We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arianna Hill House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arianna Hill House to your Saves list
Arianna Hill House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Vecchiora, 37/c, 19133 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 87 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We, like any of the other reviews stayed at Arianna as a base to visit Cinque Terre and found it the most perfect choice, we stayed for 2 days. Yes the house is high on a hill and the roads can be daunting but we had no problem driving there or finding the place. The views are breathtaking and the room we had was very clean, modern and we had the view of La Spezia harbour. Fernando was very helpful and gave sound advice on parking in La Spezia and suggested we visit Portovenere for good restaurants with amazing views, we were not disappointed. Breakfast was lovely and free parking !!
Fernando also told us about a local restaurant nearby on the hillside, which was a short drive or 20 mins walk away. We didn't book but was seated straight away and sat on a terrace overlooking the harbour. The place is run by 2 guys and there is no menu, we were served 9 dishes which were uniquely presented and the food was positively amazing and the best we had on the whole trip. We worth a visit !
Overall we highly recommend Arianna and would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Arianna Hill house for 2 nights, and used it as a base to visit Cinque Terre. We had an absolutely fantastic time and were very impressed with all the modern, clean facilities. We had been travelling for a week in Tuscany before arriving here and this was by far the nicest place we stayed - and the breakfast was the best!! Although the hill can be a little daunting if not used to hill drives, the stunning views certainly make up for it! In particular, the hosts were so friendly and made us warmly welcome. They gave us some excellent recommendations for restaurants, places to visit and where we could park for free. Many thanks to Fernando and family :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and we found it to be pleasant and hassle free. We chose to stay in La Spezia as our base to visit Cinque Terra. Although the location of this B&B was not within walking distance of the regional train station, we had no problem hiring cabs at all times. Ceasere was most kind and helpful and went out of his way to fix us a simple and quick lunch when we arrived in the mid afternoon. That really wowed us! He suggested that we visit Portovenere besides Cinque Terra since we would be there for 3 days. True enough Portovenere did not disappoint and even surpassed our expectations with its superb views, and the visit gave us occasional glimpses of the local life style. Fernando was very helpful and offered to drive us to the train station and port each day. Along the way, he would give tourist info about the city and Italy in general. On our last day he helped us call our cab to the train station and it arrived promptly at 6am. The only set back was that the wifi was not available in the rooms and could only be accessible via the common living room and dining room. All in all our stay was extremely pleasant, and the superb view we woke up to every morning, and the excellent service provided, made up for everything else.

Room Tip: We like the room with the terrace at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The drive up the mountain is daunting but there are signs (and my GPS helped). The view of Le Spezia harbor is postcard-worthy. Very clean, comfortable room. Lovely living room and library area, dining room, porch/patio. WiFi in the public areas. Truly a great place to stay. The owner helped us make our plans for the Cinque Terre visit (by train) and suggested where we would find free parking near the train station. He also suggested we visit Portovenere (which was absolutely charming). In a few years, Portovenere will be fully tourist-capable with hotels but then it will be crowded so go now!

We'd stay at the Arianna House again should our travels take us anywhere nearby. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Any room is fine. If you want a view, come out to the patio and enjoy your wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our family of five stayed in for three nights in May 2012. Lovely, clean rooms, fantastic view.
Hosts where very helpful. Great place to stay while visiting Cinque Terre, Pisa, Lucca and Portovenere. Drive up to the house was a little scary (very steep, winding, narrow road, no guardrails), but that was part of the fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had booked with Fernando in January, before our arrival in June, and having read about the Shelley Room,we were pleased to have had that room confirmed at the time , and again just prior to our departure. After 35 hours door to door from Australia, we were told on arrival the room had been double booked , and we missed out! What was more surprising was that the other couple only had a 2 day stay,while we had a reservation for 5 days. When we asked Fernando for a changeover on their departure, we were told it had been again booked to another couple who had reserved through Expedia, and they must have priority. So much for booking directly with the B& B!! The drive up and down a very narrow and winding road from La Spezia was certainly a challenge, especially with a larger car, and not being use to a left hand drive car.

Having said all that, Arianna is in a beautiful and quiet location, a wonderful vista , if a little isolated. The place has been recently built, well appointed and very clean, and the room rate is quite reasonable. We had a ground floor room and although it had access to the main terrace, it was long and narrow and no windows at one end, and the bathroom was a little tight. Although Fernando does not live on site, he prepares breakfast each morning, and was available to assist with information, and was very personable.We met Alessia on one occasion.

Room Tip: If booking directly, get a firm commitment on the room of your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

yet so much more: clean, modern, safe. Fernando (sorry we did not get the opportunity to meet his wife) was such a pleasure, taking the time to assist with whatever we asked or needed. Antoinella was helpul and warm, despite our challenges with the language. The popular Shelley Room was a real Italian experience. We threw open the shutters upon arrival and woke up to the scent of jasmine, as we could leave our window open to the quiet countryside while sleeping. Fernando provided a nice breakfast, punctuated by warm croissants. Beware of the taxis not taking you right to the door of the inn. The taxi that we took upon arrival with our luggage did not go up the driveway portion of the hill - we had to walk it. The other times the taxi drivers did go up it. Be prepared to walk, just in case. Also - Americans, please note - you cannot get dinner before the 7pm timeframe as restaurants close the kitchen after lunch. Snacks and drinks are available, but not full meals. If you're hungry in between, take food to save you going back down the hill in search of food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arianna Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hill House

Address: Via Vecchiora, 37/c, 19133 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arianna Hill House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Arianna Hill House has of 5 nice rooms with sea view and is situated in a hill in front of our beautiful "Golfo dei Poeti", in an ideal position to reach destinations of national and international tourism, such as Lerici, Cinque Terre, Portovenere and Sarzana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arianna Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arianna Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.