We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mary

Save Saved
You added Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed three nights the summer of 2008.
This hotel is very dull and old. The room was a bit prisonlike :-) Essentially you get what you pay for. A room to sleep in. But the location is very good. Not far from the train station or La Spezi a`s main street. It is a perfect base for exploring Cinque Terre.

The man in the reception: The owner? Anyway, he made my stay here. He was Basil Fawlty`s lazy brother. "aa you want to pay for another night already? aaa then I have use the credi card machine...We can wait until tomorrow" And he actually sighed loudly. He was hilarious. Everytime I went though the reception area he sat in the lounge watching TV.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    57
    26
    6
See reviews for
14
43
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, with travel advice and service. There was an excellent comprehensive breakfast provided and the hotel is very convenient to the La Spezia train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location across from the train station and great price. The room was spacious and very clean and breakfast was good. We used this hotel as a base to commute to Cinque Terre villages. I would recommend La Spezia as the accommodations are cheaper, lots of activities in the evening and easy access to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Room was huge with a small bathroom. You couldn't open the window to the room because it overlooked the main street. Breakfast was edible. They could do with fresh bread/rolls though. Upside - across from the train station. Not noisy at all. Walking distance into town and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby township mi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pretty much a dump but ran by a lovely kind and helpful family. The mother and father were very kind but spoke little english but the son was very helpful.They were good about giving directions with maps and such.

Went with my mom and boyfriend and my mom got a separte room. When she walked into her 1 tiny room it looked like a jail cell. She walked right out and asked to sleep in our room. We arrived at night and it was very sketchy. Didn't look very safe.

Only upside is the location location location. Train station is literally right across the street. If your loooking for a cheap semi not so safe place. Stay here.

We woke up at 615 am to check out smooth check out, however we went to go get breakfast and clearly they did not clean up from evening before because there were bugs in the dining room. Pretty nasty.

Also, only upside is wifi did work and if it doesnt for whereever you are in the tiny hotel they do have a pretty fast computer in lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritishColumbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed the night prior to our visit to Cinque Terre. Arrived on the train from Florence - like other said - ignore the Google instructions they will send you on an extended route (not handy if you have a lot of luggage). Just exit the station and (with back to station) walk forward across road in front of station until you find a set of stairs (any of the 3 or so sets will do). From the bottom of the stairs you should see the hotel - either right in front of you or slightly to left or right (depending on which set of stairs you took). We were a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers). The rooms are large by European standards - we got a large double and 2 singles (as requested). Breakfast was decent - croissants, jams, coffee machine (latte, cappucino etc), fruit, cheese etc. Hotel staff was very helpful - we were given map of city, train & ferry schedule for Cinque Terre upon checking in. We left early the next morning and purchased a 10Euro combined Cinque Terre (hiking pass) / regionale train pass from the ticket office at the train station (not sure what time they open but they were already open when we arrived just after 7:30am). There is a little plaza with restaurants / gelatto shops just a few minutes on foot from the hotel - we chose the first restaurant on the right side (not a wise choice - food was so so and service was friendly but poor - my daughter's tortellini came first, she ate before the second meal arrived - my son's hamburger and fries - which turned out to be a hamburger patty with shredded carrotts - when we asked about the bun and fries - they did bring us bread (which was fine) and then - the fries - which were good but 10-15 minutes after the burger. Again, he finished his meal and then mine came and after I had finished my salad, my husband's spagetti arrived. Our appetizer never did arrive). Food was fine, but due to the service issues I would suggest trying a restaurant further down the piazza. The gelatto shop further down the plaza was very good. I should also mention that the hotel does have baggage storage (if you are hiking Cinque Terre you will likely need to leave you bags here for the day and then hop across from the train station to pick them up after you hike).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary

Address: Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.