We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a stop over, but handy for a visit to Cinque Terre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH La Spezia

Save Saved
You added NH La Spezia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH La Spezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre, 2 | La Spezia City Center, Golfo dei Poeti, 19124 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay for a stop over, but handy for a visit to Cinque Terre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was used by our tour company so was not our choice, and should we return, likely not a place we would stay again. It was tired, the air conditioning did not work in many rooms and this was truly a negative during the summer months when we visited in early September. The rooms were not sound proof by any means and the meals were mediocre. It is very accessible to the ferry to Cinque Terre. The breakfast was fine, but not memorable....and the area was not accessible to much else. The side view of the sea from our room was just that a side view and one had to lean out the window to see it. I am sure this is about money for the tour company and that would be why it was chosen. The room was clean though, the bed good and the bathroom up to date and that is all very important and the staff pleasantly helpful. They really do need to pay attention to the air conditioning. If you are out all day and just wanting a place to put your head down for a night or two that is clean and cozy-warm in the heat of summer an no pool, then you might choose this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    133
    104
    40
    20
See reviews for
55
133
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed the views of the sea from our room. Was very nice and relaxing. The hotel is of a Very Good Standard, staff very helpful and pleasant, really don't have a lot of negatives regarding this hotel. We enjoyed our stay ane would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Noisy, small, dark , needs refurbishing.Better to get a hotel close to the train station!
The bathroom is old, the pipes are noisy, the bed is forced into the room, small window, staff entered the room without knocking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood,Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was OK for a stopover. The breakfast was really good. We stayed just one night on a drive down the coast. We took the train to Cinque Terre for dinner. Easy and fun. No real complaints but seemed a bit tired and worn. Good value. Only on the street parking and a bit of a walk to the town center. This was our second time in La Spezia, a good base from which to visit the area.
Don't miss Portovenere if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very handy to ferry to Cinque Terre and good sized rooms with good views.
Next time I think I would stay near the railway station as that seems to be where most of the restaurants and shops are. Wifi was very slow but excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location, view and service the best part of this hotel.

Hotel: We had a great view to the sea and harbor from the 4th floor (423) room, room was spacy enough, air conditioning and refrigerator were good, safe deposit box in a room and there were enough space for 2 persons (hotel rooms are not so big in Italy & France).
After all this is a very basic hotel and would need renovation to rise up to a next level, but this is a good place where you can leave for your day trips. There are also few good shops for groceries (PAM: better and more expensive selection, Basko: basic supplies) nearby the hotel.

Breakfast: Fresh fruits, juices very good selection of healthy choices for everyone. Coffee machines were disappointments (not functional all the time, coffee's (espresso & cappuccino) tasted quite bad, sometimes cappuccino without milk etc.) worst coffee during the 8 day trip In Liguria -->Please make some changes for this coffee area...

Restaurant: Very good 3 course menu, portion size was quite big. Wine selection ok, also local cheaper wines available.
Reception: Very helpful all the time, WIFI worked well (24h limit/coupon, it was free!). Staff is very helpful and have a good maps of the city available as well.

Room Tip: Rooms from the sea & harbor side (eg. 423 and opposite rooms) as well as the similar rooms in ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did spend 4 nights at this hotel .The staff is very pleasant and helpful .They are genuine and sincere in the giving of information.Suggestion to have a nice coffee machine to serve cappucino,espresso and Lattes in the morning.Like REAL ONE LIKE A FAEMA , CIMBALLI ETC..They need to offer fresh juice during breakfast .
The hotel location is very good to get around .Boat tours are 3 minute walk, train around ten minutes walk . The Parking at the hotel is missing .It is not a big issue for you can park in a public parcometer .The parking fee is around 11 Euros per day.
We had an enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH La Spezia

Address: Via XX Settembre, 2 | La Spezia City Center, Golfo dei Poeti, 19124 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH La Spezia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea and located only a five-minute walk from the main pier, NH La Spezia is the ideal base for discovering the enchanting Cinque Terre, one of the main attractions of the Italian Riviera and La Spezia in Liguria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your NH La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh La Spezia Hotel La Spezia
Jolly La Spezia
La Spezia Jolly Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH La Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.