We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Dal Moccia

Locanda Dal Moccia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Locanda Dal Moccia to your Saves list
Locanda Dal Moccia
Damiano Chiesa 30 | Loc. Pegazzano, 19123 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An ok base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

La Spezia is not a great choice for Cinque Terre, quite industrial & rundown - if you can, stay in Portovenere, much more character. Locanda Dal Moccia is about 2kms from the train station - worst points: our room was in the attic so only window was in roof, room felt small & airless, walls as thin as paper so can hear conversation on both sides & place lacks atmosphere. Plus don't bother paying 9euros for breakfast. Good points: owner is helpful & chatty if you get him going, the food he can rustle up on a pouring rain night was fantastic & excellent value, & rooms very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor, not attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A welcoming manager and and a cozy hotel with beautiful wall-decorations. Bathroom newly refurbished. The room was on the top floor. Velux-windows provided air whitout mosquitos :-)
No soundproof between the rooms.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The room was full of mosquitoes.
The acoustics were so bad we could hear snoring from upstairs.
And if it is not enough, the air conditioner worked for a minute and suspended for 5 minutes.
It was an unforgettable night, but not in a good way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel had only a few rooms. We went as two couples, and wanted to stay somewhere where we could be close to the Cinque Terre region. This hotel came as a big pleasant surprise. We felt like we stayed in a friend's house. Owner/manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. Rooms were simple, understated. Bathrooms were remodeled, clean and comfortable. Our breakfast there in the morning was very nice. After we spent the whole day outside and came back to our hotel, we saw that there was a gathering there, which made it a whole lot more like a big family house, like in the movies. The city of La Spezia wasn't anything special, but this little hotel made it feel like we had been there before.
Oh, and it's about 15 mins walking distance to the train station. Not very near, not very far. If you don't have a car, this place might not be the best option for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A beautiful tratoria with a few rooms to let at a very reasonable price. A very authentic place with a nice terrace and comfortable rooms. The service was great and the food at the tratoria was delicious.
Be careful if you don't have a car, it is a bit far from the station (15 min walk on a busy road)

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are brighter but a bit noisier, on the second floor rooms only have skyligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Although the room was spacious it was a loft room with skylight but no window so a bit stifling in the hot autumn weather. Once we worked out how to open it it was ok though. However, the restaurant was fantastic. Some of the best food we experienced in our Italian holiday and great value. The hotel was in a mostly residential area a fair walk from the train station. Don't be put off by first impressions. The staff are really helpful and friendly and it is only 20 minutes walk from the station and 10 minutes more to the ferry. Buses are available just down the road. We had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Fat ,sick looking cat in a cardboard box by the front door, dingy motion sensor lighting that went off even though we were in motion, room only had screenless skylights that let in flies as soon as they were opened, had to squeeze onto toilet since the sink was so close one could brush their teeth while sitting, closet had a few bent wite hangers, shelves were falling apart and the two area rugs looked as though they were never cleaned. The driveway was so narrow you had to have a mini something or other to get through to the parking area. The neighborhood was an arm pit of La Spezia. We left.
I gues if you lived in a slum this place might seem nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.0 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.9 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nella
Hotel Nella
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Dal Moccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Dal Moccia

Address: Damiano Chiesa 30 | Loc. Pegazzano, 19123 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Dal Moccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Dal Moccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.