We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right outside the train station, convenient.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mary to your Saves list
Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just right outside the train station, convenient.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location is just excellent for those who do not wish to walk too far upon arriving. It's situated right in front of the train station main entrance.
Just 15minutes walk from the La Spezia ferry for Cinque Terre.

Facilities wise, hotel room is clean and have functional basic room facilities. Comfortable for a 3 star hotel.

The staff were friendly as well, they gave me information on where and how to get to the ferry terminal for cinque terre. In addition, on my last day, after checking out, the staff allow me to leave my backpacks with them as I still have a few hours before my next train to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    68
    66
    32
    9
See reviews for
27
67
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and great hotel for visiting Cinque Terre due to a walking distance of only two minutes to the train station! The hotel is average in about everything but the location makes it perfect for staying during visits to Cinque Terre! The room we had was a bit dull, but clean and breakfast included is a big plus (actually a good breakfast compared to other Italian hotels).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location was perfect. There was an elevator from the train station to the front of the hotel so that we did not have to walk all the street with our luggage.
The breakfast was good.
The rooms were clean.
The windows were sound proof.

Room Tip: Our room faced the train station. Believe me no noise! I had left my watch at home. The clock of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mary Hotel, near the train station, is a good location for both ferry & train visits to The Cinque Terre. Staff were courteous & helpful, room was small but comfortable and clean. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

In front of the train station, walking distance to city center ( nice and mostly traffic free) and to the bus stop for Portovenere. 15 minutes walk to the Boat for the touristic line to Cinque Terre.

Staff welcoming, the highest point of the Hotel.

Not so good single room - number 39, single room. For 50 €/night (april 2013) I really expect a bed which is not only 80 cm wide or walls and bath made as in a very cheap/old Recreational vehicle.

The room is in the back, so no noise at all from the train station or busy street in front.

Next time I visit Cinque Terre I will look around for alternative accomodations in La Spezia, but if I am not finding anything of better value ( price is a primary concern for me and La Spezia doesn't seem to offer cheap accomodations...) it is very likely I am to return and stay here again after all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Got given a room with four beds for the two of us so plenty of space.
Ask for a room facing the courtyard so you can keep the windows open.
Rooms are basic but clean.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Wifi worked, although I had to keep logging in.
The location just outside the railway station is brilliant for exploring Cinque Terre. Mind that there is actually a life from the station down to the street. So stairs can be avoided.
Breakfast was the usual fare. My only complaint is that the breakfast area needs a proper deep clean. Everything a bit manky with finger prints, crumbs, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.6 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary

Address: Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.