We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quirky extras in this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo delle Spezie

Save Saved
You added Albergo delle Spezie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo delle Spezie
Via Felice Cavallotti 31, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
GreenLeadersGold level
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location and quirky extras in this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is in a good location, central to town and harbour and only 10-15min walk from train station. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the courtyard was a nice way to start the days. Only negative in our room was the shower. A disabled type one so very spacious but water went everywhere as there is no shower curtain. Floors became slippery and we had to use 2-3 hand towels n floor mats to keep it away from going into bedroom. Other than this minor thing it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed our breakfast on the terrace and thank you for pointing out the problem with the shower, we'll do our best to fix that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
41
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in Albergo delle Spezie in mid July with my wife on out trip to Liguria - Cinque Terre and definitely very happy with our experience. La Spezia is a small sea-shore town close to Cinque Terre and Porto Venere. Albergo delle Spezie is a cute, central hotel in La Spezia. The owners of the hotel are very friendly and very good designers, they use objects innovatively to create furniture. For example, we had a luggage-shaped table in out room. They are eco-concsious as well. Price was reasonable. The room, the breakfast room and terrace were calming, nicely decorated and very clean.It is 10 min. walk to train station, 5 min. walk to boat port. Definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for Room no:1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your beautiful review! We like to create an artistic, eco-compatible environment for our guest and we enjoy ourselves a lot in doing that! Creatvity and sustainability are the center of our style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed here just for a night to visit 5 Terre and I really enjoyed my stay. Eco friendly, great staff, clean, modern furnitures, particular style and very well located, inside the city center and only 10 minutes walk from the station. It is a lovely place for every kind of guests, I strongly recommend it!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad that you liked our hotel and our style!! We are waiting for your next trip! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at AdS in June for a couple of nights, and found it to be as ecclectic and charming as the reviews led us to believe it would be. It's a cute place, and really nice that the owners appear to live on-site. If you are a veteran to Italian travel, you know how frustrating it can be to show up one of the million botique hotels in Italy only to find that the manager expected you there between 5-7pm, and due to a late train, or getting lost, or a thousand other reasons you were late - and now you're hot, tired, and sitting outside a locked door. These guys were there the whole time, we eager to help with recommendations, maps, allowing us to leave our luggage after departure, just really good quality people. Loved the courtyard patio - when we arrived, they were clear in telling us "this is yours - enjoy!". So we brought back wine and cheese and enjoyed evenings outside in a quiet area. Breakfast was good - all was well. If I had anything less than glowing to say, it might be that the doors are not real soundproof - so we could hear others coming and going, but it was small and quiet enough that this really didn't cause us any problems. A nice place, we would absolutely stay again or recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We love to take care of our guests and make them feel at home! We created our hotel based on the idea of giving our guests spaces to relax and enjoy a good glass of italian wine, we made the patio just for that!
Waiting for your next stay and for your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent 3 nights in this charming guest house in the centre of a lovely marina town in North Tuscany. Not a beach holiday but a small town with lovely eating houses close to the Cinque Terre region which is a stunning boat ride 5 minutes from hotel. The hotel was spotless and very central and the owners were a charming young family who were accommodating and helpful. Will go back. Parking was the only 'issue' which turned out not to be a problem- parking at the marina was close, available and 5 Euros a day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review! We know the parking could be an issue, but fortunately there's the marina!!! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you soon again! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and it was a great base for exploring the Cinque Terre area. Rooms were clean and the recycled decor was a nice change from standard hotels. The staff were very helpful too with advice on the best places to visit and how to get there as well as restaurant recommendations. Would highly recommend this place. P.S The whole meal croissants at breakfast was a favourite too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie!
Thank you....abbiamo scelto i croissant integrali perfetti con la marmellata ma anche con il formaggio..per tutti i gusti! e poi (in teoria) e' sempre meglio mangiare prodotti integrali.
Siamo felici che i nostri consigli vi siano stati utili.
a presto

Hafed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed there recently (21-24 May) & find the place exactly as pictures shown on booking website. Room is clean & compact. Breakfast is simple yet sufficient.
Pros:
There's elevator in the building (very important because our luggage was heavy)
Room is clean & comfy
Breakfast included in price
Not sure if they have aircon in summer but they did provide a small table fan for us.

Cons:
20mins walk from train station (slightly more if first time there navigating with luggage)
Only 1 mirror in the bathroom, ideal if there's a full length mirror in the room.
No safe provided in the room.

Direction to hotel:
Outside train station (facing main road), turn left & walk down the street until you see a tunnel to your left.
At that junction, cross over to the plaza across from the road. Continue down the street in the direction of the fountain. Just walk straight all the way till you see Max Mara boutique on your right, turn right to the alley after Max Mara and you'll see the sign board of the B&B.

I'll definitely recommend Albergo delle Spezie to my friends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafed B, Proprietario at Albergo delle Spezie, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
thanks for leaving your opinion about our hotel.
Feedback really precise and technical!
we provide immediately to the mirror and safe.
we are waiting ... and waiting for your friends.

thanks

Hafed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo delle Spezie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Spezie

Address: Via Felice Cavallotti 31, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a typical street in the historic center of La Spezia, the 'eco-Albergo delle Spezie' is the ideal place for those who want to discover the city and its surroundings, the Cinque Terre, Portovenere and Lerici through the Val di Vara. Also perfect for those who stay in La Spezia for work.Completely renovated, The Albergo delle Spezie is an eco-friendly hotel, and ready to welcome those on the go that want to make the environment their priority.With its 10 en suite rooms, the structure implements energy efficiency plans, promoting recycling of materials and applying proper waste management through the refuse collection in the rooms and the reduction of packaging. In our rich breakfast buffet and bar, organic food is also offered using as much as possible local produce and Fair Trade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo delle Spezie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo delle Spezie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.