We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for one or two night sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corallo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Corallo to your Saves list
Hotel Corallo
Via Francesco Crispi 32, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good for one or two night sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It is a 3 star hotel and it should stay like this,
the stuff is wonderful and very helpful, the place is clean.
lots of street noise and noise from other rooms.
the WIFI is very purr and you can hardly use it but when you get it it works.

Room Tip: not the street rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    42
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
33
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Only hotel that could fit us (family of 5) and a car (in secure, but tight garage). Despite initial difficulty navigating the one-way traffic system to get to the garage, the hotel was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, staff were friendly, and close to harbour for evening promenade. Convenient for ferry to Cinque Terre, but too far to walk for station (though plenty of bus options available).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed at Corallo because all the hotels in Cinque Terre were full. The room was fine, breakfast and hotel as well but the staff were a little strange and not that helpful. Instead of informing about breakfast, WiFi etc on arrival we had to ask them about everything.

The location was not good, but we knew that before booking.
I recommend the boats to Cinque Terre. They are closer than the train station. They cost more of course, but you get to see the villages from the sea.

If you can, stay in Cinque Terre instead of La Spezia! There is not much to see in La Spezia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Great little three star hotel in the Centre of La Spezia, 10 min walk from the boats to the cinque terre and 12min walk from the old centre of town. The hotel is well signed and pretty easy to find. Room and bathroom were pretty small and spartan but clean and tidy and up to date. Reception staff was friendly. Breakfast was on par with many other Italian hotels of a similar standard ie (dry bread and pastries, some hams and cheese, yogurts etc. a nice touch was the coffee freshly made from the espresso machine), in other words the breakfast is ok but it won't blow your sock off and definately isn't up to the standard of big hotel breakfast buffets. Parking is available at E18 per day, which is on par with the on street parking fees.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

My wife took ill in Siena, but we needed to move on to La Spezia, and the Cinque Terre. Hospital visits on a daily basis required we stay in La Spezia much longer than intended. We were unbooked here, and stumbled on the Hotel Corallo. I admit there was some noise, but not intrusive, and the accomodation was more than acceptable. The front of house staff were pleasant, helpful, and spoke excellent English, fortunately for my wife and I, with little Italian. The house keeper assisted my wife in many small ways, and spoke excellent English, so she was a real treasure. Management arranged an extended stay, although booked with American Tour Groups, and generally, put themslves out for us. I have no hesitation in recommending the Corallo. An added bonus was the garaging. Great, and very central to most tourist things.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
not in europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

rooms were a tad noisy for me. stayed in rio maggiore previously, and found it hard to get accom anywhere else. it was clean, but the also last on the list of choices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

First thing...if you're in La Spezia, you're probably there for the walking and the 'easy' Cinque Terre walk (and probably, most of the others) begins with a short train ride from the train station. Get to the station early...it's a madhouse for the 10.10 train ! The Corallo is about 25 minutes walk from the station. It is an easy flat walk through the pleasant pedestrianised town, but you may want to take a taxi, particularly if with luggage. (3 persons with luggage was E9 and one without was E6). So you may want something nearer the station. On the other hand, it is within 75 m of the tree-lined promenade, from where you can get ferries to the Cinque Terre and Portovenere and there is a supermarket about 40m distant (although disguised as a cinema !).
Reception staff were friendly and spoke sufficient English (one had spent 4 yrs in England). Guests were fairly international, including many Italian and German (plus a number of Norwegians when we visited). The multi-national element is evident from some of the reviews. Most seemed to be there for the excellent walking. The hotel was actually fully booked when we were there at the end of May, and it was not a public holiday !
Rooms were of an average 3 star standard. the bathroom was the usual and rooms seemed to be cleaned adequately. Breakfast was the usual continental served in an 'underground' area which was fairly cramped, although this led to a friendly atmosphere amongst the various guests.
(dubbed bun-fight at the OK Corallo). There was an open-air breakfast area, but it is completely surrounded by three large apartment buildings so was not really private, although partially shielded by an awning. In fact this area was not in use during our brief stay, except for evening use by guests having a quiet drink together in the evening (bringing in their own duty-free alcohol !)
Breakfast was the 'usual continental'.
Room was the usual, no balcony, looked over road but had a/c so we were abl to close window for quitness at night. bathroom was Ok but strange smell if left with window closed all night.
A few mosquitoes about but electric killer left in room seemed fairly effective.
There was a small lounge area (about 8 seats) on the first floor but no other guest area that I saw. There is no restaurant, but we were recommended the Lanterna around the corner...OK for reasonably priced Pizza etc. Resist the temptation to eat at the cafe next door to the hotel.
I can amplify a previous point concerning car-parking. Although we had no car, a prominent front-desk notice stated a daily charge of E18.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 32, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corallo La Spezia
Corallo Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.