on the top floor and the view was gorgeous but the views are amazing all through the Cinque Terre. The room was small and clean and tastefully decorated. There is no air conditioning but there is a nice breeze in the summer- unfortunately it's too noisy to keep the windows open to enjoy the cool air.

Room Tip: They are all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Proprietario at Locanda Tramonti, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am the owner of Locanda Tramonti and happy to reply to Mr. "RG".
I too, given the age I attended B & B in Italy and abroad, and for this I made an inn and not a B & B. In the B & B of the law is required to be present, indeed residence of the operator. The Locanda is smaller hotel with up to three stars, an Inn should serve only foods packaged and sealed. We also supply fresh milk, yoghurt, bread and cake and pie and cake when possibile.

Mr. "RG" there is both arrived after hours check-in (15:30-19). The Inn is staffed from 8:30 am to 12:30 pm and from 15 to 19. However, because the family who helps run lives 100 meters away from the hotel if someone arrives late can ring the doorbell or telephone at the numbers listed on the door, the guy will arrive in 10 minutes. If you need any help in every room there is telephone numbers (language: English, French and Italian) that you can call 24 hours 24. In the room in addition to parking and breakfast included, at the discretion of the operator, based on length of stay, even drinks from the minibar.

The room assigned to Mr. "RG" is "La Torretta" the largest and most have a private solarium of 20 sqm. I do not think anyone, seeing the other comments, has ever complained about the size of the room. As for the noise, the Locanda is located in the town square, off limits to cars, so much so that in summer you can hear the chatter of the people who take the fresh.

Campiglia is on the path 1 by which you can reach both Riomaggiore (Cinque Terre) and Portovenere in about 1h30 / 2 hours of easy walking. The connections between the village and La Spezia are insured by frequent local bus. Moreover, in the case of specific requests by the Inn is available for transportation to and from the railway station.

One last observation, of course we are informed, at a price of 120 Euro per night for two people in a three-star hotel, including: breakfast, parking, refrigerator, linen (every two days), private solarium, all services does not seem very high for the area. Among other things, all the reviews received over the past 5 years have been largely positive. We were really disappointed the judgment of Mr. "RG", which could, in the three-day stay, make his observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and located in a small village with amazing view of the sea. Our room was perfect for a couple; balcony, white curtains, modern bathroom...Complementary mineral water and yoghurts/juice from fridge a nice touch. The village is charming, but the community congregates on the square in front of our balcony and I would imagine that it could be difficult to fall asleep - we however slept easily.
However, for 120 euros a night I expected a better breakfast. Just prepacked stuff, no fresh fruits/vegetables (and the shop with grapes/apples etc. is just above the street) and the first morning the milk was sour so we went out to buy our own to make coffee.
TIP: it easy to walk to cinque terre and porto venere from this place. For next time, I think the hotel should try to supply maps over open hiking trails from Campiglia, as we searched the net for 1-2 hours to figure out where to go. Furthermore, all tourist information supplied is in Italian, and no as I said, maps.
All in all, great stay, I would be more satisfied if the price was right, say 80-90 euros per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wonderful location for holidays of your dreams. Locanda Tramonti. Complete full immersion in the nature, one marvellous LOcanda with attention to details. Breathtaking views, fresh air, particular and amazing building - top of the top! See you soon again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This little hotel looks to be balanced precariously over the most stunning view of the sea. High atop La Spezia's bustling harbour is tranquil Campiglia, population 113.
To get to this hotel, you have is a twisty, climbing drive up the hillside. A drive not for the fainthearted.
We took the train to La Spezia and so had to cab up/take the bus back and forth - which was just fine as I would not be qualified to drive that crazy little road.
The hotel has four rooms, three of which overlook the most stunning of views. Seriously breathtaking at all times of the day. Sunrise - stunning. Mid-day - relaxing watching the boats sail by. Sunset - gorgeous. Night time - serene and interesting to watch the sardine fisherman out in the middle of the sea with their little lights, attracting their catch.
The rooms were all very neat and tidy and very well decorated. Surprisingly so for somewhere so small. The bathrooms were very modern and had all the conveniences you would expect plus a wonderfully stocked mini fridge, complete with all your breakfast needs (yogurts, milk, juices, etc).
We sat on the balcony each night with cappuccinos we made with the provided machine. There is also a microwave and toaster oven which is nice, as this time of year the town restaurants are all closed at night, due to wine making season - so you might want to get groceries in town and make your dinner, eating it on the patio or rooftop patio.
We really loved our stay here as the property is just lovely.
If you are not driving - it is not overly convenient to catch the bus or get a cab.
If you are driving - good luck!
If you are walking the Cinque Terre paths, stop into this hotel for a lovely treat.

