We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for touring Cinque Terre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Paleocapa 7, 19122 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Los Altos, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent for touring Cinque Terre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a nice experience here. It is quiet & just a block from the train station where you can catch trains all day to the villages of Cinque Terre. Nice staff who recommended great restaurants. Only problem for us was the A/C was a bit low & it did get a bit warm at night. As noted by others, the breakfast was wonderful in a beautiful rooftop setting with a nice view. Bar also nice in the early evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    156
    67
    18
    6
See reviews for
43
186
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, which is great! There were lots of restaurants, but most were closed by the time we had dinner (we checked in around 7:30pm). Breakfast was included, and tasty. The wifi was practically non-existent for us, and the rooms seemed to be straight out of the '80s. I've stayed at a lot of B&Bs, so I'm used to "old but quaint," but this just seemed old. The bathroom was a decent size. It was a quick stay, so I don't have much more input.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very comfortable, and the bathroom was great and modern, if a little small. You can hear people coming and going in the hallway, but no noise from outside. The bar is good, breakfast delicious, however the wifi was sub par, and only available in the lobby area. Overall for quality of room and value for money I would definitely recommend this hotel. The proximity to the station is perfect for the cinque terre

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A conveniently located hotel near the train station & just 20 mins walk to the waterfront.
Rooms vary in size. Some rooms overlooking the road at the back can be a little noisy.
Breakfast is excellent, well presented in a lovely room with a view.
Staff are all helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were travelling through Italy by train so this was a great choice to discover Chinque Terre. The restaurants around we're very good lots to choose from. The staff were very helpful in directing to tours around the area. The breakfast was very good lots to choose from.

Room Tip: There are different prices for room ours was budget so you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel has a certain old world charm about it. Our brief to the travel agent was to find us somewhere close to train and bus terminal, affordable and with access to car garaging.

The hotel fit the brief very well, the staff were friendly and helpful our only quibbles were not having a fridge in our room and very patchy Wifi. Apart from that we got what we paid for.

The big bonus was being opposite the termini for easy access to the Cinque Terre by train. We also travelled to Pisa by train. We did enjoy the ferry between the villages more but a we had tickets fir both train and ferry we mixed and arched over several days.

A word of warning on train tickets, we copped a fine fir nit validating our train ticket. While the ticket was fully paid we were not aware you ave to put it through a little green device to validate it. We realised afterwards the tickets ave open dates so validating it show you have acknowledged its use and won't try to reuse but the was not explained by the bigliatuerri, ticket attendant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed and exceptionally well furnished hotel. Great facilities, exceptional customer service, 100 metres to station. We were on level 2 and heard no road or train noise whatsoever. Staff speak perfect English and super helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Address: Via Paleocapa 7, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building’s original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.