We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Venere.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Genova 591, 19134 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We arrived following a long and harrowing journey to a beautiful hotel set in the mountains, an idyllic setting overlooking the bay of La Spezia in the district of La Foce. This is a perfect place to visit Cinque Terra and Porto Venere as well as La Spezia itself..
Daniel , the host, Christina and Valentina speak very good English and were extremely helpful with information re public transportation etc.
Breakfast was varied with cheeses, meats, cereals and fruits accompanied with tea, coffee and juices. The fresh bread and preserves or boiled eggs compliment the pastries and cakes available.
The room (20) was large and airy with double aspect and a good sized en-suite and spotlessly clean. Furnishings were of a good standard and the bed comfortable. Secure parking was a bonus. Local buses stop only yards away to La Spezia where you can take further buses or trains further afield.

We would recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had 1 night at this hotel. It is outside of the town of La Spezia and there are lovely views of the area in you walk a short distance.
Our room had a balcony and looked out to the countryside.
The room is small but perfectly fine.
The owner is really friendly and speaks very good english.
He recommended a place for supper within walking distance.
Breakfast was good and plenty of it.
We would certainly book in here if we were in the area.
The owner told us where to park, free of charge to enable to catch the train to the Cinque Terre area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele M, Proprietario at Hotel Nella, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I'm glad you had a good time in our hotel, it was a pleasure having you as guest in my hotel.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay; it's always a pleasure to help my guests to organize their days in the area and I'm really happy when they appreciate my advices.

Hope you came back soon to visit us

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an outstanding stay at Hotel Nella. The owner and host Daniel could not have been more helpful and he has a wealth of knowledge on the area and is only too happy to share - I suggest you use this to help you enjoy your stay.
The hotel is well located if you have a Car, it is a short drive into La Spezia (parking for Cinque Terre Train) and an easy drive to Portovenere.
They also make the best breakfast that we have had while in Italy - great variety with many cereals, bread, eggs, meats and facility to have toasted sandwiches. Daniel also makes a pretty good Cappuccino.
Value was great at 65 Euro per night.
Highly Recommended

Room Tip: We had room 9, with a nice balcony and away from the main corner of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele M, Proprietario at Hotel Nella, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you Sir,

it was a pleasure having you as guest in my hotel.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay; it's always a pleasure to help my guests to organize their days in the area and I'm really happy when they appreciate my advice.

I hope your trip is proceding well

Hoping one day to have you back as guests in my hotel

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The staff at Hotel Nella is extremely helpful and are multi-lingual.

The vehicle that I rented had a leaking tire, and they took the time to recommend and call a tire shop that was located just down the hill in La Spezia.

The area is quiet at night and, even if you don't have a car, it is easy to take the bus to the train station to get to Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies. Try to get a room near the center of the hotel for the strongest internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is located right outside La Spezia from where you can easily visit the towns of Cinque Terre. La Spezia itself is just a 5 minute drive and from there you can go to the Cinque Terre towns by train or boat.

The hotel itself is nice, it has a nice parking facility across the street. The staff is incredible, they will help you with anything and there english is quite good (which is rare in Italy).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This family run establishment is quaint but 2 star at best. Having said that, I did give it an average rating because the staff tried so darned hard to please and make our stay better. The problem is that they are working with an outdated facility.

The location also seems far away from anything too. We were on our way to the Cinque Terre so that was fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hotel Nella is a family owned business (you will meet the mother and son on premisis) and this goes far in my books. They are friendly, and the staff will assist where they can, even with english. This location is a pure community feel, and I suggest you try it. You can experience high mountain feeling, for a very reasonable price. The decor is very nice and clean. Parking is secure, and a few steps away. The rooms are small, but a balcony and common patio help you accept these limits. You can use this to visit Cinque Terra, and almost feel like one of those town's residence. Breakfast is limited, but fresh and fresh hot beverages made. One cool thing, you are part of the power conservation, the light are auto shut off, and when you walk around you turn the light you need, then they shut off. Free WIFI is modern, for those to connect. I go back again.

Room Tip: If you like "space" and are willing to spend it, book a double for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nella

Also Known As:
Nella Hotel La Spezia
Address: Via Genova 591, 19134 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nella 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1921 and run by the same family ever since, Hotel Nella is nestled in the green hills overlooking the Gulf of La Spezia, just a few kilometers from the city center, in a quiet, peaceful environment. Its strategic location makes it easy to reach downtown La Spezia and all of the area's major tourist sites, while also offering a favored position for visiting the picturesque villages of Liguria's hinterland. Featuring a dedicated and personalized service, it is the ideal destination for planning your stay to discover the "Cinque Terre National Park", a UNESCO World Heritage site, and Portovenere and its islands, or to spend a quiet day at the sea on the sandy beaches of Lerici and San Terenzo.- All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, and free Wi-Fi- Large, free, private parking available, also for tour buses- 5 km from the ferry boat boarding pier with services to the Cinque Terre and Portofino- 4 km from the La Spezia train station, with trains to the Cinque Terre, Genoa, Pisa, and Florence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.