We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, just not a good location to access Cinque Terre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH La Spezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH La Spezia to your Saves list
NH La Spezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre, 2 | La Spezia City Center, Golfo dei Poeti, 19124 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Canberra, ACT, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel ok, just not a good location to access Cinque Terre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is ok.. our room faced the harbour, but could only see out the windows when you're standing.. Room was average size for Europe, bathroom a little pokey, but ok. Hot & cold buffet brekkie, which can get busy as this hotel is popular for walkers on tour buses. For us we relied on public transport.

Our main reason for staying was to access Cinque Terre, and from this hotel it is not straightforward. You can walk down to the harbour and catch a ferry to Portovenere, and from there if the weather is ok.. you can access the five villages one by one; the timetable is limited (and seasonal), and one of our days they had rough seas, so the ferry only went to Portovenere and Monterosso (as they have established jetties); it is not cheap either $25Euro. You can catch a train from La Spezia station.. You could walk from the hotel to the station, about 30 mins (fast walk) or we caught a bus from the square around the corner from the hotel. The trains stop at all stations and run about 1-2 times an hour. We caught the ferry to Monterosso which takes 2 hours, and then caught the train back stopping at the various villages.

To appreciate Cinque Terre, you must see it from the sea. But I won't stay at La Spezia & not here at this hotel.. There isn't many eating options in this part of town either. Stay at one of the villages, Monterosso is the biggest, and if you catch the train from Milan or Pisa, most stop there. Staying there you can easy access the ferry and see the villages from the sea, and the local trains stop at all the villages. Don't stay at this hotel, if you do want to stay at La Spezia, stay closer to the train station, but again, not a lot of eating options in this town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    203
    149
    58
    29
See reviews for
80
202
15
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What you see in the web page is not what you get when you just get in the front street. Nobody is there to attend the baggages, they don't even have a ramp to get the lobby.
The hotel doesn't have A/C or is not working properly. The attention is disgusting, the overall hotel atmosphere is horrible, not to mention the bathroom problems !
I had to open the window to get some fresh air, then the noise of traffic was horrible.
I am here today when writing this review and suffering this mess !

Room Tip: Dont go there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a disappointment we had while visiting this hotel. We had a small room, beds hardly made up, quite some noise from outside and a toilet that kept on running and a terrible sound if the upstairs neighbours flushed. The large towels were hidden away to discourage usage and the shower was pretty small. The only good things mentioning were the reception service and the staff at breakfast. It seems the owner does not want to invest any money in this hotel but keeps charging high prices and the staff tries to make up for this. Also does not have it's own parking.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is right on the main boulevard of La Spezia, it's an older version of an NH Hotel, but it keeps it's promise... I will only recommend it if you are passing by La Spezia, as it is an OK hotel and you get what you paid for..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and were very happy with it then, so rebooked for our holiday this time. We were not disappointed. The hotel is great and the staff were excellent. The reception staff were very helpful. The Business Centre PC has high speed connection. We ate dinner at the hotel after having walked the Cinque Terre and had a great meal. Luciano in the restaurant was great!

Room Tip: If you particularly want to see the water - book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My parents stayed in NH in the second half of August 2012. They were advised by the receptionist from the hotel to park the car on the public parking lot behind the hotel instead of the hotel parking which was for a fee.
That night 5 cars were robbed. Their windows were broken and all things stolen from the cars.
The hotel stuff was trying to be helpful, but they didn't have enough people to manage the situation and help the guests with this unpleasant situation. So the hotel offered very little support really.
So please be careful where you park your car, better use hotel parking.
The hotel itself had a good location, clean rooms and ok service. Not a typical NH hotel but could be much worse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth N.Z.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had booked as part of a Cinque Terra package, breakfas, dinner train and walking pass. At that time reviews had us wondering a little about what we were in for.
Not to worry, wonderful staff, including them finding me a replacement cell phone charger for one left in Florence, (no charge), excellent breakfast and patio dinner each evening (with wine) beyond our expectation. Room and bathroom spotless, spacious and well serviced. Thank you N H for a great time with you. Ray and Jen, New Zealand

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Spezia
0.7 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.3 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH La Spezia

Address: Via XX Settembre, 2 | La Spezia City Center, Golfo dei Poeti, 19124 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH La Spezia 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea and located only a five-minute walk from the main pier, NH La Spezia is the ideal base for discovering the enchanting Cinque Terre, one of the main attractions of the Italian Riviera and La Spezia in Liguria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, NHHotels, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your NH La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh La Spezia Hotel La Spezia
Jolly La Spezia
La Spezia Jolly Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH La Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.