We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, nice location and excellent Price!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano

Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano to your Saves list
Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano
Piazzale Giovanni XXIII, 1, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Clean, nice location and excellent Price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A nice super-extra clean impecable room with a modern bathroom plus a good filling breakfast for a very decent price!!! You can not ask for more! Well located, you can walk everywhere, the neighborhood is safe and there is plenty of restauants around that are open until very late.
I asked why were nuns around... the answer, there is a consession between the nuns and someone else did I understood? noooo but I did not care, they were not on my business, they were just making sure everything was on place around breakfast time and that the hotel in general run smoothly. I will recommend this place to everybody, I was there with my family and kids plus parking was FREE :)
Ah... just one downsize the reception clerk (an old guy) was very rude and picky and asked us to live our passaports there while he could tape names and etc. That's a No No at anytime! the other clerck in the morning ( a young lady) was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
henryboyson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I think the other reviews of this hotel are missing the fact that its a budget hotel in a city.

Having covered France, Italy, Slovenia & Croatia, I looked back and realised that although it is a strange place (heavily religious undertone slash conference centre) to stay, I must give it full marks for being very clean at an affordable price.

The 4 of us could have been lucky but we turned up to La Spezia late on Easter Bank holiday with nowhere to stay. With little understanding of the language and surrounding area, we only wanted to pass through to the Cinque terre.

We found this place, it looks Ok, good location, good price and so booked it. I was even more impressed by the free buffet included as most other hotels in the area were more with no breakfast. If you assume most hotels add on €10 pp for breakfast we had already saved €40.

We were given rooms at the very top and next to our rooms was a nice little balcony so we bought some wine and gazed out at the view towards the bay watching the sunset.

In conclusion, I can't fault this place as it was everything we needed. Safe, clean, location, price.

If you're looking for a holiday hotel this may not suit however.

Hats off to the management & owners for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top, it has great views from the balconies out in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel is located in the harbor area of La Spezia. It is in the main business area. The best of this hotel is the free parking lot, and the nearby streets also have lots space for parking, which was very convinient for us as we drove a rental car. The hotel room was quite large, clean and the price was very reasonable (100 euros for 4 compared 180 euros in Rome and Venice). Walking from the hotel to the train station was about 25 minutes, and was easy as they were main streets. The train from La Spezia to Cinque Terre was about 10 minutes. Trains before 8:30am or after 10:30am were more frequent. But we missed the 8:30 one so we had to wait 1 hour to get on the 10:34 one. The hotel people were friendly and helpful. They spoke quite good English. In one word, this is a business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I travelled to La Spezia by train, and i should say, this place would be difficult to find if i didn't take a taxi (9 euro for a ride), it's far from the central station. The place itself is very strange - isolated from places like shops, cafes or whatever, it has complicated automatic system for the gates to enter the hotel (if noone's at the reception), very small room, the lights in your room fade out in 5 min if you put the card in the wrong way, no mini bar, no computer, no wifi, the breakfast is poor, it left a hard impression. The check-out is early - you should leave the hotel around 10 am the latest. I think it's no good value for money, and wouldn't really recommend it to anyone. The only thing that is good is its close location to the embankment and the boat station (from there you can go to 4Terra).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Not sure how we came to book this accommodation or how we found it. Quite an unusual experience to stay here - almost like a ghost town. Very very clean, pleasant if stark room but with a lovely view of the harbour. Very patchy service, good on first day but after that not so good - Were they trainees? Expected to do too much? Dinner in the restaurant was tasty, filling and cheap. No one to help at breakfast on 2nd day - didn't look like it had been restocked from previous day. A long from train station if catching train to Cinque Terre but OK. Security gates and system a bit intimidating. Noise transference from rooms and corridors was very bad - take ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano

Address: Piazzale Giovanni XXIII, 1, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Specialty Lodging in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.