We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Dal Moccia

Save Saved
You added Locanda Dal Moccia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Locanda Dal Moccia
Damiano Chiesa 30 | Loc. Pegazzano, 19123 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An ok base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

La Spezia is not a great choice for Cinque Terre, quite industrial & rundown - if you can, stay in Portovenere, much more character. Locanda Dal Moccia is about 2kms from the train station - worst points: our room was in the attic so only window was in roof, room felt small & airless, walls as thin as paper so can hear conversation on both sides & place lacks atmosphere. Plus don't bother paying 9euros for breakfast. Good points: owner is helpful & chatty if you get him going, the food he can rustle up on a pouring rain night was fantastic & excellent value, & rooms very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor, not attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A welcoming manager and and a cozy hotel with beautiful wall-decorations. Bathroom newly refurbished. The room was on the top floor. Velux-windows provided air whitout mosquitos :-)
No soundproof between the rooms.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked this as we had read fairly good reviews and it was pretty much as they said. A charming old home converted into a restaurant/pension, the rooms were functional and clean. Yet we did have some problems not quite related to the accommodation.
This locanda is also a restaurant so we decided to eat there one night. The food was fine, nothing special but not bad either. However, I ordered a clam pasta dish and was served a crayfish pasta dish. When I mentioned this to the waitress, she said that it was because they had run out of clams and they were doing me favor because the crayfish version was more expensive but they were only charging me for the clam version. I replied that they should've informed me of the change beforehand and she just laughed! Later, I found a piece of steel wool in my pasta. When I again mentioned this to the waitress, she tried to pass it off as a joke by saying that at least it was clean! WTF??? And they charged the meal!
Upon checkout, the manager tried to get extra money out of us. We had booked directly through him and had agreed upon a price including breakfast (which is only coffee, cake, toast, juice-nothing special). However, when we went to pay, he tried to add breakfast to the already agreed upon price! We mentioned that we had agreed on something else and he offered to charge us only for the one breakfast. Only when we offered to show him a copy of the emails we had exchanged did he charge us correctly.
To sum up, the bedrooms are adequate and fairly charming, ensure you have a copy of your booking and all it entails with you in case of extra charges, and avoid the restaurant at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The room was full of mosquitoes.
The acoustics were so bad we could hear snoring from upstairs.
And if it is not enough, the air conditioner worked for a minute and suspended for 5 minutes.
It was an unforgettable night, but not in a good way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel had only a few rooms. We went as two couples, and wanted to stay somewhere where we could be close to the Cinque Terre region. This hotel came as a big pleasant surprise. We felt like we stayed in a friend's house. Owner/manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. Rooms were simple, understated. Bathrooms were remodeled, clean and comfortable. Our breakfast there in the morning was very nice. After we spent the whole day outside and came back to our hotel, we saw that there was a gathering there, which made it a whole lot more like a big family house, like in the movies. The city of La Spezia wasn't anything special, but this little hotel made it feel like we had been there before.
Oh, and it's about 15 mins walking distance to the train station. Not very near, not very far. If you don't have a car, this place might not be the best option for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A beautiful tratoria with a few rooms to let at a very reasonable price. A very authentic place with a nice terrace and comfortable rooms. The service was great and the food at the tratoria was delicious.
Be careful if you don't have a car, it is a bit far from the station (15 min walk on a busy road)

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are brighter but a bit noisier, on the second floor rooms only have skyligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Although the room was spacious it was a loft room with skylight but no window so a bit stifling in the hot autumn weather. Once we worked out how to open it it was ok though. However, the restaurant was fantastic. Some of the best food we experienced in our Italian holiday and great value. The hotel was in a mostly residential area a fair walk from the train station. Don't be put off by first impressions. The staff are really helpful and friendly and it is only 20 minutes walk from the station and 10 minutes more to the ferry. Buses are available just down the road. We had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Dal Moccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Dal Moccia

Address: Damiano Chiesa 30 | Loc. Pegazzano, 19123 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Dal Moccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Dal Moccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.