We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Paleocapa 7, 19122 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Five friends stayed for two nights in two double rooms and one single room in July 2011. We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel!! The hotel is an excellent base to visit the Cinque Terre with the train station and Cinque Terre information centre near the hotel. Continental breakfast was included in the room rate. Will definitely return, thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    151
    66
    20
    6
See reviews for
34
174
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Firenze e Continentale, La Spezia, on July 25, 2012. We wanted to go to CinqueTerre by train and this hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the train station. The hotel is elegant, high ceiling rooms, excellent decorum. The breakfast on the terrace was also very good. The shower is very tiny - you get your hair wet from the shower - no space to move a bit. Parking was nearby. All together it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Firenze e Continentale for three nights in the summer of 2012. Key to our decision on where to stay in La Spezia was proximity to the train station – not only were we arriving off the back of a long train journey (and would be embarking on another once we left), but we also wanted to make the journey to the Cinque Terre as hassle free as possible so we could minimise the time spent getting around and maximise the both the time spent on the trail.

Hotel Firenze e Continentale is a winner in this respect, and I imagine most people dropping in on La Spezia do so with the intention of visiting the Cinque Terre, so its quite an important box to tick. Hotel Firenze is literally 50m or so from the station. Despite this proximity, the hotel is set a little way down a hill and manages to miss the bulk of the noise from the railway – perfect.

In terms of the hotel itself, Hotel Firenze is simple – but nice. The bed was comfortable enough, and the bathroom was small but clean. The TV is tiny, but then you’re not there to watch TV, are you? Breakfast was really well done – great, fresh food served in a nice setting on the top floor. The breakfast room also has a balcony with a fantastic view over one of the quieter parts of La Spezia and the service was brilliant. All in all a really nice, simple stay.

The lift is tiny (only fits two average sized people at a time), which is a bit of a nightmare when it comes to checking in and checking out. You’re restricted to heading up/down one person with one bag at a time. Every so often some idiot will try to squeeze in more luggage than the lift can handle, and the whole thing will shut down. This happened on the day we checked out and meant we had to carry a fair few extremely heavy suitcases and bags down via the stairwell from the top floor one by one, which took about four journeys up and down. My advice – try and get a room on the first couple of floors just in case.

Wi-fi is available for free in the foyer and at an extra cost in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had four nights here and it was very convenient to the train to the cinque terre towns which were beautiful. Breakfast was ok and staff were very helpful and friendly, the bathrooms were small but hey how long are you in the bathroom? Overall we were satisfied with this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Excellent for a 3 star hotel. Across the street from the train station for the Cinque Terre. Very nice breakfast room and breakfast. Friendly and accommodating front desk. Small, but clean room. The best place to stay a day trip to the Cinque Terre

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We chose this hotel, as we're are any travelers before us did - because of it's location right across the road from the La Spezia train station - the gateway to La Cinque Terre.
Staff were super friendly and helpful, and our room spacious and clean.
Breakfast was a feast and it's location on the top floor with a balcony was great.
The walk along La Cinque Terre coast put our fitness levels to the test on a hot day, and so a nice hotel close to the station at the end of the day was just we needed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was very nice and in a good location. very close to the train station to go to Cinque Terre villages.. comfortable rooms, Beautiful breakfast too! On our honeymoon came for one night. In five minutes walk we reached the main attractions. staff very accommodating,

Room Tip: 3rd floor suite a bit noisey i the morning..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Paleocapa 7, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building’s original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.