We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's on a Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano

Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano to your Saves list
Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano
Piazzale Giovanni XXIII, 1, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's on a Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I booked through Expedia under "Holiday House Il Gabbiano". That's what Expedia calls it. The building looks like it could be apartment buildings. I like the quiet and peacefulness of the city and the hotel over looks the city.

Room Tip: If you are walking there, you'll see a school and the hotel is on the backside of the school. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A stay of 7 days marked by a one time changing the linen, cleaning and emptying the garbage bin but plenty of opening the windows wide with no screens on the top floor, complimented by paper thin walls!!!!
The staff speaks mostly only italian and is not always present at the front desk but do their best to answer your questions (most of the time done with the help of an italian guest speaking english!!!)
Please note that from the train station it is a very long walk, it appears close on the google map but it is not!
My first morning,saw one of the staff putting out only 2 croissants on the breakfast table (there was 4 of us but 2 had already started eating, implying only one each for the ones choosing something?),
Or maybe to incite us to finish the 3 tiny extra crusty buns with the shreds of cold meat????
There is no fresh breakfast that I saw but a bunch of wrapped packets maybe all the fresh stuff is hidden in the back only comes out in pairs per half hour like I saw that one time??????
What a mess!!!

Room Tip: After talking to others on my floor that all room's walls have almost no sound proofing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the train station. The rooms are a good size and the bathroom gas a good sized shower. The biggest issue with this hotel is that it has no internet in the rooms. If you want to use wifi you have to do so in the lobby with everyone else which is really inconvenient. My wife and I also found the room extremely cold at night as well. Not a horrible place for the price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

At a reasonable price, the hotel represents fair value.
It is tucked a little out of the way in La Spezia. Not too far from town to be problematic, but certainly difficult to find in the first instance. There are very few restaurants nearby - at least a 10-15 minute walk until a decent selection is found.
The rooms are very basic - they felt more like hospital rooms (white and sterile) than a hotel room!
Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Clean! The room was very clean. And after a week of sharing bathrooms, having my own in the room was a luxury.

Hard to find the first time, without a taxi. Not in the heart of things, but not inconvenient, either. Seemed a bit off the tourist track.

Wi-fi only available in the lobby, which is inconvenient for us late-night Internet check-in-with-the -office guys.

Staff was a mixed bag. One guy was phenomenal, and went above and beyond the call of duty to get us situated. Others were less helpful, and made it seem like we weren't a priority.

Odd gate entry system from the outside of the hotel, which is not enjoyable, because the entry is on a street that seems less than secure. If they labelled it better, or if the front desk monitored it better, it wouldn't be an issue.

Lacks charm. But has a great view from the top floor balcony. But there weren't chairs on the balcony.

This place has potential, but needs to grow into it. It doesn't cut it for business trips because of the Wi-fi issues, service issues, etc. and doesn't add to the romance of vacation travel. But it's clean and well priced.

Near Cinque Terra - a must see!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay. Upper floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A nice super-extra clean impecable room with a modern bathroom plus a good filling breakfast for a very decent price!!! You can not ask for more! Well located, you can walk everywhere, the neighborhood is safe and there is plenty of restauants around that are open until very late.
I asked why were nuns around... the answer, there is a consession between the nuns and someone else did I understood? noooo but I did not care, they were not on my business, they were just making sure everything was on place around breakfast time and that the hotel in general run smoothly. I will recommend this place to everybody, I was there with my family and kids plus parking was FREE :)
Ah... just one downsize the reception clerk (an old guy) was very rude and picky and asked us to live our passaports there while he could tape names and etc. That's a No No at anytime! the other clerck in the morning ( a young lady) was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henryboyson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I think the other reviews of this hotel are missing the fact that its a budget hotel in a city.

Having covered France, Italy, Slovenia & Croatia, I looked back and realised that although it is a strange place (heavily religious undertone slash conference centre) to stay, I must give it full marks for being very clean at an affordable price.

The 4 of us could have been lucky but we turned up to La Spezia late on Easter Bank holiday with nowhere to stay. With little understanding of the language and surrounding area, we only wanted to pass through to the Cinque terre.

We found this place, it looks Ok, good location, good price and so booked it. I was even more impressed by the free buffet included as most other hotels in the area were more with no breakfast. If you assume most hotels add on €10 pp for breakfast we had already saved €40.

We were given rooms at the very top and next to our rooms was a nice little balcony so we bought some wine and gazed out at the view towards the bay watching the sunset.

In conclusion, I can't fault this place as it was everything we needed. Safe, clean, location, price.

If you're looking for a holiday hotel this may not suit however.

Hats off to the management & owners for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top, it has great views from the balconies out in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano

Address: Piazzale Giovanni XXIII, 1, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Specialty Lodging in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.