We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value in La Spezia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arianna Hill House

Save Saved
You added Arianna Hill House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arianna Hill House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Vecchiora, 37/c, 19133 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 81 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Rustrel, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent value in La Spezia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

You can't beat 45 euros per night (out of season) for a single room in a B&B which is more like an hotel. Clean and with all the amenities. Internet access by WiFi in the lounge/breakfast area or with a loaned cable in the room. Nice size bathroom with shower, sink, WC and bidet. TV, but only Italian stations. View out over the harbor.

The B&B is a bit off the beaten path, up a winding road above the town. There's a bus stop nearby, but the three of us chose to take a 20 euro taxi fare into town for dinner and a taxi back.

The B&B is on multiple levels on a hillside overlooking La Spezia. Parking area is outside on a lower level. You can roll your suitcases up a ramped driveway, but once you enter the reception area, you will have to go up one to two flights of stairs to your room. Our very friendly host, Ferdinando, will help you with your luggage.

The breakfast buffet in the morning has a very good selection, plus a wonderful warm almond-filled croissant with a sprinkling of sugar.

Room Tip: Byron or Keats have views over the harbor, possibly others as well. Best to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our recent stay at Arianna Hill House for 5 nights was a most enjoyable experience. Very clean and comfortable rooms, with stunning view. Fernando is a great host and is very very helpful. A very convenient Inn to stay at to visit Cinque Terre and surrounding area...Although the road is winding to get to the hotel it's absolutely worth it.Breakfst buffet is good with a variety of fruit, cheese, bread, etc...

Room Tip: Room with a walkout to the patio.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a great stay here. It was a little scary drive for us to the house on the narrow roads because we had a slightly bigger vehicle but it was worth it. The host was very helpful and gave us a lot of recommendations for restaurants in town and told us where to park to get to the train for the Cinque terre without paying. The rooms were comfortable and the views were great! The covered little deck was nice to hang out on in the evening as it was raining while we were there but it was nice to be able to be outside and hang out with our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Words cannot describe the view from this beautiful B&B. A family run hotel, and a very lovely family. they had lots of ideas for places to visit, shop and to eat. Our room was large, clean and very relaxing with a beautiul patio to watch the sun rise and set each day. Breakfast was delicious and a great way to start our day. A great base to visit Cinque Terre or Portovenere. If you are looking for a romantic smaller coastal town. This is by far the best and hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We, like any of the other reviews stayed at Arianna as a base to visit Cinque Terre and found it the most perfect choice, we stayed for 2 days. Yes the house is high on a hill and the roads can be daunting but we had no problem driving there or finding the place. The views are breathtaking and the room we had was very clean, modern and we had the view of La Spezia harbour. Fernando was very helpful and gave sound advice on parking in La Spezia and suggested we visit Portovenere for good restaurants with amazing views, we were not disappointed. Breakfast was lovely and free parking !!
Fernando also told us about a local restaurant nearby on the hillside, which was a short drive or 20 mins walk away. We didn't book but was seated straight away and sat on a terrace overlooking the harbour. The place is run by 2 guys and there is no menu, we were served 9 dishes which were uniquely presented and the food was positively amazing and the best we had on the whole trip. We worth a visit !
Overall we highly recommend Arianna and would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Arianna Hill house for 2 nights, and used it as a base to visit Cinque Terre. We had an absolutely fantastic time and were very impressed with all the modern, clean facilities. We had been travelling for a week in Tuscany before arriving here and this was by far the nicest place we stayed - and the breakfast was the best!! Although the hill can be a little daunting if not used to hill drives, the stunning views certainly make up for it! In particular, the hosts were so friendly and made us warmly welcome. They gave us some excellent recommendations for restaurants, places to visit and where we could park for free. Many thanks to Fernando and family :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and we found it to be pleasant and hassle free. We chose to stay in La Spezia as our base to visit Cinque Terra. Although the location of this B&B was not within walking distance of the regional train station, we had no problem hiring cabs at all times. Ceasere was most kind and helpful and went out of his way to fix us a simple and quick lunch when we arrived in the mid afternoon. That really wowed us! He suggested that we visit Portovenere besides Cinque Terra since we would be there for 3 days. True enough Portovenere did not disappoint and even surpassed our expectations with its superb views, and the visit gave us occasional glimpses of the local life style. Fernando was very helpful and offered to drive us to the train station and port each day. Along the way, he would give tourist info about the city and Italy in general. On our last day he helped us call our cab to the train station and it arrived promptly at 6am. The only set back was that the wifi was not available in the rooms and could only be accessible via the common living room and dining room. All in all our stay was extremely pleasant, and the superb view we woke up to every morning, and the excellent service provided, made up for everything else.

Room Tip: We like the room with the terrace at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arianna Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hill House

Address: Via Vecchiora, 37/c, 19133 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arianna Hill House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Arianna Hill House has of 5 nice rooms with sea view and is situated in a hill in front of our beautiful "Golfo dei Poeti", in an ideal position to reach destinations of national and international tourism, such as Lerici, Cinque Terre, Portovenere and Sarzana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Arianna Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arianna Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.