We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location (close to train station)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 139, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location (close to train station)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in September 2010 because it is close Cinque Terre, where we couldn't find any available rooms through online booking services. It turned out to be a good decision in terms of convenience, since Hotel Astoria is located very close to the train station, where we could train into Cinque Terre every day. It was a little pricey for what we got (~$150/night), but we had no serious complaints or issues and just used it as a place to sleep and shower. DH describes the hotel as feeling "deserted".

Pretty easy check-in. We asked for help with our lost luggage and they pointed us to the pay phone in the lobby. We had to call the Florence airport every day to check the status, struggling with some language difficulties. We definitely would have appreciated some help with this issue.

Lobby felt tired, and our room was a bit spartan but had what we needed. The bathroom was okay, except there was some grotty stuff on the shower walls. I really really liked their microfibre towels, and have since purchased one at home.

The breakfast room was more spacious, but the complimentary breakfast left us desiring "real" food. There were packaged pastries that would horrify any European. I would recommend having some coffee and eating breakfast elsewhere.

We only explored La Spezia on the last day and found that the hotel is actually close to an open-air market (flowers, foods, clothing) that opens up in their shopping area (including a Zara, etc.). There are also some nearby tiny convenience stores where you can pick up 1.5L bottled water for €0.60.

It has the potential to be a nice hotel, but lacks energy and needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    17
    14
    4
See reviews for
9
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Needed a last minute stay as the other hotel booked fell through and it ws late. My sat nav found me this one.. thanks Hertz !!. The lobby looked OK, Marbled floors but slightly tired. The room however was awfull. Tiny bathroom and the shower curtain fell out of the wall on gentle closure, the toilet seat fell off and would not be replaced, towels provided had the absorbency and texture of concrete. A shower rendered the whole bathroom a flood zone of biblical proportion. Beds on the lumpy and squeaky side. TV was minute and only seemed to show Miss Italy contests in a blurry haze ( not that we watched it much) Breakfast provided was fine and the receptionist did give me a slight discount due to above issues. I understand there are some newer rooms but as the hotel was desserted when we stayed it is hard to understand why we did not get one. Position was OK near the station but parking is a nightmare. Overall as enjoyable as a weekend in BAgdad.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

There are two sides to this hotel: one is neglected and terrible and the other is very comfortable and clean. I'm rating this hotel based on the better side because I try to be a merciful person. On the first night, I stayed in one of their cheaper rooms. It was terrible: the room was dark, had no air conditioning, the furniture was worn, there was dirt on the sink and a smell in the bathroom. That night was unbearable so on the second night, I paid 20 euros more for the better room. Was it worth it? Every penny because the room was clean, looked nice, and had an air conditioner and attractive bathroom.

The thing that bothers me is that the hotel website gives you no idea of what the cheap rooms look like. If I had known that the room would be that terrible, I would never have booked it. I would not have come to this hotel because the better rooms are much more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Friendly staff, a nice variety for breakfast, spotlessly clean room. I had the "deluxe" room which was newly renovated, had a clean fresh bathroom, air conditioning, desk and large bed. Very comfortable. I think the standard rooms are slightly less expensive, a bit older and have no A/C. Easy 7 minute walk to the train station. Would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist that was very willing to answer any questions and give us directions. Our room was very large and had a large sun filled balcony.
Breakfast was basic, location was quite good. Overall very pleased and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The external and lobby of the hotel seem okay, bright, airy and had a jovial atmosphere about it. The front desk ladies were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel serves as an excellent base to explore Cinque Terre. Wait till you squeeze yourself into the four-person lift and squeak and rattle your way to the second floor, the stale air, the worn carpet, the wobbly doors, the rusted shower doors and vinegar-y smell towels had all the hallmarks of year 1952 but none the charm. Paid 80 euros a night here and one night was enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

If you're looking to walk the Cinque Terre we'd happily recommend that you stay in La Spezia at the Hotel Astoria. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable- which is just as well if you intend on nailing all 5 villages in one go. The hotel is only an 8 min walk from the train station, which can take you out of town or to the start of the Cinque Terre. Better still the hotel is about 2 mins walk from a variety of Piazza's where good food and wine can be found. Throw in the fact that the breakfasts are great and i can't speak highly enough of this place given its value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Via Roma 139, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.