We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo delle Spezie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo delle Spezie to your Saves list
Albergo delle Spezie
Via Felice Cavallotti 31, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
GreenLeadersGold level
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good value for money, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good value for money, good location for town visit and 15 (approximately) minute walk to the train station for a trip to Cinque terre...
Rooms are interesting furnished, large enough, bright and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you spent a nice holiday in our hotel and that you liked the style of the forniture! We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Italy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    27
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
47
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The Alberga della Spezia is a quaint, family-operated hotel with unique furnishing. Very creative pieces, but not too practical. The owners and the front desk staff are polite and multilingual; excellent suggestions for day trips. Bed/mattress was OK; linen clean; the hotel breakfast was satisfactory, basic and filling. The hotel is within a 3-5 minute walk to the harbor where you can catch daily boats to Cinquaterre or Isla Pazole. The train station is a distance away; although walking through the multiple piazzas is beautiful, I recommend taking the local bus if you have (larger) luggage.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are facing the walkway/street rather than an inside courtyard. No noise other than typica...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycled artistic furniture; green laundry practices.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review!
We are very glad that you spent a nice holiday here and that you liked our hotel and our beautiful area.
We hope to see you again in the future! Thanks again! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed one night in a four bed room (two rooms and a bathroom between). I loved all the creative pieces of furniture and the idea of taking one or two more steps toward a more Eco-friendly hotel. Walking distance to train station if you arrive by train.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it's nice to know that you liked our efforts to make our hotel the more sustainable as possible, it is a great challenge for us and it's very important!
Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next trip! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had planned on staying here for 4 nights towards the end of a 6 week holiday in Italy but extended it to 6. We loved the friendly atmosphere of this place, the staff were light-hearted, helpful and amusing which rubbed off on guests so we all had a great time. Its very conveniently located to the harbour, a bit of a walk from the station but very managable and you can always stop for a drink along the way! Probably weren't the most comfy beds we'd had but the overall experience was so pleasant, we didn't really care. Would certainly stay here again.

Green Features: Loved all the recycled furniture and actually enjoyed not having our beds and towels changed every day. Who does that at home?
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are so happy you liked our hotel that much! It was a pleasure to have you here! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Italy! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Great:
- close to the harbour tours to Cinque Terre
- very clean
- friendly staff

Bad:
- albeit a walk down the hill from the railway station, it's a long one especially with luggage on a hot day
- small elevator like most places in Europe

Room Tip: Not sure, I can't compare to other rooms that we did not see.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, all products in the washroom are environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you spent a nice holiday in our hotel! For us is very important to guarantee an excellent standard of cleanliness and an helpful staff!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Italy! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This hotel was a quaint little place - the staff was friendly. It's a little different - an artistic hippie vibe. It almost felt like a hostel but with the privacy of your own room.

We arrived late - and had informed the staff that we would be doing so as requested and there was no issues checking in - but could imagine that if we didn't notify them it would have been almost impossible to check in!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do the best we can to allow our guests to check in late, we specified everywhere that we check in from 13.00 to 20.00, so it's always better to let us know if you're gonna be late!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Our room included wifi and breakfast and for a small additional price, 5€, AC. Room was clean and everything worked but we would not rate it as 3 star accommodations. Probably would not stay here again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo delle Spezie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Spezie

Address: Via Felice Cavallotti 31, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a typical street in the historic center of La Spezia, the 'eco-Albergo delle Spezie' is the ideal place for those who want to discover the city and its surroundings, the Cinque Terre, Portovenere and Lerici through the Val di Vara. Also perfect for those who stay in La Spezia for work.Completely renovated, The Albergo delle Spezie is an eco-friendly hotel, and ready to welcome those on the go that want to make the environment their priority.With its 10 en suite rooms, the structure implements energy efficiency plans, promoting recycling of materials and applying proper waste management through the refuse collection in the rooms and the reduction of packaging. In our rich breakfast buffet and bar, organic food is also offered using as much as possible local produce and Fair Trade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo delle Spezie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo delle Spezie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.