We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arianna Hill House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arianna Hill House to your Saves list
Arianna Hill House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Vecchiora, 37/c, 19133 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 86 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Waterloo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely view, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our family of five stayed in for three nights in May 2012. Lovely, clean rooms, fantastic view.
Hosts where very helpful. Great place to stay while visiting Cinque Terre, Pisa, Lucca and Portovenere. Drive up to the house was a little scary (very steep, winding, narrow road, no guardrails), but that was part of the fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had booked with Fernando in January, before our arrival in June, and having read about the Shelley Room,we were pleased to have had that room confirmed at the time , and again just prior to our departure. After 35 hours door to door from Australia, we were told on arrival the room had been double booked , and we missed out! What was more surprising was that the other couple only had a 2 day stay,while we had a reservation for 5 days. When we asked Fernando for a changeover on their departure, we were told it had been again booked to another couple who had reserved through Expedia, and they must have priority. So much for booking directly with the B& B!! The drive up and down a very narrow and winding road from La Spezia was certainly a challenge, especially with a larger car, and not being use to a left hand drive car.

Having said all that, Arianna is in a beautiful and quiet location, a wonderful vista , if a little isolated. The place has been recently built, well appointed and very clean, and the room rate is quite reasonable. We had a ground floor room and although it had access to the main terrace, it was long and narrow and no windows at one end, and the bathroom was a little tight. Although Fernando does not live on site, he prepares breakfast each morning, and was available to assist with information, and was very personable.We met Alessia on one occasion.

Room Tip: If booking directly, get a firm commitment on the room of your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

yet so much more: clean, modern, safe. Fernando (sorry we did not get the opportunity to meet his wife) was such a pleasure, taking the time to assist with whatever we asked or needed. Antoinella was helpul and warm, despite our challenges with the language. The popular Shelley Room was a real Italian experience. We threw open the shutters upon arrival and woke up to the scent of jasmine, as we could leave our window open to the quiet countryside while sleeping. Fernando provided a nice breakfast, punctuated by warm croissants. Beware of the taxis not taking you right to the door of the inn. The taxi that we took upon arrival with our luggage did not go up the driveway portion of the hill - we had to walk it. The other times the taxi drivers did go up it. Be prepared to walk, just in case. Also - Americans, please note - you cannot get dinner before the 7pm timeframe as restaurants close the kitchen after lunch. Snacks and drinks are available, but not full meals. If you're hungry in between, take food to save you going back down the hill in search of food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

One of the best places we stayed on our trip to Europe. The owner, Fernando was very friendly, accommodating and helpful in general. Breakfast which was included was fantastic. Free wi-fi and very modern rooms. The only problem we had was with the general location (on a hill) if you are comfortable with driving on narrow roads, this place is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Fernando and Alessia are the perfect hosts in this new B&B; helpful with detailed tourist information and attentive, fast breakfast service. Although our room didn't have the harbor view, we were pleased with the high-quality bed, furnishings and bathroom. The bus stop is a 3 min. walk, but the last bus from Centro leaves at about 20.45, so a taxi (ca. 15€) is usually necessary. If necessary, Fernando drives his guests down to La Spezia as a special service.
A good restaurant is about 15 min. walk up the road. La Spezia is the perfect location for Cinque Terre and the Gulf of Poets.

Room Tip: Book directly so you can ask for a room with harbor view, if that's important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My family and I spent three nights at the Arianna Hill House and we couldn't have been happier with the experience. For starters we were there in what's obviously low season so we essentially had the place to ourselves. We stayed in the Shelley Room which comes with a huge patio and also a loft with two additional beds, if required. I can't say enough about the hosts, Fernando and Alessia. All of their advice was spot-on and very useful and whenever they saw us they would ask how we were doing or if we needed anything. Besides being a nice place with awesome views, the great thing about the Arianna is it's location. We didn't want to stay in Cinque Terre because of all of the hassles associated with parking there. So, the Arianna being just about 20 minutes away from Riomaggiore was the solution to that (FREE PARKING!!!). Staying in La Spezia also puts you within easy driving location to some other great places like Portovenere, Lerici, and Sarzana. We will definitely stay there again in the near future and highly recommend it to anyone wishing to sample the Italian Riviera.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Arianna Hill House, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thanks a lot for your nice words. We wish you all the best. See you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent four nights at Arianna Hill House in September. We were warmly welcomed by the thoughful hosts, Fernando and Alessia. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and ours had a wonderful view over the harbour of La Spezia. Fernando gave us great advice regarding places to go (and a free car park in the centre of town). The terrrace was a lovely place to have dinner on one of the balmy evenings. It was our wedding anniversary while we were at Arianna and Fernando made reservations for us at a restaurant in Portovenere. The ensuite bathroom was adequate and well appointed but was on the small side. However, this did not detract from our enjoyment of such a lovely B & B. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arianna Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hill House

Address: Via Vecchiora, 37/c, 19133 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arianna Hill House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Arianna Hill House has of 5 nice rooms with sea view and is situated in a hill in front of our beautiful "Golfo dei Poeti", in an ideal position to reach destinations of national and international tourism, such as Lerici, Cinque Terre, Portovenere and Sarzana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arianna Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arianna Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;