We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected & convenient for Cinque Terre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mary

Save Saved
You added Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
BritishColumbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected & convenient for Cinque Terre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed the night prior to our visit to Cinque Terre. Arrived on the train from Florence - like other said - ignore the Google instructions they will send you on an extended route (not handy if you have a lot of luggage). Just exit the station and (with back to station) walk forward across road in front of station until you find a set of stairs (any of the 3 or so sets will do). From the bottom of the stairs you should see the hotel - either right in front of you or slightly to left or right (depending on which set of stairs you took). We were a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers). The rooms are large by European standards - we got a large double and 2 singles (as requested). Breakfast was decent - croissants, jams, coffee machine (latte, cappucino etc), fruit, cheese etc. Hotel staff was very helpful - we were given map of city, train & ferry schedule for Cinque Terre upon checking in. We left early the next morning and purchased a 10Euro combined Cinque Terre (hiking pass) / regionale train pass from the ticket office at the train station (not sure what time they open but they were already open when we arrived just after 7:30am). There is a little plaza with restaurants / gelatto shops just a few minutes on foot from the hotel - we chose the first restaurant on the right side (not a wise choice - food was so so and service was friendly but poor - my daughter's tortellini came first, she ate before the second meal arrived - my son's hamburger and fries - which turned out to be a hamburger patty with shredded carrotts - when we asked about the bun and fries - they did bring us bread (which was fine) and then - the fries - which were good but 10-15 minutes after the burger. Again, he finished his meal and then mine came and after I had finished my salad, my husband's spagetti arrived. Our appetizer never did arrive). Food was fine, but due to the service issues I would suggest trying a restaurant further down the piazza. The gelatto shop further down the plaza was very good. I should also mention that the hotel does have baggage storage (if you are hiking Cinque Terre you will likely need to leave you bags here for the day and then hop across from the train station to pick them up after you hike).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    48
    51
    25
    6
See reviews for
15
46
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

During our European Adventures we stopped off in La Spezia for 3 days as we both wanted to visit Cinque Terre. This hotel is located only a brief walk to the La Spezia C train station which is the main reason for choosing this hotel. The staff are very friendly and more than happy to help with directions and train schedules when planning your day trips to Cinque Terre or Portfofino. The breakfast is enough to get you going for the day with a number of choices. The rooms are also clean, comfortable and serviced daily and the hotel is a 5 min walk to local restaurants (just be aware that they are closed during the afternoon for their siesta). They also have free internet use which came in handy when booking hotels ahead of time. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We like the fact that the hotel is located very near the train station. Google map gives a longer route so don't follow its directions. When you come out from La Spezia station, with your back facing the station, look out for an elevator (not accessible at late night). It'll bring you to street level and you'll see Hotel Mary across the road on your left. There's also another staircase further down the road which is accessible at all times. The hotel has an elevator so we didn't have to carry our luggages up the stairs. The hotel staffs were helpful and provided us with map and train schedule (may not be up to date as the train was not available at certain timings and we ended up waiting at the station for more than an hour). Our room looked new and nice while the bathroom was clean with hot shower. Breakfast was decent with sufficient variety of food. We were rather pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The family run jewel of the town. Air-conditioned, good sized rooms and central to cheap and excellent quality restaurants. To add, a short walk (10 minutes) to the port to take you to Cinque Terre. If you're not one for a boat ride, the train station is directly across the road which can cater for you to go and see Cinque Terre!

Breakfast is enough to fuel you through till afternoon and the staff are more than ready to assist you in anything you may need!

Only downside of the stay would be that the wi-fi in the outer rooms wasn't very reliable, however this is coming from a 20 year old, so I can say that this problem would certainly not be a problem for some haha. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose Mary because ti was so close to the station and we could set out on our daily trips to the Cinue Terre and we had not great expectations. However it proved to be a fine hotel. The room was large and the bathroom spacious perhaps because it was set up for disabled clients (high toilet bowl and seat in shower). The breakfast was great with self service coffee and juices, ham and cheese and lovely yogurt and set us up for our days walking in the villages. Pleasant service, daily cleaning, wifi available and convenience to the station and the town. For what we were looking for it exceeded our expectations, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Although the Hotel Mary is not "charming", we booked it mostly for it's convenience to the train station in La Spezia-and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, helpful and gracious and best of all, our room and bathroom were huge, by Italian standards! (The framed "art" on our walls, Tweety and Bugs Bunny, were just added giggles.) We were quite pleased to be able to spread out by our 8th day of traveling the country. The hotel's proximity to the train station was fabulous-not only for getting to/from Cinque Terre (15-20 minutes via the local), but for our early departure for the next leg of our journey. Breakfast was typical and adequate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived in Pisa at midday with no bookings made. As we wanted to visit Cinque Terre we decided to stay in La Spezia and had planned to get a room from the information tourist office at the station, however, it was closed. Trudging along with our suitcases the Mary Hotel was very conveinently located about 5 mins from the railway station and as there was a room for the 3 nights we required for 73 Euros a night which included breakfast and free wifi, we decided to take it, even though we were concerned about the noise aspect as it was on the road side of the street.

However, despite the good sized room being very clean, with a great en suite, the road noise was dreadful. We could not open our windows for the noise, but we did somehow manage to sleep ok, as the bed was very comfortable and our ear plugs obviously worked too. The breakfast was great - lots of choices. Value for money, this hotel was not too bad, but the best feature was the closeness to the railway station which made tripping into Cinque Terre on the train very easy.

Did not think the staff were overly friendly, but they did just enough - no frills! The free wi fi was a bit hit and miss. However, I would definitely recommend you ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel unless you do not mind the sound of noisy motor scooters and cars barping their horns all day and night!

Overall, not a bad choice of hotel if you don't mind the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary

Address: Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.