We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary

Save Saved
You added Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    53
    51
    26
    7
See reviews for
16
50
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mary Hotel, near the train station, is a good location for both ferry & train visits to The Cinque Terre. Staff were courteous & helpful, room was small but comfortable and clean. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

In front of the train station, walking distance to city center ( nice and mostly traffic free) and to the bus stop for Portovenere. 15 minutes walk to the Boat for the touristic line to Cinque Terre.

Staff welcoming, the highest point of the Hotel.

Not so good single room - number 39, single room. For 50 €/night (april 2013) I really expect a bed which is not only 80 cm wide or walls and bath made as in a very cheap/old Recreational vehicle.

The room is in the back, so no noise at all from the train station or busy street in front.

Next time I visit Cinque Terre I will look around for alternative accomodations in La Spezia, but if I am not finding anything of better value ( price is a primary concern for me and La Spezia doesn't seem to offer cheap accomodations...) it is very likely I am to return and stay here again after all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Got given a room with four beds for the two of us so plenty of space.
Ask for a room facing the courtyard so you can keep the windows open.
Rooms are basic but clean.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Wifi worked, although I had to keep logging in.
The location just outside the railway station is brilliant for exploring Cinque Terre. Mind that there is actually a life from the station down to the street. So stairs can be avoided.
Breakfast was the usual fare. My only complaint is that the breakfast area needs a proper deep clean. Everything a bit manky with finger prints, crumbs, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really liked it. The staff are very helpful in all areas. I was having trouble with my Kindle Fire and Luca, who was the day desk man, sorted it all out for me. He and Paula were able to tell us the best way to get around by train and looked up the schedule for us, letting us know that some of the stations were closed. They were able to tell us good, affordable places to eat and the best places the see while we were in the other villages. The breakfast was good, the cappuccino excellent. Everything was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again when we return to that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed three nights the summer of 2008.
This hotel is very dull and old. The room was a bit prisonlike :-) Essentially you get what you pay for. A room to sleep in. But the location is very good. Not far from the train station or La Spezi a`s main street. It is a perfect base for exploring Cinque Terre.

The man in the reception: The owner? Anyway, he made my stay here. He was Basil Fawlty`s lazy brother. "aa you want to pay for another night already? aaa then I have use the credi card machine...We can wait until tomorrow" And he actually sighed loudly. He was hilarious. Everytime I went though the reception area he sat in the lounge watching TV.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary

Address: Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.