We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, not so awesome hotel or location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ghironi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ghironi to your Saves list
Hotel Ghironi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Tino 62, 19126 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome staff, not so awesome hotel or location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First impressions are everything. CONS: 1. The whole place smelled of mildew and cigarettes. Not just a faint smell either. It was strong to the point of irritating. So strong that I wouldn't stay there any longer than 1 night. 2. Our room was mosquito infested and smelled. Squashed mosquito guts from previous travelers fending off mosquitoes littered the walls. I was no exception. 3. The A/C was loud and there was no temp control. Only fan speed control. The air coming from the air conditioner unit smelled just as bad as the rest of the room. 4. The beds were ROCK hard. Hardly sleepable. To give this hotel some credit, I have found most beds in european hotels to be pretty hard. Could be the cultural standard. 5. Blinding lights invading the room from outside the hotel.

PROS: 1. Hotel staff was excellent. In fact, these poor people are doing everything they can to polish a turd. This is probably the only reason this hotel stays in business. 2. Free shuttle to the train station which services Cinque Terre. 3. Towels and bedding immaculately clean. 4. Free breakfast was very good.

Summary: If you have to stay here, do so for no more than 1 night. Otherwise you'll be miserable. You'll still be haunted by the smell so bring some vapo-rub for under your nose and you'll sleep just fine.

Room Tip: The whole hotel wreaks of a smell I can not describe. All rooms seemed to smell the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dieselfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mississauga Ontario
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel September 14-16th. The people at this hotel were so friendly, helpful, and kind, that it made it a wonderful place to stay. Any places we wanted to visit, any taxi's we needed were all dealt with in an efficient manner. On the day we went to Cinque Terra umbrella's were at the ready for us when we left to go on the mini bus that the hotel provides free of charge.
This runs at specific times, but is certainly a big plus staying there.
Breakfast was excellent. Lots and lots of choice.
Rooms were fair size, very clean, and also a nice bathroom, shower, bidet etc., Very clean.
This hotel is away from downtown La Spezia, but this did not cause us any problems.

Room Tip: This was a quiet hotel, so most rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In May 2013 our tour group stayed here for two days, while we did some sightseeing in Cinque Terre etc. It was perfect for our needs! The staff were fantastic, but the hotel is a bit out of the way.
Good value, and we would return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivepno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and from the time we arrived till the day we left the staff was fantastic.
Our room was clean and for what we paid we thought it was good value with breakfast included. We found the hotel to be in a good spot to do the cinque terre walk and with the free shuttle to get into town. The hotel offered a free shuttle at certain times to the cinque terre ferrries, in to town and even to pick us up at night from a restaurant. The day we were leaving we had to be at the train station by 6.30 am, so the man that owned the hotel offered to come earlier that day to take us. With the staff being so helpful it made our stay very enjoyable and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 218Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for our holiday to Cinque Terra. It was listed as a 4 star hotel but it definitely is not. We have stayed in better 3 star establishments. The staff are very friendly and the breakfasts are lovely....if they don't run out of food!!!
The bedroom was basic....no tea or coffee making facilities. It was clean but in urgent need of updating. The shower screen leaked so we had to be careful of slipping in the pool of water on the bathroom floor. We also had a problem with mosquito's....they seemed to be everywhere. The lady in reception gave me a plug in mosquito deterrent but it didn't deter the ones waiting for us outside the door!!
Overall a disappointing hotel but a breathtakingly beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nothing bad and nothing particularly good. Room was comfortable enough and good parking available. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is boring and no place to sit outside. Breakfast was adequate without being special,. Average is the word.



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Claus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In the port/industrial section of town and close to La Spezia Expo Center, this location may at first seem a bit off-putting. In fact, it is a quiet oasis in a busy area. Trees surround the property and buffer the rush of nearby traffic. The staff were all very helpful even enthusiactic about offering information about Cinque Terre, boat trips and fares, train schedules, restaurants...The lady at the reception desk even spoke to us in French! There is a free hotel shuttle (one must reserve)to the Cinque Terre ferries, to town and the train station which was most convenient. The room itself was fairly large, with mini-fridge, table & chairs, balcony and comfortable single- piece double mattress. The included breakfast, served in a pleasant dinningroom was generous and varied, Very good value. There is both a parking on- site and a second reserved parking a short distance away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcyMontr_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.1 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ghironi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ghironi

Address: Via del Tino 62, 19126 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ghironi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you and can provide you with tourist information. There is also a free shuttle service that can bring you to the train station or the La Spezia harbour where you can take a boat to Cinque Terre, one of Italy’s most famous coastlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ghironi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghironi Hotel La Spezia
Ghironi La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing