We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mary to your Saves list
Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Mary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at The Mary in July 2013 - the best thing about the Mary is that if you are traveling by train, it is directly across the road from the train station, which is super convenient.

Its clean and basic, but if I had my time again I would definately pay a little extra to stay at one of the 5 towns on the Cinque Terra.

Free internet but you have to keep getting passwords from the front desk.

The Mary is only a 5 minute walk to the main street of La Spezia, however, the hotel doesn't seem to have been updated for many years. It is clean and tidy but old...

Breakfast was very basic but adequate.
The staff were ok, but not super friendly

The street that Mary is on is a little dodgy at night - but not unsafe

It's a 15 minute walk through the main street to the ferry's for the Cinque Terra

I didn't particularly find that this hotel was value for money - I stayed for 2 nights @ 133 Euros / 66 euro's a night - a fair price should have been around 50 Euros.

There was no noise from the train station or the street.
My wrap up - if you can stay in one of the towns, do so, it will be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    57
    55
    27
    7
See reviews for
18
56
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location is just excellent for those who do not wish to walk too far upon arriving. It's situated right in front of the train station main entrance.
Just 15minutes walk from the La Spezia ferry for Cinque Terre.

Facilities wise, hotel room is clean and have functional basic room facilities. Comfortable for a 3 star hotel.

The staff were friendly as well, they gave me information on where and how to get to the ferry terminal for cinque terre. In addition, on my last day, after checking out, the staff allow me to leave my backpacks with them as I still have a few hours before my next train to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and great hotel for visiting Cinque Terre due to a walking distance of only two minutes to the train station! The hotel is average in about everything but the location makes it perfect for staying during visits to Cinque Terre! The room we had was a bit dull, but clean and breakfast included is a big plus (actually a good breakfast compared to other Italian hotels).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location was perfect. There was an elevator from the train station to the front of the hotel so that we did not have to walk all the street with our luggage.
The breakfast was good.
The rooms were clean.
The windows were sound proof.

Room Tip: Our room faced the train station. Believe me no noise! I had left my watch at home. The clock of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mary Hotel, near the train station, is a good location for both ferry & train visits to The Cinque Terre. Staff were courteous & helpful, room was small but comfortable and clean. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

In front of the train station, walking distance to city center ( nice and mostly traffic free) and to the bus stop for Portovenere. 15 minutes walk to the Boat for the touristic line to Cinque Terre.

Staff welcoming, the highest point of the Hotel.

Not so good single room - number 39, single room. For 50 €/night (april 2013) I really expect a bed which is not only 80 cm wide or walls and bath made as in a very cheap/old Recreational vehicle.

The room is in the back, so no noise at all from the train station or busy street in front.

Next time I visit Cinque Terre I will look around for alternative accomodations in La Spezia, but if I am not finding anything of better value ( price is a primary concern for me and La Spezia doesn't seem to offer cheap accomodations...) it is very likely I am to return and stay here again after all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary

Address: Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.