Room Tip: One of the four rooms has no view and is located at the back of the building - don't get this on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Staying at the Locanda Tramonti in Campiglia was a unique experience. Perched in the hills above La Spezia, this inn is an ideal place to stay for hiking, sunbathing, and observing small town life. From our private rooftop terrace in the Torre Cielo room, we had a breath-taking view of both the Gulf of La Spezia and the Mediterranean Sea.

But the place does have some peculiarities that visitors should be aware of. Without a car, your options are limited since bus service to La Spezia is infrequent. There is one restaurant in town that closes on Mondays and for the grape harvest (which began while we were there) plus another eating option at a place designed as a refuge for trekkers that is only open during the day and also closed on Mondays.

The Locanda is managed by a nice couple that make sure visitors are informed of the limited eating options and help out as much as they can. (They kindly arranged for us to have a ride to the train station on our day of our departure.) You definitely should give them a call to let them know what time you'll be arriving since they do not remain at the property all day. The layout of the inn is a result of an interesting renovation, with some oddities (like walking through the kitchen to get to one of the rooms) as well as the wonderful private solarium accessible from our room. Breakfast is self-service but you can eat out on another terrace with a delightful view of the sea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We made the decision to book this hotel after the glowing descriptions (bar one, but that was in 2009, so did not pay too much attention) but we were rather disappointed. We stayed in the Green Room. The room is small and the tiny refrigerator is built into the bedside table, so I could hear the motor running periodically during the night as I slept (which of course woke me up each time as it was inches away from me). Yes, the area is quiet, but out of the 3 nights we slept here, we could not get to sleep before at least 11pm as the local youths gathered just outside the hotel and made a lot of noise, making it impossible to sleep. You can also hear everything that goes on inside the hotel and our room was right next to the kitchen/breakfast area. There appears to only be 3 rooms in the hotel, 2 on the same 1st floor level and one above the first floor up a winding staircase. There is no lift, so the luggage needs to be hauled up the stairs. Breakfast is DIY - yoghurt, milk, butter, fruit juice and iced tea in the room fridge and in the breakfast room everything is pre-packaged i.e. cereals, cakes, biscuits, croissants etc. Nothing is fresh. I cannot understnand previous reviewers talking about fresh pies and focaccias as we did not see any! The lady did however make a delicious home-made cake and this was offered to us to help ourselves at leisure - a nice touch. We had to ask for some fresh bread and prosciutto for our breakfast and this they gladly got for us.

I have to specify here that the hosts are extremely kind and obliging. I don't think that they are the owners - they seem to work for the hotel. They do not, however speak a word of English so everything was communicated via my schoolbook Italian! There is a coffee machine and this works well to make coffee and tea - very good. The hotel is very clean and rooms are made up every day. The bathroom is TINY. My husband could barely fit (he is tall and big) but really struggled to find space in this cute but very small shoebox! The room (including bathroom) is only 14-15 square metres. There is however a large balcony (10-12 square metres) with a table and 2 chairs, which we enjoyed using.

The views are really magnificent - we really loved the hilltop location, even though it was rather remote. The drive up from La Spezia is through lovely rainforest-type woods but it is steep and winding. There is really nothing to see in the village of Campiglia (where the Locanda Tramonti is located) - it is about 10-15 mins from La Spezia.

We paid Euro120 per night (in May, which is not yet even high-season) which we think is too much for the Locanda Tramonti which is advertised as 3-star.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top so that you do not hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were very impressed with this place. We arrived late after a taxi driver took us to the wrong place at first. The hosts were concerned because the local restaurant was closed, so ordered us a pizza and gave us a bottle of wine, then waited to make sure the pizza arrived and got to us. They were very friendly and hospitable. Breakfasts were great, with the best coffee we had had at a hotel breakfast in Italy. The room was gorgeous, with an amazing view of the ocean. It is a great spot for walking and seeing nature. It is quite a long way from any of the other towns, however, so if you plan to visit them I would suggest you take a car. We were travelling by public transport which was not so convenient. However, its location is what makes it so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Tramonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Tramonti

Address: della Chiesa 56 | Campiglia, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tramonti Locanda is a small, charme hotel created in a villa dating from the eighteen hundreds. Situated in the little piazza in front of the Campiglia church, thanks to its rather particular location, it enjoys a splendid view over two seas: the gulf of la Spezia and the open sea of the Cinque Terre villages.From the Locanda, it is possible to go for wonderful walks, immersed in the silence and the intense fragrances of the typical Mediterranean maquis vegetation, right down to the clear, turquoise waters of the Persico and Navone beaches or, following the "crinale" (ridge) pathway, to the towns of Portovenere and Riomaggiore.The Locanda has a suite with solarium sun-bathing area and double bedrooms with terraces and balconies from which, on clear days, it is possible to identify on the horizon the profiles of the islands of Corsica, Capraia, Gorgona and Elba, as well as the Côte d'Azur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Tramonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Tramonti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.